KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
Best Places to Work 2022

Madewell

Is this your company?

Madewell

Add a Review

Madewell Employee Reviews about "madewell"

Updated Nov 29, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,441 of over 1K reviews
4.1
81% Recommend to a Friend
Best Places to Work 2022
Madewell CEO Libby Wadle
84% Approve of CEO

Found 39 of over 1K reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Madewell CEO Libby Wadle
Libby Wadle
111 Ratings

What people are saying about Madewell

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "low pay and no commission even though we were expected to give over the top service and essentially act as personal shoppers.(in 106 reviews)
  • "Upper management and corporate is hard to communicate with.(in 14 reviews)
  • "No commission and 'stylist' incentive is like pointless(in 14 reviews)
  • "Very little training for such a fast(in 13 reviews)
  • "it was hard to get time off(in 13 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Madewell and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "madewell"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work, needs to increase DEI initiatives

    Jun 11, 2021 - Retail Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The environment at Madewell is fun and laid back with a supportive and friendly team of co-workers. It's really awesome getting to style folks in denim that they feel amazing in!

    Cons

    Madewell really has a ways to go in becoming more inclusive as a brand and attracting a more diverse workforce and customer base. They also need to include a larger size range of denim in store instead of just offering plus sizing online.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Favoritism/ racist/ lazy managers

    Nov 29, 2021 - Sales Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None. The quality of clothing has changed so not even the discount is worth it anymore

    Cons

    Management is very lazy throughout the whole district. They love to just be in the office. Training is horrible. Company policies mean absolutely nothing because we had a SUPERVISOR who would smoke weed on the job and all upper management and employees knew and yet nothing was done. I’m sure it was because she was WHITE and if it was any other person of color there would be a different situation. This employee was lacked work ethic as well and would go multiple times to the back to smoke. Many complaints were made and yet nothing was done and instead other employees had to pick up the slack. But that seems to be the trend at madewell. Don’t expect to work with a team because the leave out to dry always and you’ll be working hard for no reason.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Madewll

    Nov 4, 2021 - Sales Associate in Charlotte C H, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really great perks and liked the people

    Cons

    Madewell clientele can be demanding

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    KEY NOT FOUND: jobLine.seasonal-former, less than 1 year

    A Decent Part-Time Job, But Not Exceptional

    Oct 31, 2021 - Seasonal Sales Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employee discounts on products Very chill, clean work environment, and nice customers Job is fairly easy

    Cons

    Overscheduled Sometimes had to do more than one person's job, especially if one day in particular was understaffed Required to wear Madewell clothes as dress code, which can be tricky when you work every day or if you don't have lots of clothes from the brand

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best company to work for

    May 17, 2021 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Madewell is the most accepting company that I have ever worked for. The staff, the mission, and the drive within the company is so amazing. Everything I go in there, I feel accepted and like it is a family. Everyone is passionate about making the company succeed and the brand itself is so reputable.

    Cons

    I have no cons about working at Madewell.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Supportive Company with Chill Environment

    Apr 21, 2021 - Temporary Assistant Manager/Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First, I really like that Madewell does not go by commission for associates. It provides a healthy, positive work environment where we can support one another in sales. Knowledge of the product is important, but after you work there for a few months, you become really knowledgeable after listening to others describe our denim and leather products. As a temporary PT assistant manager, you get introduced to the tasks of regular PT managers, without being thrown into the position unprepared. They slowly introduce and teach new tasks, while also quickly depending on you to step up your knowledge and support for the store. I really enjoy this balance.

    Cons

    I think training can really vary based on who is in charge of your denim certification and overall introduction to Madewell. When I first started out, I asked a lot of questions to associates if I felt I was overwhelmed, but didn't want to ask management again how to do something. This fostered good relationships with coworkers where we feel open to helping each other, so it was not such a bad thing in the end.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Flexible shifts but need large wardrobe

    Mar 26, 2021 - Customer Associate in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours (I liked 5am opening shifts), Customer service opportunities, mandatory breaks, and rewards system

    Cons

    Need to have madewell clothes, "natural" colored hair, and no facial piercings

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A great place to work

    Feb 9, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Knoxville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    team building, fun work environment, etc.

    Cons

    Not really any cons with working at Madewell.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Place to Work

    Jan 14, 2021 - Seasonal Associate in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very nice people, positive environment, a lot of free clothes!

    Cons

    No bad things to say about working at Madewell.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Pretty good

    Dec 3, 2020 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Spent quite a few years here off and on, was a key holder for a bit. Overall probably one the better experiences I could have had working in retail. Most of the managers at my store were amazing people, but I will say in a corporate sense I feel like the company could do more to show they care about their employees. My particular store had great relationships with local businesses that we partnered with which was great and truly had so much fun working here.

    Cons

    Occasional late nights/super early mornings for rollout. Had a couple managers that weren’t so great but that was more of a personality issue than a company issue. Sometimes felt like they wanted me to make madewell my entire life when I was only part time. Company has had financial issues for quite some time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Madewell Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Madewell? Share Your Experiences

or

Madewell Photos

+ Add Photo
Madewell photo of: Hawaii Store
Madewell photo of: Men's Store
Madewell photo of: Home Office team
Madewell photo of: Team MW
Madewell photo of: MW family
Madewell photo of: Store Window
Madewell photo of: MW lifestyle
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

J. Crew Group, Inc.

Glassdoor has 1,445 Madewell reviews submitted anonymously by Madewell employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Madewell is right for you.