Madison School & Community Recreation Reviews | Glassdoor

Madison School & Community Recreation Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
Madison School & Community Recreation CEO Jacob Tisue
Jacob Tisue
1 Ratings
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Madison School & Community Recreation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours and Communication is great

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    Madison School & Community Recreation2019-06-09
  2. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Leader 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Madison School & Community Recreation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid Pay, Great Coworkers

    Cons

    Not many hours outside of the summer program

    Madison School & Community Recreation2019-06-05
  3. "Good place to work, variety of positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Madison School & Community Recreation part-time

    Pros

    Compensation is decent for part time work. MSCR has a lot of different job opportunities and once you're in, its very easy to jump around between positions. Management is always fabulous

    Cons

    For part time work, none I can think of.

    Madison School & Community Recreation2018-09-19
  4. "MSCR SREC Program Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Leader in Fitchburg, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Madison School & Community Recreation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Get to work with really great kids with all kinds of diverse backgrounds - Bosses make the work environment fun but still professional - Good summer temporary job - Good pay - Lots of fun - You get paid for training week

    Cons

    - Can be very stressful with the kids (they can get super hyper) - Training was very tedious and most of the time boring - (In my experience) the first week or two is a little crazy and unorganized

    Advice to Management

    Have a solid plan for the first week or two to be more successful and less chaotic.

    Madison School & Community Recreation2018-07-22
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Madison School & Community Recreation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing support at the site I worked at and great co-workers to rely on.

    Cons

    At some points in the year there was fairly high turn over rate.

    Madison School & Community Recreation2018-05-16
  6. "Fun for High Schoolers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Leader in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Madison School & Community Recreation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice and understanding staff. Good hours.

    Cons

    Unorganized at times. Can be demanding.

    Advice to Management

    More communication with staff.

    Madison School & Community Recreation2018-01-24
  7. "Many options for job seekers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Madison School & Community Recreation full-time

    Pros

    Variety of different programs and positions to fit different people. Works very hard to make sure that all participants are able to participate fulling especially the school age program; new overall leadership so unable to comment on that

    Cons

    limited hours for part time staff

    Madison School & Community Recreation2017-12-01
  8. "Inclusion Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Madison School & Community Recreation part-time

      Pros

      -Work with at-risk youth -Fun atmosphere -Pay Increases overtime -Community focused

      Cons

      -Poor work ethic of some staff -Little professional growth

      Advice to Management

      Better hiring of staff, especially for the RIS positions.

      Madison School & Community Recreation2017-10-31
    • "MSCR"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Field Supervisor in Madison, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Madison School & Community Recreation part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great place to work with kids

      Cons

      Many locations so may have to travel

      Madison School & Community Recreation2017-09-21
    • "SREC Program Leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Madison School & Community Recreation part-time

      Pros

      -Most program leader staff are great. -Get to work with kids from a bunch of different backgrounds

      Cons

      -I had worked for the MSCR SREC program for two years. The first year was great and it was run very well. The second year, however....not so much. The site director had no idea what she was doing and was the most disorganized thing I've ever seen. We were constantly short of supplies to do the activities and got no support from the higher ups. To make matters worse, any suggestions that were offered to make the program...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Try to hire people based on qualifications and make sure the people in charge know what they are doing. I had really hoped to do a third year with MSCR but after how bad it was last time I won't make that mistake again.

      Madison School & Community Recreation2017-06-16
    Found 26 reviews