Cover image for Madison Square Garden
Logo

Madison Square Garden

Is this your company?

Madison Square Garden

Add a Review

Madison Square Garden Employee Reviews about "concerts"

Updated Nov 28, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 806 of over 808 reviews
3.9
65% Recommend to a Friend
Madison Square Garden Executive Chairman and CEO James Dolan
61% Approve of CEO

Found 13 of over 808 reviews

3.9
65%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Madison Square Garden Executive Chairman and CEO James Dolan
James Dolan
186 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "if you end up in the right department you will work with some really great people.(in 67 reviews)
  • "Health benefits are good and PTO got better towards the end of my time there.(in 27 reviews)
  • "fun work environment(in 15 reviews)
  • "Great Coworkers and fast paced environment(in 12 reviews)
  • "Great team to work with.(in 11 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Madison Square Garden and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "concerts"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fabulous experience. Love every second of working there.

    Oct 12, 2015 - Usher in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay. Best concerts and sporting events in the world.

    Cons

    Not enough events and short breaks. No work in the summer months.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to work

    Aug 6, 2021 - Guest Experience in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Get to see some of the best concerts in town, plus the Rangers & Knicks. If you're lucky you get to escort some VIPS. Another plus the schedule is very flexible. You have 4 (blackout) days a month you can request off with no problem whatsoever and will give you the schedule you requested off as long as you give them a month notice. Plus many people can switch with you if you need. Coworkers are alot of fun as well. All around good place to work.

    Cons

    The job is not mentally stimulating, however the perks make it worth it. Not much room for growth, nor advice on how to possibly advance or go to another department. Another downside, there are days you have to work outside (hot or cold) that's not alot of fun if you get very hot or very cold.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Madison Square Garden team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not as great as they think they are

    Nov 28, 2021 - Bartender 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Peaking in on concerts, some co-workers are decent.

    Cons

    Filthy locker & rest rooms for hourly staff. Micro managing, micro aggressive, and sometimes racist managers. Certain employees allowed to do whatever they want.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Doesn’t pay to work hard

    Nov 7, 2021 - Elevator Operator in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Get to watch some of the games and concerts

    Cons

    if you’re a good worker, they will overload you with work. If you’re bad at your job they will make it easier for you to slack off and do nothing. So better off not trying at this job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    wouldnt recommend

    Oct 1, 2021 - Club Seats Runner in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    free sports and concerts cool atmosphere

    Cons

    unorganized, rude staff requires lots of patience

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Secondary job at best

    May 27, 2021 - Usher/Ticket Taker in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Watch free shows and concerts. Make your own schedule.

    Cons

    Management was intimidating to communicate. Poor correspondence to NY headquarters. Work was infrequent. Poor accommodations and break area for employees.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Haver never been involved with a more wretched company

    Nov 12, 2020 - Bartender in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great concerts and generally a good customer base.

    Cons

    First off, let me being by saying in my two other bartending gigs I went from bartender to management within months and would have been fired in an instant if I pulled any of inept crap these managers did here. For example, in my section there were 2 side smaller side bars and then the main bar, we were rotated and never really knew which bar would be the busiest. One night I was at one of the smaller side bars and our bar back called out however all the other two bars had their bar backs. When the concert started my bar, or course, was by far the busiest, we were slammed, literally 2 bartenders trying to serve 50 people at once. No big deal but the other side bar had no business and management couldn't fathom to transfer their bar back to our bar. I used to manage bartenders and bar backs and that would be the instant, most 'common sense' move. Their main objective, stated over and over to us, was for us to make as much money as possible so I concentrated on serving as many people as possible and did a great job, actually made the most money those first couple of weeks out of any of the other bartenders. I was blown away neither the manager nor the two assistant managers that night could figure out a bar back would have helped. Another example of inept management was while I was at a stand-alone kiosk, had never worked it before, got zero training on how to work the register and unfortunately register became jammed due to rolled coins sticking slightly up in the tray. Rookie mistake so when the manager passed by I inquired if she may have a key for which she didn't and when she tried opening it up she made it worse. When I suggested we try a credit card to slide in between the coins and the tray she started berating me, rudely telling me what a stupid idea that was so I got out my credit card, tried it and the tray opened. The look on her face was priceless. Needless to say I didn't stay at that job very long.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Great brand name, but no substance

    Jul 26, 2011 - Marketing Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - VERY recognizable brand - Comped tickets to some sports games and dress rehearsals to company owned/backed productions (Christmas Spectacular, etc...) - Ability to buy full priced tickets on sold out concerts - Good enthusiastic coworkers, with a wide variety of interests, ages, and backgrounds - Variety of business properties and brands (Ability to work with venues, vendors, sports, etc...) - Great place to gain experience and learn if you are an intern or very green.

    Cons

    - Has little growth opportunities for those that are more mature (experience-wise) - Everyone and their mother will ask you to get them tickets - No comps on concert tickets for regular employees - Compensation and benefits are lower than industry standard - Very little upward mobility - Very limited schedule with late hours if you work with the teams during the season - No career development - Conservative thinking and management

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Madison square garden is very professional

    May 26, 2011 - Food Service Vendor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great atmosphere the workers and management are excellent. The events are very exciting from the sporting events, to the concerts.

    Cons

    The cons of working at Madison square garden are that there are not many events in the summer months. Also the pay could be better.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Office Clerk - Administrative Work / Payroll + Scheduling

    Feb 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employees were all very friendly and it was an interesting and fun experience knowing your work contributes to the production of the shows and concerts. Employees were treated well and were given opportunities to attend the shows.

    Cons

    The management seemed hectic at times. The work wasn't particularly engaging.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Madison Square Garden Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Madison Square Garden? Share Your Experiences

Madison Square Garden logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Madison Square Garden Photos

+ Add Photo
Madison Square Garden photo of: The Garden
Madison Square Garden photo of: Radio City
Madison Square Garden photo of: Radio City
Madison Square Garden photo of: Me filming a Phish Interview at The Madison Square Garden
Madison Square Garden photo of: Maddie Square

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Madison Square Garden Job Seekers Also Viewed

Barclays Center Logo
Barclays Center

3.7

106 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 808 Madison Square Garden reviews submitted anonymously by Madison Square Garden employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Madison Square Garden is right for you.