Magellan Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Magellan Health Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Magellan Health CEO Barry Smith (no image)
Barry Smith
227 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The poor leadership and the perpetuation of poor leadership by upper management for years(in 24 reviews)

  • "High turnover rate of productive employees(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "A Company that Cares about Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Consultant in Avon, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flexibility -Leadership -Location -Overall company mission -Values -Access to leader's within the corporate structure -Commitment to Technology

    Cons

    -Communication -Change Management -Management's Reception of Feedback

    Magellan Health2019-09-17

    Magellan Health Response

    September 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the great review of Magellan Health. We do pride ourselves on providing a health work-life flow!

    Continue reading
  2. "Hired in December 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Pharmacy Technician 

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love everything about magellan health

    Cons

    I can't think of anything wrong with this company so far

    Magellan Health2019-09-30

    Magellan Health Response

    October 3, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the fantastic review of Magellan Health!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company with room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity to grow and get promoted

    Cons

    Nature of work can be tedious if you don't like working with numbers all day

    Magellan Health2019-10-16

    Magellan Health Response

    October 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review.

    Continue reading
  4. "Remote"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager 

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy. You are not micromanaged

    Cons

    No upward mobility. Nothing else I can think of

    Magellan Health2019-10-15

    Magellan Health Response

    October 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for review Magellan Health as a place to work!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EAP Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary, lots of independence, varied clients, good supervision

    Cons

    Not much room for internal growth

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-09-29

    Magellan Health Response

    September 30, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thanks for the review of Magellan Health as a place to work!

    Continue reading
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Coordinator 

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    Case load can be heavy sometimes

    Magellan Health2019-09-27

    Magellan Health Response

    September 30, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thanks for the review!

    Continue reading
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Ability to work from home with certain positions. Conducts internal surveys on how the company can improve overall AND actually considers as well as enacts widely agreed upon changes. Opportunity to earn bonuses.

    Cons

    Little to no training. While a lot positions depend on industry knowledge, training regarding specific organizational structure and policies is needed. A little more transparency as to corporate changes. Understand company policy is not to comment on rumors so as not to cause panic and a mass exodus but having to find out about the possibility of major org changes yields that result anyway.

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-09-18

    Magellan Health Response

    September 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review!

    Continue reading
  8. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Exceptions Coordinator 

    I worked at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, diverse, quiet, great supervisor

    Cons

    lots of drama, age gaps, seniors are unhelpful

    Magellan Health2019-10-02

    Magellan Health Response

    October 3, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thanks for review Magellan Health!

    Continue reading
  9. "The most frustrating place to work.... no one has a clue and every answer is different."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magellan Health

    Pros

    Cool people but no pride

    Cons

    Doing your job correctly will get you in trouble

    Continue reading
    Magellan Health2019-09-30

    Magellan Health Response

    October 3, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Sorry to hear you did not like your time at Magellan Health. We strive to create an environment where all employees are valued and appreciated!

    Continue reading
  10. "It's fine if you enjoy healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing & Events Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magellan Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from Home days + flexible schedule

    Cons

    Everyone is related + the office is very sad

    Magellan Health2019-09-26

    Magellan Health Response

    September 27, 2019Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for review Magellan Health as a place to work.

    Continue reading
Found 616 reviews