Cover image for Magellan Health
Logo
See All Photos

Magellan Health

Part of Centene
Engaged Employer

Magellan Health

Add a Review

Magellan Health Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated May 4, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,179 of over 1K reviews
3.5
67% Recommend to a Friend
Magellan Health Chief Executive Officer Derrick Duke
74% Approve of CEO

Found 40 of over 1K reviews

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Magellan Health Chief Executive Officer Derrick Duke
Derrick Duke
13 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

6h

a 

Medical Records

I will be taking over a new team in our call center department at my job this upcoming week. I've been with the company a few years now and something I've noticed is NO ONE uses cameras but I've seen tons of people recommend it for teams. I am thinking of making it a requirement for my new team. I was thinking of starting off with once a week and moving into every other day so that it's not too much change at once. It will only be required for meetings. What does everyone think? Do you do this?

4

4 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits and I appreciated my directors support even though he was in another city.(in 89 reviews)
  • "People are very friendly and flexible work from home option.The company has a lot of growth potential and management cares about their employees.(in 83 reviews)
  • "The pay was good and schedule(in 66 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with and decent benefits.(in 53 reviews)
  • "work life balance is good(in 35 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Magellan Health and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    You could get lost in the shuffle

    Apr 29, 2021 - Manager IT in Maryland Heights, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Travel opportunities, training opportunities, market level salary, lots of cool co-workers

    Cons

    Constant upper management shift, it is directionless sometimes

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    It could be better

    May 4, 2021 - Billing Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Insurance Remote work Benefits Paid Time Off Personal time

    Cons

    Poor management Favoritism Poor communication Lack of accountability from upper management No real structure in certain department Compensation for work Retaliation for reporting upper management Policy is not always followed by upper management

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Magellan Health team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Contractor

    unnecessary upper management and cultural changes with no overall growth

    Mar 10, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, work life balance, PTO

    Cons

    upper management change, no transparency

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Must be adaptable

    Oct 24, 2020 - Care Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay and opportunity for growth Work from home.

    Cons

    Terrible benefits High turnover Not enough staff to keep up with workload Upper management has little knowledge of day to day operations

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awful management

    Dec 29, 2020 - Financial Analyst in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free basic healthcare. Decent compensation

    Cons

    The upper management is awful. Extremely micromanagement

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Job can best be described as “meh”

    Aug 5, 2020 - Family Counselor/Therapist in Wilmington, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Freedom to make own hours and schedule, as long as it’s 40 hours a week No micromanagement Don’t take work home with you No clinical notes Minimal documentation

    Cons

    Poor benefits Upper management doesn’t take staff feedback seriously about problems within the job PTO policy is laughable Employees are just numbers

    1 person found this review helpful

    Magellan Health Response

    Recruitment Marketing Director

    Thank you for the review of Magellan Health.

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Struggling to keep talent

    Nov 8, 2017 - IT Professional 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great PTO package, opportunities to work remotely

    Cons

    Disorganized upper management, disorganized approach to innovation, poor transparency

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful

    Magellan Health Response

    Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are sorry to hear about your issue with IT current/past management. We know our employees are our most valued asset and strive to cultivate a culture of inclusivity, collaboration, and curiosity. We will make sure you are heard.

  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    If you have another job opportunity, go with that opportunity

    Jan 30, 2019 - Clinician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent healthcare benefits and benefits in general

    Cons

    -The poor leadership and the perpetuation of poor leadership by upper management for years. -Perpetually understaffed in all departments. -Ineffective Human Resources Department. The HR Department does not respond to employee questions or concerns with applicable information. You cannot talk to anyone in HR and must electronically correspond with people who provide non-answers or do not respond at all. -Full-time means significantly more than 40 hours a week is required while the company preaches the balance of work and life. -Poorly organized and executed projects and initiatives -Company culture of blame -High turnover rate of productive employees -Employees are continually over-burdened by their workload -Poor training at the onset of employment and almost none afterwards -No this company does not seek to better healthcare and well-being; they lose money and accounts and try to make up for the lost revenue by tightening utilization.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful

    Magellan Health Response

    Vice President, Digital/Social Media & Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. I'll share your feedback internally.

  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Data Management Specialist II/ Network Operations Specialist II - MCC

    Jan 5, 2016 - Data Management Specialist II/Network Operations Specialist II - MCC in Maryland Heights, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's income. I've never had any issues with my paycheck. It is always on time, and the amount is always correct. It is very easy to review your payslips, benefits and accrued or used time off. They have concierge services every week (car wash, tailoring and massages). There is a cafeteria. Not all managers are micromanagers. Managers have the freedom to run their departments the way they see fit. If you get a decent person, you can have flexibility to manage your personal life and still be able to work here (I'm thinking of people with children or other responsibilities, or general emergencies).

    Cons

    What doesn't suck about this place? See above. This place breeds micromanagers. HR does not come to the rescue of employees who are being harassed by upper management. The work is very specific, but the directions/instructions are not always provided before hand. Most times, we find out something was wrong when we do it incorrectly and get dinged for it by our Audit Team. The systems are archaic (still DOS based). You cannot even run a report to see the work you did all day (and instead have to settle for checking as you go, or waiting to hear what the Audit Team may have caught).

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    An Entry Level, Stepping Stone Job

    Jun 12, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *Flexible Work Schedule *Excellent Vacation Allowance *Casual Summers *Casual Dress the rest of the year with a pass *On-site, full service café *On-site gym *Work From Home for most positions

    Cons

    *Minimal Training for most positions *Poor communication between upper management and their staff *Lack of office moral & professionalism *Limited opportunity for promotion; lots of lateral moving around *Expensive Insurance plans *No employee appreciation program

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Magellan Health Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Magellan Health? Share Your Experiences

or

Magellan Health Careers

Cover image for Magellan Health

We’re proud to serve our members and help those who need us the most. We lead humanity to healthy, vibrant lives – whatever the...More

  • Work-Life Flow
  • A-Game Only
  • Better Together
  • Curious
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Magellan Health

112 days ago

Magellan Health, Inc. today announced it has appointed Tom Britt as chief information officer for Magellan Health. Britt will work closely with Magellan’s executive leadership to create, develop and implement information technology strategy and digital solutions while leveraging best practices and delivering data-enhanced products and services through innovative technology platforms.
Magellan Health Appoints Tom Britt as Chief Information Officer | Magellan Health, Inc.
ir.magellanhealth.com
See all

Magellan Health Photos

+ Add Photo
Magellan Health photo of: Leading humanity to health, vibrant lives.
Magellan Health photo of: Volunteering
Magellan Health photo of: We give back
Magellan Health photo of: Inspiring leaders
Magellan Health photo of: We give back
Magellan Health photo of: We do good work
Magellan Health photo of: We give back
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Magellan Health Job Seekers Also Viewed

UnitedHealth Group Logo
UnitedHealth Group

3.5

15,213 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,180 Magellan Health reviews submitted anonymously by Magellan Health employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Magellan Health is right for you.