Magento Reviews | Glassdoor

Magento Reviews

Updated April 24, 2017
53 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Magento Chief Executive Officer Mark Lavelle
Mark Lavelle
21 Ratings

53 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great leaders, great product, great culture (in 6 reviews)

  • A company committed to doing great work and hiring great people (in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Exciting Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Culver City, CA
    Current Employee - Manager in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magento full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Magento is a growing company with lots of opportunities! My team is really fun to work with, and we have a great time! Since we've become an independent company, I feel more valued as an employee.

    Cons

    The pace of the work is really fast and hiring can sometimes lag behind so workload can be high at times.

    Advice to Management

    Your efforts with promoting staff and making the workplace a fun place to work have been noticed! Keep these initiatives in place!

    Magento Response

    Oct 21, 2016 – CHRO

    Thank you for these wonderful thoughts and the 5 star rating. It's terrific when an employee who has been with us as long as you have is still feeling so engaged. Thank you for being with us for ... More


  2. "Very profesional and organized."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Launch Manager in Culver City, CA
    Current Employee - Launch Manager in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magento full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    friendly staff,very professional and organized.

    Cons

    I haven't identified any areas needed of improvements yet.

    Magento Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – CHRO

    Thank you for your 5 star rating and thoughts. I am so glad your first year is off to such a strong start and that you are having a great Magento experience. - Francesca Molinari, CHRO

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cloud Solutions Architect in Culver City, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Cloud Solutions Architect in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magento full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture, energized and excited team, innovative products and a tremendous focus on internal promotion and growth.

    Cons

    I have not experienced any cons beyond the fact that when you are pushing an entire industry forward there can be high pressure situations and a few very long days now and then.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Magento Response

    Nov 7, 2016 – CHRO

    So glad you are having a great Magento experience! Thank you for your thoughts and for being a part of the team. - Francesca Molinari, CHRO


  4. Helpful (5)

    "Better as an independent owned company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sr. Graphic Designer in Culver City, CA
    Former Employee - Sr. Graphic Designer in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Magento full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Casual environment, diverse range of talented employees (mostly cool), snacks, some meals, nice office space, technology leader, up to date with tools. Decent benefits and profit sharing. Some telecommute options depending on your manager. Open to ideas if you have the drive and initiative. Overall a pretty decent place to work, especially by comparison to so many companies that only nickel and dime their employees. When I was there it was pretty easy to identify growth opportunities. Being proactive and a self-starter helps you here (so long as your manager is cool).

    Cons

    Management took a major turn when they merged with eBay, not really for the better. The company has since separated from eBay, so maybe things have improved. Can be a bit of a high-volume turn and burn mentality.

    Advice to Management

    Stay grounded and value your employees. Take care of them and they will take care of you. Get rid of toxic managers and ego freaks as they will infect the overall business in the long run.

    Magento Response

    Sep 30, 2016 – CHRO

    Thank you for the time you spent with Magento - and for the feedback. Francesca Molinari, CHRO


  5. "Awesome"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Culver City, CA
    Former Employee - Marketing in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Magento full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Amazing people, very collaborative environment

    Cons

    Lost some focus on technology and building product recently, needs to get back to its software development roots.

    Magento Response

    Sep 9, 2016 – CHRO

    So glad you described your Magento experience as awesome - that is great to hear and just what we want for everyone. Thank you for the thoughts and for being a part of it all. Francesca Molinari ... More


  6. "CIO"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Campbell, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Campbell, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magento full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work. Great people. Great company positioning in an excellent market.

    Cons

    Lots to get done in a very short time after the company got split out of EBay.

    Magento Response

    Sep 9, 2016 – CHRO

    Thank you for these thoughts - and for being a part of our team. Francesca Molinari, CHRO


  7. "Great Company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Campbell, CA
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Campbell, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magento full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This is the best company I've worked for! Everyone is hard working, passionate and friendly. I have the independence to work on my own but a strong team when I need them. It's a very open door environment, my thoughts an opinions are always taken into consideration. Also, dog friendly!!!

    Cons

    Magento definitely runs on a start up work ethic, sometimes there are very long days and weeks but there are always quiet and calm moments too.

    Magento Response

    Sep 9, 2016 – CHRO

    Thank you for being a part of Magento. I am so glad you are having a 5 star experience and feel that we are an open door company - that is what we strive for. We appreciate your being a part of ... More

  8. "Great Company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Channel Development Manager in Culver City, CA
    Current Employee - Channel Development Manager in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magento full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Been working here for about 9 months and the culture here is great. Very close knit teams that are easy to work with and happy to help. Was new to eCommerce when I started and was never turned down when I would ask stupid questions or for help. Also, if you work hard here you'll move up the chain. Just took me 4 months to get my first promotion.

    Cons

    Constant change, which could be a pro or a con depending on your personality type. If you're not willing to change and constantly learn you won't be successful. I personally love it because it keeps everything new and exciting.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and continue to be transparent. It's always great to work at a growing, transparent company.

    Magento Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – CHRO

    We so appreciate your feedback - and congratulations on your promotion! It is fantastic to see our newest employees feeling so great about their choice. Thank you for choosing Magento. Francesca ... More


  9. "Great Place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magento full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people and great spirit. Magento has a vision to become the best and are willing to invest and cultivate their employees to be the best.

    Cons

    I have not come across any cons. The management and communication is great.

    Advice to Management

    No advice to management. I think that management is on the right track and is very communicative and available. Keep it up!

    Magento Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – CHRO

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. It is so great to hear that as a new employee you have found Magento to be a place you can thrive. Francesca Molinari - CHRO


  10. "Excellent organization to be a part of"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Magento full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Absolutely fantastic, supportive, positive work environment with knowledgeable, resourceful staff who believe in this incredibly valuable commerce platform

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Prior to joining Magento, I worked in various sales roles that do not hold a candle to Magento's leadership, training, work environment, and product value ensuring everyone is satisfied both internally and externally through our customers.

    Magento Response

    Aug 8, 2016 – CHRO

    It is great to hear that your employment experience has been such a positive one. Thank you so much for these thoughts and for being a part of the Magento team! Francesca Molinari - CHRO


Showing 53 of 54 reviews
Reset Filters