Magna International Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Magna International CEO Seetarama (Swamy) Kotagiri
Seetarama (Swamy) Kotagiri
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, Good Bonus Good hours(in 76 reviews)

  • "Good benefits offered to employees(in 70 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "sometimes long hours but acceptable(in 76 reviews)

  • "volume of work per person strains work/life balance(in 42 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Magna International and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place

      Mar 28, 2021 - Robotics Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and good people

      Cons

      None, good place to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      They don't care about you period.

      May 10, 2021 - Op B At Magna Electronics 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you don't care about having free time, the pay is ok. It's kinda clean for a manufacturing job

      Cons

      You work every day and, your vacation gets denied frequently. If you suck up you can get a day off occasionally. HR is useless and you have to be escorted by your boss to even talk to them. You don't matter and you will spend every moment looking over your shoulder. The training programs they offer for advancement require thousands of hours, you'll be lucky if you can get 8 hours a month. They don't enforce any social distancing or mask wearing. They make you work with people who are sick. Quality is a joke, if something is wrong with a part they will pass it on, or sneak it into the closest trash can.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent job, Hard hours.

      May 6, 2021 - Production 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is good Promotes from within

      Cons

      Long hours Employees are disposable

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good People and Good level of work

      May 11, 2021 - Facilities Engineer in Toledo, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the people are good to work with

      Cons

      somewhat lower salary for an engineering position

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Automotive Seat Supplier

      May 11, 2021 - Group Controller in Novi, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ethical company that treats employees fairly

      Cons

      Automotive industry is competitive with constant price pressure on suppliers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It's a Rough One

      Apr 16, 2021 - Systems Administrator in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      First day benefits, 2 weeks vacation, 40 hours of PTO, and they coddle you a little bit in the beginning.

      Cons

      As a new hire, there was no a real training plan. I was dropped off some guys to train with and I spent no time with my manager. Training consisted of me following around someone for a month a half that was almost as new as me, who took care of all the issues. When I went to cover a shift and support a plant, my toxic team members provided no support. When I asked questions the type of answers i would get is, it's not my responsibility to train you. I was also expected to answer radio calls that would never end, even know there was other associates there with me. Management would not let me take a lunch break, just wanted out of the floor all the time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      This Company is Doomed to Destroy Itself

      Mar 6, 2021 - Production Operator in Shepherdsville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay and there are good people there despite low to no moral.

      Cons

      Management at MAGNA is unprofessional and childish in both actions and education. The lack of communication in the company hinders it from progressing in a positive direction. Other hindrances include, but are not limited to; Massive disrespect for employees both working on the line and also those running it. Basically if you're not salary you don't matter. The moral has become so non-existent the ones who remain working there are just empty husks begging to leave knowing that they can't because the pay is too good. That is the only reason you will hear from people when asked if they like working for MAGNA. Not that the company takes good care of them or that they enjoy coming in everyday, that's honestly how bad it is. I really don't see this company running much longer if they don't start taking care of they're employees more. The only reason people don't Protest against this awful company is because they are part of a union who made a contract with the company stating that nobody can protest against them without losing their jobs. So it's a sad stalemate that never ends and I hope someone sees this and avoids the job where the pay is good, but it's not worth it. Also there is a raise freeze until 2023 so good luck with that.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      One of the better tiered suppliers to work for

      May 1, 2021 - Journeyman Millwright in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent management, good pay, good benefits

      Cons

      They really like to fire management. Not a good place for people with little experience.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company, very demanding company

      May 9, 2021 - Warehouse Manager in Greenville, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits, good pay, great coworkers, Gives you a lot of autonomy

      Cons

      Long hours, high turnover, very demanding workplace

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      May 2, 2021 - Director in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Good opportunites for hard working people * Good technology

      Cons

      * Poor WLB * Constant understaffing * Poor HR

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,304 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Magna International Job Seekers

    Manufacturing Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Magna International? Share Your Experiences

    or