Magnetic Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
52%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Magnetic Executive Chairman and CEO Corey Ferengul  (no image)
Corey Ferengul
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "We also had unlimited vacation days(in 12 reviews)

  • "Smart people, Unlimited Vacation policy(really unlimited), good work-life balance, Constant adoption of new technologies(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "some members of the sales team not meeting their targets yet they're still around(in 4 reviews)

  • "Upper management seems to not know what the identity of this company is now, and unsure where it should be going(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Magnetic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employees with clear visions from leadership.

    Cons

    None that i can think off

    Magnetic2019-08-17
  2. "Had promise"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magnetic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team. Perks, benefits, etc.

    Cons

    Poor execution following MyBuys acquisition

    Continue reading
    Magnetic2019-09-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "We had a good run"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magnetic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO, great coworkers, fun and educational work environment, very nice office managers

    Cons

    Poor management, product was slow to develop and lagged the industry, very bad acquisitions

    Continue reading
    Magnetic2018-09-14
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Producer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Magnetic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are a tower of steel and can handle the hostile work environment, you will get to work with great clients.

    Cons

    Company leads through negative reinforcement. The single most unpleasant work environment I have ever encountered. 40 years of experience in B2B and B2C experience. And this was soul deadening.

    Continue reading
    Magnetic2018-05-27
  5. "New Magnetic, and it's great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Magnetic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - "New Magnetic" is inspiring - Recent changes spurred impressive growth and progress - Amazing products, cutting-edge - Management promotes independence and flexibility; employees make their own schedules, work remote/from home as needed - Very collaborative, everyone wants success for each other and the company

    Cons

    Rough patches over the past few years drained morale, but it's quickly changing - on the up and up, fast

    Continue reading
    Magnetic2018-02-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It used to be the best place and then become shrinking ship"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Magnetic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Unlimited Vacation. - Good people and co-worker - Good snack and nice office

    Cons

    - Salary not great - The direction changed on 2016 causing big problem to entire company

    Magnetic2018-02-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Like the Titanic except women and children don't go first...."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magnetic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great tools provided to make the workday efficient

    Cons

    I could go on, but it came down to micro-management and being underpaid despite my ability to be a top seller. No rewards or compensations.

    Magnetic2017-12-28
  8. "Used to be great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Magnetic full-time

    Pros

    Lots of smart people here!

    Cons

    Smart people can be complete jerks, and for no reason at all.

    Magnetic2017-11-02
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Bumpy ride"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Magnetic full-time

    Pros

    - great culture in Ann Arbor office (though I'm referring more to 2015-2016 when company was above 70+ people, before multiple layoffs) - driven, talented coworkers for the most part

    Cons

    Too many to list specifically. In general this company has been sorely mismanaged and decisions are consistently short sighted. C-level doesn't care much about anything besides their paycheck, and we had to perform layoff after layoff just to course correct. Product vision is weak, ever-changing, and murky. Sadly for those still remaining I don't see this turning upwards at any point. Some of the new C-suite are downright heartless and will mismanage all the remaining talent right out the door.

    Continue reading
    Magnetic2017-10-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Path ahead looking dimmer all the time"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Magnetic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Once a great place with great people, maybe some are still there? - Office locations are pretty great - Modern technology stack for some products - Great place to work if you enjoy gallows humor

    Cons

    - Just about all the great people actually have been laid off by now - Poor decisions were made, money and time were squandered, now all that's left to do is wait for the end - Ancient technology stack for some products

    Continue reading
    Magnetic2017-10-12
Found 95 reviews