KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Magnetic

Part of Deloitte
Is this your company?

Magnetic

Add a Review

Magnetic Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 of over 100 reviews

3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Magnetic Executive Chairman and CEO Corey Ferengul  (no image)
Corey Ferengul
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "We also had unlimited vacation days(in 12 reviews)

  • "Smart people, Unlimited Vacation policy(really unlimited), good work-life balance, Constant adoption of new technologies(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "some members of the sales team not meeting their targets yet they're still around(in 4 reviews)

  • "Upper management seems to not know what the identity of this company is now, and unsure where it should be going(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing Culture

      Aug 16, 2019 - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great employees with clear visions from leadership.

      Cons

      None that i can think off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Had promise

      Sep 25, 2019 - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team. Perks, benefits, etc.

      Cons

      Poor execution following MyBuys acquisition

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I thought I wanted to work for Google...

      May 8, 2016 - Senior Full Stack Engineer in San Mateo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have a lot of friends at Google, but I'm really glad I came here. When I interviewed, I didn't really know what Magnetic does. As it turns out, ad tech -- as this industry is called -- is full of the kind of engineering challenges for which no really good solutions exist yet. It takes a huge amount of software and hardware to run the business. Small improvements in system performance wins new customers. This means unlimited opportunities to contribute and solve really hard problems. The team is unusually diverse for software engineering: not just regionally/ethnically, but more importantly, with respect to gender and age. They have twenty-somethings, people with families, and senior staff with more than 30 years of engineering experience. This is a company with very strong technical leadership, but it's still small enough to reflect my contribution. The atmosphere is professional, respectful, relaxed, and relatively free of politics. Refreshingly, the offices don't look like repurposed daycares. Egos are not encouraged. Tellingly, when people move on, they take them out to lunch or dinner to celebrate their career and contributions. This company has good bones. Now that I've been there for 6 months, I feel comfortable saying: this is the best place I've ever worked. I am really glad I ended up here.

      Cons

      For small company, it is really spread across timezones. (They have engineering offices in San Mateo, CA, Ann Arbor, MI, New York, and London.) This makes everyone heavily reliant on teleconferencing and the headaches it entails.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      This place is the best place I've worked in my career by far

      Jul 27, 2016 - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This place is a fantastic environment for creative, hard-working, thinking individuals. People's voices are heard, you can create your own schedule and plan your life accordingly, which actually makes people do their work better and sometimes do more of it. The people are wonderful, from the top down. People get promoted all the time, and called out for their great work. People are friendly, and often engage in social activity during and outside of work. Teams collaborate very well together, even across offices. We're still growing and capturing marketshare. Free breakfast on Monday and lunch on Friday, and well stocked kitchens.

      Cons

      Some people abuse the laidback vacation policy, but they tend not to last long. We had to lay off some people recently, which is likely why you are seeing a string of negative comments. I really don't have much to say negatively though, all the people who wrote negative things are likely from the company that Magnetic bought a year ago or weren't very good employees to begin with.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      You will not find a better place to work

      Jul 28, 2016 -  in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture of Magnetic as a company is the perfect combination of work and play. You will not find a company with a better atmosphere than this one. During my time here there have been tons of company events for employees to bond with one another and branch outside of their own teams. The future of the company is one that is bright and exciting as new products and operating systems are being built at high speed. Leadership prides themselves on being totally transparent, as there is a 'Townhall' every other week to update everyone on new things going on in the company and where we are headed next. This also adds a great sense of community to the overall environment at Magnetic, everyone is always working together. The CEO has been successfully driving the growth of the company through his vision and strategy. He is incredibly passionate and fascinated by this rapidly changing industry we call "Ad Tech" (I highly recommend picking his brain about it if you get the chance) and knows more about the industry than anyone else.

      Cons

      Only submitting anything in the Cons section because Glassdoor requires you to write five words! How's this?

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Great Facade, Unstable Foundation

      Oct 6, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive atmosphere at work and awesomely stocked kitchen

      Cons

      Since I've been here (not even a year yet), there has been 2 rounds of layoffs. 2! That's insane. There is clearly something internally wrong that needs to be fixed. Management cares about the bottom line (and I don't blame them, it's a business after all) and how the company pans out at the end of the year. They say they care about the people, but why did you have to do 2 rounds within 4 months? It's a ghost town here and I'm scared for Round 3, and I know there will be. Another con is the the laid back attitude. It appears laid back but the expectations are great. I'm not stranger to work but beware, you will be working all hours of the day and you can never really have vacation. You will never be satisfied with the work that you do because others won't either.

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Magnetic - Pretty Sweet

      Oct 23, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unique culture of laid back atmosphere with smart engineers working on interesting technical scalability (sub 100ms requests, terabytes of data to process, real time systems, various large-scale machine learning implementations, state of the art entity-recognition) From an engineering perspective - culture with commitment to good planning and sprints, code reviews, snacks, hubot hangman, standing desks, and pickleback shots at the bar - with an eye towards continuous improvement of technology and minimizing process. If you have skill, passion, and energy to improve and implement, the sky is the limit, no barriers. Great place to be if you want to make a difference. Exciting time to join the company.

      Cons

      Understanding the ins and outs and complexities of the various software components (Real-time-bidding, machine learnings, tracking servers, ad servers, etc) make it an interesting challenge that requires more than a cursory understanding of the system and sometimes can increase ramp-up time - not for the faint of heart. This isn't to say that commits cant start day one. In general things are decoupled and tested fairly well that this makes development fun, For the right person, this could be a positive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Outstanding company in incredible industry

      Oct 22, 2014 - Data Account Management in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Magnetic is at the forefront of the data-driven advertising business. Like the industry, the company is growing fast in all directions -- revenue, offices, and staff. If you're interested in adtech, Magnetic is a wonderful place to be. We work at the intersection of the most important industry trends -- search, programmatic, and we just announced an exciting mobile initiative. The new office is really nice and there are generous perqs -- paid Atlantic City and Ski trips, fully stocked kitchen, etc. Also, the health insurance and 401(k) resemble those offered by big companies. What's best, for me, is the experienced management team. They bring a maturity and calmness that's typically lacking at companies of this size. In turn, there are no fire drills or pivots. Management also promotes a transparency (e.g. quarterly open book briefings), which has the effect of eliminating rumor or distraction.

      Cons

      I've yet to experience any true short comings. The company's biggest problem is that it can't find enough qualified people to fill open roles, but this is probably true of all successful company's in this sector today.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Someone call it! Time of death: Summer 2016

      Oct 6, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Magnetic is really great at soliciting fake reviews on Glassdoor in an attempt to bury the negative yet honest ones. This page tells a consistent and true story. Magnetic was once a great place to work, now it's a nightmare! Any positive review posted from July 2016 on, is not genuine.

      Cons

      - LEADERSHIP - Leadership's inability to admit they've made a mistake. (Holiday schedule emails don't count) - Speaking of mistake...The acquisition of MyBuys. Essentially the first nail in the coffin. If only someone warned you that it was mistake. Oh wait! They did and you fired him for it! - Lack of sincerity and transparency from management. - No execs (expect the 2 you wanted out anyway) were affected by these lay offs. I'm sure getting rid of office managers and junior people will save Magnetic from financial ruin! It is obvious that you are all looking out for each other and are not concerned about the lives you're impacting with your poor and impulsive decisions. - There is no product! You have a sales team built on bribing 20 year old media planners and a marketing team that throws cool events. Maybe this should have been a pro??

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company, excellent place to work and grow in your career.

      Oct 23, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -- The CEO is very experienced, a great leader and has an evolving vision for the company that I feel good about. The upper management group overall is talented and working to see that vision through. -- Lots of smart people who can motivate you to challenge yourself and become better at what you do. -- Laid back but effective culture that produces solid results month after month and makes the office a fun place to work. -- Competitive salary, unlimited paid time-off. Free snacks, a couple of team trips each year. Work late when you need to, but that isn't the norm so there's a good work/life balance. -- The company is growing quickly so there are lots of opportunities to chart your own course and take on projects you're interested in. -- Magnetic has been able to consistently identify problems/shortcomings and overcome them.

      Cons

      -- Magnetic's challenges are generally the industry's challenges, so you'll encounter many of the same obstacles that you would in any ad tech company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 95 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Magnetic Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Magnetic? Share Your Experiences

    Magnetic logo
    or