KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Mailchimp

Is this your company?

Mailchimp

Add a Review

Mailchimp Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 166 of over 187 reviews

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Mailchimp Founder/CEO Ben Chestnut
Ben Chestnut
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance friendly culture and benefits(in 17 reviews)

  • "I worked for Mailchimp in the Atlanta office for two and a half years, and my experience was overall a very positive one(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "hard change fast(in 6 reviews)

  • "listen hard change(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Mailchimp and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best company ever

      Jun 23, 2021 - Intern in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very empathetic company and they let interns do meaningful work!

      Cons

      There are none the pay and perks are great!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company, culture reset happening

      Jul 15, 2021 - Human Resources Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership has truly acknowledged that a culture reset is needed and is doing everything in their power to deliver on promises made to the people. The company is growing and learning from past mistakes, and become transparent in their promotions, pay, and performance. The benefits are excellent, and pto is very generous.

      Cons

      Processes and structure are lacking

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company for Product-Focused Workers

      Jul 11, 2021 - Software Engineer II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You'll find underdog employees you love Bonuses Networking with talented people Annual Training Stipend If you're progressive you'll fit in 401K matching

      Cons

      Management is untouchable Interpersonal difficulties are never handled well, if at all Core issues are skirted around, never unearthed Not as "weird" as it was before... Size increase to blame?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      The truth is finally out

      Feb 28, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They give you Macs and year end bonuses to make you stay.

      Cons

      It took an article in the Verge for senior leaders to finally wake up . Google it before you think of working here. The CEO still refuses to see that Eng D and I problems come from the top. I. E. The CTO. If you are a female engineer, good luck. The toxicity is pungent. If you are not in the CTOs group of friends, you are an outsider and you know it. Read the Verge article. The reporter only scratched the surface. Read the Twitter comments from prior employees. Look at the website. Where is the Exec team page now? They removed it because it showed all white men. I have PTSD from my time there and I know others who are suffering the same. It makes me sick that the CTO is still there while so many good people left because of how he treats people. He should have been fired years ago. Ben owes many people apologies. What happened when I notified HR of my own harassment and bullying? I got offered severance. They don’t know how to fix the problems because the CEO has blinders on especially about the CTO. The Sr VP of People came in and we were all hopeful that he could make changes but he can’t win against the toxic culture. Stay away. Just stay away, especially if you are female and a POC.

      Continue reading
      28 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Poor leadership

      May 11, 2021 - Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great compensation, mostly great coworkers

      Cons

      Leadership are often under qualified and get promoted for the wrong reasons. Once they're in, they're immune to criticism and accountability. They can act petty and retaliatory. It's manager russian roulette. Mailchimp can't seem to figure out what it needs to do to reach the level of growth it once had. Your time there will consist of the company annually deciding that it has to try something totally new that isn't email in an attempt to win new customers. It hasn't really worked yet, and the company is no longer the go-to solution for anything.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      First tech job, very different and similar to others at the same time

      Mar 30, 2021 - Deliverability Advisor in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team I'm on is very tight-knit and has a great sense of humor. They are hard-working and love to succeed. Pay seems above normal for what I do and can't complain about the end of year bonus, the profit sharing, and the generous vacation time. Insurance premiums are paid 100% by the company.

      Cons

      Some folks have complained about a disconnect between senior leadership and ICs, which is somewhat accurate. Sometimes it feels like the most complex issues are given the least time, while the shiny/pretty/superficial issues are bludgeoned to death by committee.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great benefits if you can grin and bear it

      Apr 12, 2021 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mailchimp is a great place to work if you go with the flow and don’t feel strongly about what you actually do for work. If you’re looking to just sit in a chair for 8 hours and get a paycheck, this is the place. Benefits Progressive company Cool factor in the industry

      Cons

      The constant reorgs at this place are insane. “Oh, you got hired to work as a product marketer? Well we’ve decided to move you over to a new team where your experience doesn’t matter. We also didn’t consult with you at all and gave you a weeks notice of this career altering shift.” Culture is strange here. Very much the place where everyone smiles and seems nice but will go behind your back or up the ladder to get their way and talk badly about anyone not in the room.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Awesome company culture and benefits

      Apr 19, 2021 - QA Lead/Senior QA Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is great and it promotes a lot of harmony in the engineering teams. Our CEO is very down to earth and is very good at empathizing with all the employees. The bonuses and benefits are great and have not stopped in spite of the pandemic. The culture promotes a lot of learning and development no matter what the gender. Their DE&I initiatives for this year look very promising. I am proud to work at this company.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      A company in transition

      Apr 30, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of work is being done to ensure an equitable workplace moving forward. - Remote flexibility - Renewed focuses on DE&I and employee experience - Robust benefits package - Stable and profitable

      Cons

      - Working through lingering issues from DE&I and growth opportunities - Staffing can be a challenge, so workload balancing is not always optimal

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great benefits, perks and work life balance.

      May 25, 2021 - Executive Assistant in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, perks and work life balance

      Cons

      Opportunity for advancement is limited.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 166 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Mailchimp Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Mailchimp? Share Your Experiences

    or