Main Event Bartender Reviews | Glassdoor

Main Event Bartender Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
Main Event CEO Chris Morris
Chris Morris
0 Ratings
  1. "High volume, highly stressful, good tips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Avondale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management was the best I've worked with in the industry. Strong focus on professionalism and keeping the center clean. Generous employee discount.

    Cons

    Bartenders don't get tipped out and the service well is VERY busy. Uniforms are ugly and dated. Late nights and long shifts. There were numerous times HR messed up on service charges so had to jump through hoops to get paid correctly. Food is mediocre but I heard that there will be a new menu soon. No happy hour. Company is all about taking care of families but they don't care about their employees family life; no... one should have to work on Christmas!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring people for the service department that have zero experience.

    Main Event2017-04-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fkexible hours is the only Pro

    Cons

    Management disorganized, under staffed, pay is horrible

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good employees fire the rest and start fresh, train all employees from the start the correct way and not by a lazy coworker.

    Main Event2016-07-30
  3. "Not Bad, Not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff is mostly great. You're very likely to make new friends. The people who work there have a good amount of experience for a younger crew.

    Cons

    Management on all levels cares very little about personal schedules. Your un/available will be given next to no consideration. You have to threaten to leave if you want your schedule to be somewhat stable.

    Advice to Management

    Consider allowing facial hair for the males in order to attract more people to apply. The schedule is always too tight and allows for almost no flexibility.

    Main Event2016-05-18
  4. "It was fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked with some cool people and met some interesting guests. This was one of my first jobs and it taught me a lot about customer service.

    Cons

    I had to clean up a lot of body fluids and then go back on the floor and serve guests. Occasionally there were people who tipped well but the majority did not, to make things worse the bartenders were "sharks" and stole the best tables from servers.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the way your staff interacts. Avoid blatant displays of favoritism. Enable your servers, they need to make money!

    Main Event2015-07-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ok for now!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bartender 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great fun family environment we exceed the guest expectations as long as we are set up for our shifts and ready to go!!! We escort bowl guests to their lanes! Play games with the guests! Valet guests to the pool tables! Suggest food and beverage items! If a problem arrises, we own the guest til it's solved!!!! We are supposed to work as a team!!!!

    Cons

    Wish all bar employees would treat guest as if they important!!! Exceed guest expectations!! Not being on their cell phone with their backs to guests it going on smoke breaks when it's a non smoking facility!!!

    Advice to Management

    Check on your employees!!! Don't play favoritism!!! They leave their shift without setting the next shift up!!! And you don't hold them responsible!!! We get tired of it!!!

    Main Event2015-03-28
  6. "Long bumpy ride!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great job! If you in college, they work really well with your schedule and after 6 months the will help with college tuition.

    Cons

    Inconsistant managing style, which makes for unhappy employees

    Main Event2012-10-12
  7. "Not too bad, not too great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers Bad Music Free video games Free pool

    Cons

    Bad Managers Pricy Drinks Long Hours Bad laser tag

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more and charge less for your drinks. Both will win you more money in the end.

    Main Event2012-06-13
  8. "Tedious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Bartender in Stillwater, OK
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Main Event

    Pros

    Receive better hourly pay than similar positions, with provided uniforms. Typically flexible about asking for time off, and you also get discounted bowling/games.

    Cons

    Expect to be left alone for most of your shift, and for your area to be understaffed at peak hours. As long as you can handle a large group of people, all being angry at the lack of service and overpriced drinks, you'll be fine.

    Advice to Management

    When your cheapest cocktail is $5+ and you're only using one jigger of liquor, don't expect to make money off your drinks.

    Main Event2012-03-19
Found 18 reviews