Main Event Bowl Attendant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Bowl Attendant

Main Event Bowl Attendant Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Main Event CEO Chris Morris
Chris Morris
1 Ratings
  1. "Easy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bowling Attendant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time

    Pros

    Main Event is very fun and easy

    Cons

    The drive is a little far.

    Main Event2019-08-27
  2. "OK Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bowl Attendant 

    I worked at Main Event part-time

    Pros

    Lots of hours given. If you need hours they'll give them to you

    Cons

    Management talks to you any kind of way, 10-12 hour shifts, brakes are rare

    Main Event2019-10-04
  3. "The people are great the job not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bowl Attendant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    friendly environment, fast-paced some opportunities for growth

    Cons

    poor management team and poor pay for the amount of workload

    Advice to Management

    STOP PICKING FAVORITES, TREAT EVERYONE EQUALLY

    Main Event2019-04-02
  4. "Bowl Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Bowl Attendant in Suwanee, GA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are many pros to being employed at Main Event its a great work environment and a great environment for guest. The people i work with are great to be around there's never a dull moment.

    Cons

    I honestly don't know any the environments great and the people there are great too.

    Advice to Management

    The management is great witch i love a lot it makes things run smoothly.

    Main Event2018-03-04

    Main Event Response

    March 5, 2018Social Media Marketing

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you are having a great time here. Our desire for all team members is to have authentic fun, to take their jobs and run it like they own it, demonstrate positive work values, embrace team work, while providing exceptional Guest experiences. It is what makes our culture so great. It sounds like you are experiencing all of these wonderful values.

    Show Less
  5. "no idea what this means"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bowl Attendant in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly not that many. Good benefits, 50% off, PTO, referral $$ but overall bad management and work environment

    Cons

    Unprofessional management and co workers. Managers treat employees as expendable and worthless. Bad crowd and late hours

    Advice to Management

    Give a damn about your staff and treat them like they matter. Recognize staff that work and get rid of staff that pull everyone else down

    Main Event2017-09-28

    Main Event Response

    October 31, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for writing your review. We're disappointed to hear your experience with some of your managers and co-workers. We hope that you share this with the Field HR Manager who can assess and investigate any unprofessional behavior.

  6. "Fun fun fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bowl Attendant in Suwanee, GA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Main Event full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you get the job you work for. so if you put in a lot of time and effort you get rewarded. people complain they are not getting raises and promotions but thats because they are lazy and dont deserve them. i put the hours and effort in the job and in three months i went from the lowest employee in one department to the highest trainer in three. the managers treat you like family and constantly employ you to be better.

    Cons

    can be a bit stressful on the weekend with how busy it is. on the weekend a lot of high schoolers work and they can be lazy and have a huge attitude.

    Advice to Management

    work on communication. there are times when you are told one thing from one manager and a complete different thing from another manager.

    Main Event2017-08-28

    Main Event Response

    August 30, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! We couldn't agree more, we do pride ourselves on recognizing and rewarding our team members who go above and beyond! Thank you so much for everything that you do!!

  7. "Main Event"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bowl Attendant in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Main Event part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun coworkers and was overall a fun place to work at for my first job

    Cons

    Not paid enough for what you do

    Advice to Management

    respect coworkers

    Main Event2014-11-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Life at Main Event"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bowl Attendant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you want to work your way up in the company, there is much encouragement to do so. You can start at any position, come in with a good attitude, help train at new centers opening across the country (the company spread outside of Texas just last year, and is planning to grow many, many new centers over the next five years), become a floor supervisor, and eventually a manager. If you want it, you can make it. ... There are bi-annual reviews, yearly raise opportunities, employee parties and a "MyRewards" program that give you the opportunity to earn prizes and gift cards for doing a good job. Depending on the section of the building you work in (Games, Bowl, Cafe, etc.), the work can become monotonous, but your coworkers will be the reason you enjoy the job. For the most part, they tend to hire happy, well-balanced people that enjoy helping others have a good time, and they can become true, outside-of-work friends in the long run. The pay could be better, but it's competitive with other entry-level service-industry jobs (some departments more than others). It's also neigh-impossible to get fired, unless you put absolutely zero effort into it. And perhaps its cheesy, since people go to Main Event to have a good time (especially when family is visiting from out of town), having folks come up to you personally and say that they enjoyed their time and will be returning, or seeing those regulars come in week after week and recognize you for the good job you do, is just an all-around great feeling.

    Show More

    Cons

    It comes with all the cons of the service industry--the work can be tedious and boring, the guests can be belligerent, it's either breakneck or incredibly slow, and sometimes the different departments don't see eye to eye. Multiple managers means multiple ways of doing tasks, and you have to keep tabs on which managers are working so that you know what things to prioritize. There is a HUGE focus on teamwork, and... having even one coworker call in sick, not do their job or come with a poor attitude can create problems for MULTIPLE departments. Sometimes, the managers are quick to recognize faults and slow to recognize good deeds. And many, many times there is a lack of consistent accountability--one day, everyone can show up 10-15 minutes late and nothing is said, and the next one person can show up five minutes late and be written up. The job may not be fulfilling in the long run if you have no plans to move up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please standardize your requirements for the staff amongst yourselves. Having consistent feedback on both what we're doing right and wrong, as well as keeping everyone accountable to the same requirements, would go a long way in making sure people knew what must be done in order to succeed.

    Main Event2014-07-02
Found 8 reviews