Main Event Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Main Event Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Main Event CEO Chris Morris
Chris Morris
5 Ratings
  1. "Applicants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Katy, TX
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Family Environment for all.

    Cons

    Cons are based on perception.

    Advice to Management

    Great things are done from strong connections and conversations.

    Main Event2019-07-25
  2. "Run far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My direct manager was awesome

    Cons

    Kept awful employees in exchange for good ones. Most of the support center left, should tell you something. They are backstabbing and hypocritical. If I could leave no stars, I would. On top of everything else, you're expected to work awful hours, with no work-home life balance. They haven't learned yet that overworking creates less productivity. They care more about the bottom line and what they are saving by not... hiring more good managers. They also extended their hours for the entire company. They don't care that it's costing more to keep most centers open, end in the end, they made $100. Avoid this company at all cost. They will suck the life out of you, then spit in your face.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your good employees, you know, the ones who actually do work. Get rid of the bottom feeders who suck the positivity out of the centers. They are the ones that create a hostile work environment.

    Main Event2019-10-10
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "HIGH TURNOVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Game card which allows you to play games for free.

    Cons

    Main Event is currently going through perpetual changes at the leadership level. This has greatly impacted the Support Center as the direction of the company turns as leaders continue to be substituted. Current CEO is overwhelmed, absent and often displaced as pressure to improve the company balance sheet mounts. The Corporate Office currently boasts a turnover rate 10X greater than the national average primarily... due to poor Management, benefits, perks and dire outlook. Great transitional company if your desperate and need a landing spot, but not a long term opportunity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge and appreciate the Support Center employees. Understand what it means to be a people first organization. You rely on the Support Center to service the field. If you pour more into the Support Center it will carry over to the field which will inevitably touch your customers. Quit thinking Customer first and start making your employees a priority specifically Support Center.

    Main Event2019-07-28
  5. "Wish I had found this job sooner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, Fun, Teamwork, Fun, Benefits, Fun, fast growing company... and Fun

    Cons

    Growing pains as a newer company

    Advice to Management

    Keep putting the team and guest first

    Main Event2019-06-08
  6. "Exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 

    I worked at Main Event full-time

    Pros

    Good money, fun environment

    Cons

    Not much support from upper management

    Advice to Management

    Offer more support

    Main Event2019-02-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very family oriented. Cares about employees.

    Cons

    Always changing. Never the same.

    Main Event2018-10-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Human Reaources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is the worst job I have held in my many year career. The people in HR are divided and backstab each other. They are fake and plastic and I would never recommend this workplace to anyone.

    Cons

    This is the most divisive team I have ever worked on. The people are toxic and so afraid to get into trouble nothing gets done. The old cHRO needed to go which was a welcome change by so many. Others that she brought need to follow her to her next spot. Then maybe the HR team can pull things together.

    Advice to Management

    Do skip levels.

    Main Event2018-06-26
  9. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Health insurance is great, flexible hours, fun environment

    Cons

    Late nights, open 365, must work weekends

    Advice to Management

    Since we are growing so fast all the old faces who brought this company to be what is today have been left in the dust. Must be at a new location for advancement

    Main Event2017-12-07

    Main Event Response

    December 27, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for leaving your review and we sure appreciate the loyalty you have given Main Event! We hope that you reach out to your DM to discuss in detail your career advancement!

  10. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of support from management. Short shifts. Great benefits

    Cons

    Micro managing from corp. Alot of playing favorites when promotions come up. HR is way too involved

    Advice to Management

    Dont lose your culture. Look at the original 9 to maintain the way.

    Main Event2017-06-09
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is nothing good to say.

    Cons

    Worst job I've ever had. Constant lies. Constantly told to lie to staff to get the job done. Constantly lied to about every single thing, including the fact that this company is in serious turmoil and they are desperately trying to keep it a secret. This location had over 150 employees when it opened and 8 managers when it opened on April 17th. It currently has less than 50 employees and 3 managers left 2 months... later. That should tell you all you need to know. They do not give breaks on time or at all. DO NOT work here! It will only lead to disappointment. They have no sales and will make you do jobs that are outside of your work discription and will not pay you for it. They had us managers tell people they would get referral bonuses for people getting hired and never paid them. This is a company that will get what they want at all costs and screw you over to get it. I am ashamed that I fell for thier lies and got people hired under false pretenses. I cannot stress enough that you should avoid this place at all costs. The company will not be around in 3 years anyway. Look it up for yourself. The parent company is Ardent, if you do your research you will find out for yourself. Stay away!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop the lies.

    Main Event2017-06-27

    Main Event Response

    July 7, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    We appreciate your thoughts and opinions regarding your experience here at Main Event. It is our hope that we have strong managers who can turn around such a negative experience. We would hope that anyone would go to HR with concerns and questions should they not be getting what they need from their immediate supervisors.

    Show Less
Found 67 reviews