Main Event Party Host Reviews | Glassdoor

Main Event Party Host Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Main Event CEO Chris Morris
Chris Morris
1 Ratings
  1. "Party Host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Party Host in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere with positive vibes only

    Cons

    There are no cons that I have for main event

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what they are doing !

    Main Event2019-08-06
  2. "Pretty Good, but what do you expect?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Party Host 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Scheduling, big potential upside for tips

    Cons

    Just a basic job.. pretty bad

    Main Event2019-06-27
  3. "Not bad if you're a Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Party Host in Avon, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Decent pay for a student - Not too many hours (good if you're a busy person) - Shifts were all after school/weekend

    Cons

    - Shifts weren't always stable, getting a schedule change a few days before the shift wasn't uncommon - Not too many hours (bad if you need money, but you can cross-train and pick up hours elsewhere, so this isn't much of a problem) - Management can be unhelpful if you're having a problem

    Advice to Management

    Be more consistent with your instructions

    Main Event2019-01-02
  4. "Party Host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Party Host in Newark, DE

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 50% off food, games, etc ( the best part ) - Meeting kids and being able to give them a nice birthday

    Cons

    - MANAGERS/SUPERVISORS - The consistent change of rules within departments - The lack of help from other departments

    Main Event2019-01-02
  5. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Birthday Party Host in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Playful and a good discount on food and activities

    Cons

    Drama, Drama, and More Drama.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like they matter.

    Main Event2017-10-25

    Main Event Response

    October 31, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review. We hope that you feel able to communicate with the employee hotline. We strive to foster a safe environment and hire and train people to treat everyone with respect.

  6. "Great Job for teens in school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Party Host in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mostly weekend hours, perfect for students going to school during the week and to earn a little money on the side, great people (depends on location), free video games and half off everything else.

    Cons

    Management kind of sucks, Pay is alright if you get a lot of parties, no room to grow, just party host and supervisor if you work hard and long enough. Strict rules on dress codes and facial hair, tattoos, hair color, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better with employees, loosen rules, very strict

    Main Event2017-08-28

    Main Event Response

    August 30, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your response and feedback. We do listen to these comments and have since let up on the facial hair dress code and do allow facial hair! Keep up the awesome work you're doing and there's no reason for you not to grow with us like others have!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "management doesn't care about you, you are always under appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Party Host in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    coworkers are fun and helpful there's never a dull moment and if you need a hand there's almost always one to help

    Cons

    stressful, lack of management concern, customers complain to see a manager that can never be found and at the end of the day things out of your control fall on your shoulders

    Advice to Management

    Care

    Main Event2017-06-26

    Main Event Response

    July 7, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    We appreciate your review . Thank you for taking time to leave your thoughts and experience. We are excited to hear that you're working in a fun and exciting culture! We continue to train and stress a caring environment to trickle down from top down.

  8. "Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Party Host in Frisco, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty strong relationships with coworkers in the same department; pretty good tips

    Cons

    Rude customers; tension between departments; management did not have control over the workplace; games always broken

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and treat them with more respect

    Main Event2016-08-20
  9. "Okay for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Party Host in Grapevine, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event

    Pros

    Fun, employees were nice. Different than most high school jobs, so that was cool. Met lots of nice people as a party hostess.

    Cons

    Never felt like management would back us up if we made a mistake. Low pay, too. Because we earned tips, but as a hostess, it was pretty weird. They described it one way when I was hired. Then they changed it, apparently.

    Advice to Management

    Stick by your employees. I get it, it's customer service style. But so many are high schoolers that get in over their head, so a little support would be nice.

    Main Event2016-03-31
  10. "Party Hosting is fun. But the employees are rude and not worth it. Because there all in high school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Party Host in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seeing the birthday child extremely happy. Watching the parents watch the kids be so happy. Smiling because your so happy. I

    Cons

    Cleaning is a pain. Employees I hate. They don't help you with anything. They except you to help and you don't get anything back

    Advice to Management

    Some managers are jerks. But then others will back you up no matter what.

    Main Event2015-08-20
Found 14 reviews