Main Event Party Hostess Reviews | Glassdoor

Main Event Party Hostess Reviews

Updated May 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Main Event CEO Chris Morris
Chris Morris
2 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Party Hostess 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sweet people enjoyable work process

    Cons

    Pay isn’t very high at all

    Advice to Management

    Great manager

    Main Event2019-05-31
  2. "Good money, poor hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Party Hostess in Lewisville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at Main Event is fun and the environment is very friendly. The managers are understanding about asking off days. The tips are very good.

    Cons

    The hours aren't always the best since the amount of party's booked isn't definite.

    Main Event2018-12-08
  3. "main event review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Party Hostess 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great staff and good food

    Cons

    hectic work environment, short breaks

    Main Event2018-12-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "good HS job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Party Hostess in Grapevine, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is based on your performance in parties - so if you do well you’ll get paid well

    Cons

    Not a career job by any means

    Main Event2018-07-14
  5. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Party Hostess 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Main Event part-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, flexible work hours, never monotonous

    Cons

    biased management (people who didn't do their job wouldn't get fired if they were favored), stressful, many people's first jobs (didn't know how to be professional or mature in relationships with other workers), gossipy environment

    Advice to Management

    Overbooking the rooms available and leaving little time in between parties to make rooms presentable stresses out your workers. Having personal bias and favor towards those who don't do their jobs makes it more stressful for the other workers as they have to pick up the slack.

    Main Event2017-09-15

    Main Event Response

    October 31, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We try to find a balance between booking parties while allowing time to re-stage. Some efforts are continuously being worked on. We're disappointed that you're no longer with us.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Party Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Party Hostess in Albuquerque, NM

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible scheduling -Good job for high school students/good as a first job -Decent employee discounts -Cool coworkers

    Cons

    -Pay is way to low for the amount of work you have to do. Tips are too inconsistent to justify such a low hourly wage. -Party Hosts are probably the most mistreated employees. It's hard to get along with the other departments. -Hectic environment. Sometimes parties can be a nightmare to deal with, especially when parents are rude or kids don't listen. - Hours are inconsistent. You can have a full day of three... parties one weekend to only having one party the next. -High turnover rate

    Show More
    Main Event2017-06-02

    Main Event Response

    June 5, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    We appreciate you taking time to leave your feedback! Being in the family industry we strive to make things as consistent and smooth as possible, however, people are unpredictable, especially when dealing with birthday parties and events where emotions are higher. We are disappointed to hear that you were made to feel mistreated. We have taken steps to get more people from HR do check-ins and hope that team members will express any concerns on the front end. Thank you for everything that you are doing for us!

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Multiple Departments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Party Hostess in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on the food free game cards for your family and basically the discounts that they offer for the employees that's about all and the virtual reality and that was only at the Orlando location .

    Cons

    This is one of the worst companies to start off at least the one in Orlando is . They hire you making you think is one way when it's really going to be another they take advantage of the minors. Only way you advance in the company is if you're white that's the honest to God truth. The party host are underpaid and under appreciated . If you're not paying attention and counting up your hours then they were... definitely stiff you On your money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to be more considerate of people in their personal lives especially when it comes to servers who have children and you have them opening and closing back to back. Find genuine managers and not the ones that just like to put on a fake face. Stop treating your mind is like their slaves and incompetent.

    Main Event2017-06-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I WILL NEVER GO THERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Party Hostess in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Main Event for less than a year

    Pros

    THERE are some nice people

    Cons

    managers acting like kids, everyone wanna be the boss, I supposedly work there from oct 2016 to Jan 2017 I've only worked 7 DANG TIMES! and when being asked to be on the schedule NO RESPONDS

    Advice to Management

    GET YOURSELVES TOGETHER

    Main Event2017-04-09

    Main Event Response

    April 25, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate all feedback. We are disappointed to hear about your experience. We hope that you went to your HR team if you felt you could not go to your Management. We encourage all employees to express any concerns immediately for swift action. We hope that you will reconsider and try us out again in the near future!

    Show Less
  9. "Main Event party hostess position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Party Hostess in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Main Event part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, Supportive management, Great benefits

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons.

    Main Event2016-04-20
Found 9 reviews