Main Event "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Main Event Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 466 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Main Event CEO Chris Morris
Chris Morris
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very fun environment, great first job for young teen(in 24 reviews)

  • "great staff, fun place, and with many benefits(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long Hours (8 to 10 hour shifts are the average)(in 28 reviews)

  • "high school drama and random rumors(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Exhausting work for low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bowl Desk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job to get into

    Cons

    Long hours, constantly on your feet

    Main Event2019-09-11
  2. "Very fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Main Event part-time

    Pros

    Fun Good perks Good first job Chance for advancement You pick your own hours

    Cons

    Favoritism Staff relationships Long hours occasionally Short staffed You pick your own hours

    Advice to Management

    Do more fun things for you employees to improve morale.

    Main Event2019-07-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Stressful Serving. Wonderful Sales!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Coordinator/Server in Humble, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible Hours - School Tuition reimbursement (really nice if you're in college) Each year you work with the company, the rates of which you'll receive reimbursement will increase slightly - Fast-paced environment - Do not have to tip out to others at the end of your shift (but you should tip out a few dollars to team service/food runners because they'll become loyal to you for it) - Radios used for easy... & effective communication between staff members - Moving up in the company is encouraged and fun to work towards - If you are promoted to working the banquets, you can make $100-$300 in gratuity alone - VP and higher-ups will come visit your store location and they're very friendly and will go out of their way to smile and say hello and ask about your work experience - Romantic Workplace relationships are very common here (awe, cute) and as long as you treat your significant other equal in regards to all other employees, you both (together or separately) can move up in the company without issue (Sometimes the other person in the relationship Will have to move to a different Main Event location; it Really depends on a lot of different factors)

    Show More

    Cons

    NCO training was not very thorough - Long Hours (8 to 10 hour shifts are the average) - Aching feet - Slow business weekdays during the school year - It's easy for guests to walk-out when you're serving on the bowling lanes - Tips will be a bit less because guests want to spend their money on other activities and don't prioritize wait staff - No breaks on weekends -The only time you can take a break is if... business is slower - Oftentimes you get off work later than you're scheduled (I dont mind staying, but this can be a big problem for others) - High-stress job - Guest complaints Will happen & sometimes the situation will be out of your control (food coming out late from the kitchen, food not tasting right, food temp) - Work-life balance is hard when you work full-time - Staying and closing until 2 - 4 AM on weekends & Mondays (during Summer) - Must cover all tattoos and piercings and only natural hair colors are allowed - High-turnover rate in the service department

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide MUCH better NCO training / training in general!!! Continue encouraging employees in getting promoted Continue the teamwork mentality Continue to care about your employees!!! Why did I clock in as a peak server when it is not peak hours? Every Single Corporate worker NEEDS to work in the center at least Once to learn the in's and out's of the struggles/issues that arise while working here They... aren't aware of issues that Operations faces on a daily basis

    Show More
    Main Event2019-02-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "CAUTION: Very Negative Environment to Work In"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health benefits, 401k, paid time off, every day is different

    Cons

    Not a team work atmosphere, sales and operations very split, No support from upper management, changing procedures with very little communication, long hours

    Advice to Management

    This is a growing company but more emphasis on making money than taking care of employees. The teams that work at the center level should have support to and guidance to work together vs. against each other. If you take care of your employees, the profits will follow. There also needs to be a clear path for promotional opportunities in all departments. If you want to keep your people, they need to see... opportunity for growth from within. Pay your salary commission employees equally, if earned. Operations Managers get to reap the benefits when the sales department still comes right under their goals. Operations managers control how the sales department gets paid. If they provide bad service to a guest, and write off money for the guest, the sales department gets dinged. If you are going to change procedures, the team managers at the centers need to know right away. Often times we'd find out from our website or a guest who calls in before information was communicated to staff. This company is so unorganized administratively in every area. I feel that organization is more important than growth. Practice what you preach. The company has great values! The culture within doesn't match that.

    Show More
    Main Event2018-06-09

    Main Event Response

    June 12, 2018Social Media Marketing

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disappointed that your experience as our team member was not rewarding. We desire for each employee to receive support and rewarding opportunities throughout their experience at M.E. Our career advancement opportunities are available to all employees.

    Show Less
  5. "Work in progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Experience working in the Entertainment aspect of Hospitality - Getting to work with a large staff - Flexible hours

    Cons

    - Working long hours every weekend - Slow weekdays

    Advice to Management

    Communication between management and staff could be improved, but we just got a new GM and I am seeing a great improvement already.

    Main Event2018-05-02

    Main Event Response

    May 10, 2018Social Media Marketing

    Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you are seeing improvements so quickly with your new GM.

  6. "Department Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Main Event full-time

    Pros

    Great people and family to work with

    Cons

    Long hours and pay was not that great

    Main Event2018-04-16

    Main Event Response

    May 10, 2018Social Media Marketing

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you for sharing your concerns with us. We will communicate this information to the appropriate persons for improvement efforts.

  7. "Solid Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Main Event full-time

    Pros

    Easy, Fun, Cool, People, Food

    Cons

    People, Guests, Long Hours, Late Nights

    Main Event2018-01-02
  8. "Games Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Main Event part-time

    Pros

    Employee Discount. Coworkers. Free Drinks on the clock. Paid Lunch. Flexible schedule. Managers are great as well

    Cons

    Late nights and some long hours and stressful customers

    Main Event2017-01-27

    Main Event Response

    February 8, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    We love your review and appreciate you taking the time to leave one! At Main Event our hours of operation are designed to appeal to all ages. We encourage employees to communicate any scheduling concerns directly to their manager. Because of your review, we will ensure that new hires are being made more aware in the interview process that there can be late working hours.

    Show Less
  9. "Awesome Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Attendant in Lewisville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Main Event part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    So many benefits from working here. Plus a ton of opportunities to travel and move forward with the company

    Cons

    Long hours. Mainly working on weekends. Work most major holidays

    Main Event2016-10-25
  10. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Main Event full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Main Event Entertainment is a top destination for people ready to play! Its unique Eat.Bowl.Play. experience features state-of-the-art bowling, multi-level laser tag, high ropes adventure courses, billiards and interactive and virtual video games, with dining experiences ranging from fast-casual to chef-inspired casual and creative cocktails, beer and wine. Pros are: Great People Fun times Good... food Flexible Hours Growing Brand

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours Lots of travel in my role Growing pains Work on Holidays Late nights

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job!

    Main Event2016-09-30
Found 466 reviews