Majestic Star Reviews | Glassdoor

Majestic Star Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Majestic Star CEO Peter Liguori (no image)
Peter Liguori
7 Ratings
  1. "Slot Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gary, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Majestic Star full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Majestic Star is great place to work. I've been with the company for over 10 years and I have been able to work my up to stronger positions throughout the years. This is a great company to showcase your personality while meeting new and interesting people. I have watched all of the departments grow stronger and become more efficient with team work and communication. I always recommend Majestic star as great starting... point for someone interested in breaking into the casino business. This was the first casino I have ever worked for and it never gets boring. I planned on staying for 6 months but stuck around and built a career.

    Show More

    Cons

    Punctuality and dependability is must. The attendance policy can be strict.

    Advice to Management

    Stay open to new ideas and keep looking within the company when advancement opportunities come around. There are team members that can’t wait to become brighter stars.

    Majestic Star2017-04-22
  2. "Okay I guess."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Portage, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Majestic Star full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was lucky to work with some really great people who enjoyed working there.

    Cons

    Managements treatment of employees and lacking the ability to move up with in the company. Most positions are dead ends with no where to move up to.

    Advice to Management

    To listen to its employees and encourage growth with in the company

    Majestic Star2019-06-27
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Host/Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Majestic Star

    Pros

    Easy customer service job. If you are kind and polite with disgruntled customers you can make tips very easily.

    Cons

    There aren’t many cons aside from coworkers and personal issues; those things can be handled as professionals.

    Advice to Management

    Please don’t micromanage/antagonize your coworkers like they are children. We are all adults and should be treated with at least a basic level of respect and you shouldn’t treat your co-workers/team as if they were disposable.

    Majestic Star2019-05-29
  5. "The beginning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Supervisor in Gary, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Majestic Star full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great starting position in a career. This job gives you a chance to learn basic tools to start your career.

    Cons

    Not a place for continual growth

    Majestic Star2018-10-25
  6. "cage cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cage Cashier in East Chicago, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Majestic Star full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    paid weekly, free lunch , restaurants available for lunch

    Cons

    working holidays, management does not care about your life outside of work, horrible management

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers that are qualified,

    Majestic Star2018-09-23
  7. "Casino supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Majestic Star full-time

    Pros

    Co workers were nice people

    Cons

    customers were very rough and rude

    Majestic Star2018-03-27
  8. "Good place to work as long as you are committed to working."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Majestic Star full-time

    Pros

    Weekly pay and they go by senority

    Cons

    Strict attendance policy for those who have trouble being on time.

    Majestic Star2018-01-16
  9. "Ok place to work, met great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Majestic Star full-time

    Pros

    Competition pay, health benefits dental vision, uniforms and some tools provided, free meal during shift at employee lounge. The employees!

    Cons

    Varied shifts, some very intoxicated clients but this comes with the territory along with the second hand smoke and noise.

    Advice to Management

    Before the recruiter hires on an employee be straightforward with the shift and times they will be covering and what days they will have off. Like many other people, there is scheduling hurdles prior obligations in our personal lives that we also want to make sure fits with what you would be requiring of us.

    Majestic Star2017-12-06
  10. "Asst. Slot Technical Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Slot Technical Manager in Gary, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Majestic Star full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people you worked with and the guest are the were the best!

    Cons

    At will company, they can let you go at any time.

    Advice to Management

    Explore internal talent and nurture loyal long time employment. They are your biggest asset.

    Majestic Star2017-03-28
  11. "Fun & Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Majestic Star full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers and management staff have shown themselves to be very friendly and supportive of each other, which in return exemplifies the ease of speaking out any concerns. Career advancement and professional development is also a pro, as upper management prefers promoting from within. Also, their tuition reimbursement is a great benefit to take advantage of for further advancement opportunities or personal... self-improvement. The atmosphere in itself is generally fun, friendly, and upbeat.

    Show More

    Cons

    We're open 24/7, 365, and for those working late night to early morning, it's a little bit more difficult to communicate with operations since we work opposite schedules.

    Majestic Star2017-03-22
Found 29 reviews