Major League Soccer Reviews | Glassdoor

Major League Soccer Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
51%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Major League Soccer President Mark Abbott (no image)
Mark Abbott
22 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Most internships don't seem to turn into full-time positions(in 5 reviews)

  • "There are days where it results in working long hours, but it's relative(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Planner in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Major League Soccer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team. Fun Environment. Positive atmosphere. Managers are open to feedback

    Cons

    Communication between departments was not always smooth.

    Major League Soccer2018-10-31
  2. "Major League Soccer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Major League Soccer full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work in sports

    Cons

    Growing league, which is exciting and challenging

    Major League Soccer2019-08-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Love what you do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Major League Soccer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In my experience, everybody that I worked with loved what they did - working in soccer was an ultimate goal for a lot of us. Therefore, working nights and weekends never felt much like work. Traveling for games and the special events (MLS All-Star and MLS Cup) were always highlights.

    Cons

    Long hours, often working weekends, little pay. Can be difficult to understand your best bet for upward momentum - lots of people likely ahead of you, unless you're willing to leave to force a promotion.

    Continue reading
    Major League Soccer2019-05-16
  4. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Major League Soccer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work with opportunity for growth

    Cons

    management was not always very helpful

    Major League Soccer2019-03-18
  5. "Foot in the Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Trainee in Blaine, MN

    I worked at Major League Soccer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of support all-around. Unique approach to teaching sales, and definitely emphasized a far more useful and personable approach than the used car salesman schtick.

    Cons

    Dorms were kinda sketchy. Very rigorous program. Some technical issues hurt as well.

    Major League Soccer2019-01-10
  6. "Sales Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Trainee in Blaine, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Major League Soccer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    had cool trainees to work with.

    Cons

    Be prepared to make cold calls all day, every day. Management is also trying to get rid of trainees that they do not get along with. Management was also disorganized.

    Major League Soccer2018-12-06
  7. Helpful (11)

    "If Effective Leadership Is Important To You, I Can't Recommend MLS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Major League Soccer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The concept of what MLS puts forth is very attractive... valuing teamwork & diversity of thought, a creative/innovative environment, opportunity for personal growth....

    Cons

    However, after a year here, I have yet to experience any of those values in practice & usually see pretty much the exact opposite. Much depends on who you report to but unfortunately many of my piers compare notes & we have similar concerns/setbacks/frustrations b/c our voices are muted if we present a different point of view than that of our VP's even if we have the same if not more experience. The politics of the organization seem to be centralized around the same core group of people who think similarly & have a long history with the organization. Their camaraderie is tough for newer people with a fresh point of view to penetrate. Taking concerns to HR is said to be welcome however the resolution is often deferred back to the department head (VP/SVP) which is usually where the concern stemmed from in the first place...so it can feel like a cruel cycle. My VP is pretty disconnected from our team, manages by fire drill and operates more with manipulation, pressure & control vs. experience, inspiration & support which in turn makes it tough to respect said VP and to keep team morale in a good place. Junior level staff see things even if I try to shield them & it discourages them from believing our team can ever evolve.

    Continue reading
    Major League Soccer2018-11-11
  8. "Sales Trainee | National Sales Senter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Major League Soccer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing opportunity to learn hands on sales experience in a professional setting. Managers are there to help you learn and give you advice.

    Cons

    Can get very competitive.

    Major League Soccer2018-09-04
  9. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Major League Soccer full-time

    Pros

    Cool place to work and office had perks

    Cons

    No growth and structure to follow

    Continue reading
    Major League Soccer2018-03-26
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major League Soccer full-time

    Pros

    Amazing vacation and holidays. The environment is generally relaxed and there are a lot of different departments to gain insight.

    Cons

    Management is not the best. A lot of managers have been grandfathered in and are not open to new ideas or changing processes.

    Major League Soccer2018-02-16
Found 53 reviews