Major Players Reviews in London, England | Glassdoor

Major Players London Reviews

Updated November 24, 2017
20 reviews

Filter

Filter

London, England (UK)

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Jack Gratton
11 Ratings

20 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "The best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Resourcer in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Resourcer in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Such a welcoming and supportive environment, friendly atmosphere. There is of course hard work but there is a lot of team work.
    Next to Covent Garden, packed full of restaurants and shops
    Nice benefits scheme
    Support and development

    Cons

    No windows but you can always step outside for some fresh air
    Would love more fruit/food options
    Wifi for personal phones could be better

    Major Players Response

    Dec 6, 2017 – chairman

    Thanks for your comments. They reflect what we are trying to achieve so big tick there! Many people talk about trying to achieve a" family" feel to their businesses but that scares me... More


  2. "Working at MP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great training and development, fantastic clients, and a working culture that is hard to beat. Forward thinking and open to change.

    Cons

    No options for flexible working at consultant level

    Major Players Response

    Nov 23, 2017 – chairman

    Great review thank you. MP is such a collaborative environment that flexible working is difficult to offer to everyone. We do however offer it on a case by case basis where we are supporting a... More

  3. "Lovely team to work with! Recommended."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Freelance Grap in London, England (UK)
    Current Freelancer - Freelance Grap in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Have a had a great working relationship as a freelancer for Major Players for just under 4 years now. The recruitment consultants look after me well, but its the whole team, including the backroom staff (finance etc) that also deserve a mention. Always on hand to sort out any issues/problems i have, and very polite about it too! Anyone looking to freelance in London couldn't go wrong with Major Players. I've recommended most of my friends in the creative industry to Major Players, and will continue to do so.

    Cons

    They forgot to invite me to the freelancers party this year!

    Advice to Management

    Special shoutouts to Edie, and Rob in finance - Legends.


  4. "Great levels of employee engagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Employee care, training and development, networking platforms, and structure.

    Working environment is very conducive to personal and professional growth and the senior management is invested in helping you attain your maximum potential.

    Very transparent work culture - every Friday, we get a good snapshot of the business and where the teams are at!

    Cons

    Some big characters out there in the business. Will not suit someone who is shy/introvert

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Major Players Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – chairman

    Great review, thanks for taking the time to post. I agree, introverts need not apply but we do have an incredibly diverse workforce who are all special in their own way.
    thanks
    jx


  5. "MP are still my second family nearly 2 years after having left."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Talent & Director in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Head of Talent & Director in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Major Players full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I've never joined a company and immediately felt a sense of belonging, friendship, community and collective push for success so quickly, and on a constant. Being at Major Players helped me develop professionally but find a second family, a group of mates I still see regularly, and I genuinely enjoyed going into work every day. I was also propelled into a place of unbelievable opportunity by the company, and that's priceless.

    Cons

    It is a high pressure environment at times, as is any recruitment space, although provided you can handle that workspace it's nothing (and I mean nothing) outside of the norm. I found it hard to switch off because I became slightly wedded to my desk and industry. It became a little bit too much like our competitors, which when I joined, it was miles away from (which was the appeal entirely for me and ultimately the reason I think I did OK). I feel like it lost a little of its uniqueness as it grew, though I'm sure this is an inevitable situation.

    Advice to Management

    Remember the reason people come on board and the reason you hired them. Why they are so special and crucial for your team. When staff aren't happy, they don't work like happy people work, and that ultimately impacts the experience of the candidates and the clients who whether we like it or not, we work for. Recruitment gems are hard to come by - do what you can to hold on to the ones you have.

    Major Players Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – chairman

    I'm so proud of this review. We understand that people don't stay in jobs for ever, it's business, but we always want people to leave with the same feelings as this reviewer.
    Thanks
    Jx... More


  6. "Major Players"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Support in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Interesting industry
    Consultants given autonomy
    Good training and development
    Great culture
    Good benefits

    Cons

    Need a few more processes

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Major Players Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – chairman

    On the processes, thanks Jx


  7. "Managing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have been at Major Players for over 6 years and I love it here. It is a great company to work for as they are a well known brand in the creative space and I love the way we do recruitment, which is the Major Players way. We are ethical and it all about finding the best fit, for the client and the candidate. How is it different to any other recruiter I hear you ask? Well, we are all about forging relationships which are lasting ones. We are in to for the long haul...

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons as such so I am just going to write and try and pad it out, I think!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and lots more of it!

    Major Players Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – chairman

    It's all about the relationships with all stakeholders and I'm pleased we seem to be doing it right.
    Thanks for the review. Jx

  8. "Working at Major Players"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great culture, lovely people, they look after you as a company. Rewarded for doing well. Clear guidance and KPIs.

    Cons

    A lot of targets and KPIs. But that's the nature of recruitment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being approachable and transparent.


  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great induction training giving an overview of how the whole business works - what services we offer and how we operate transparently.

    - Amazing culture - created to mirror the digital marketing agency culture - all open plan, people talk, casual dress, music in the background - great buzz when you walk in.

    - Everyone around is happy to help whether it be a director / manager/ consultant or resourcer, if you need help, they are all willing to assist.

    - Room for career progression is definitely available here - with a clear structure for all promotions.

    Cons

    After 2/3 Months - None at all

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!


  10. "Team Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Major Players full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great bunch of people who had a good time and a great laugh

    Cons

    No real business focus and consistent service to clients and candidates was few and fair between.

    Major Players Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – chairman

    Our client and candidate service is an area we are really investing. We use netpromoter to see how we are doing and then act quickly on any areas of concern. Our score has moved to 9 in recent... More


Showing 20 of 35 reviews
Reset Filters