Major Players Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Major Players Reviews

Updated December 12, 2017
34 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Jack Gratton
23 Ratings

34 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Major Players full-time

    Pros

    Gorgeous office, amazing location in Covent Garden

    Cons

    Horrifying leadership, shockingly high turnover of staff

    Major Players Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – chairman

    Wow, it is so disappointing to read this. MP clearly didn't work out for this ex-employee!
    Just on a point of fact, our staff turnover in 2017 is actually 30% which is well below the industry... More


  2. "The best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Resourcer in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Resourcer in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Such a welcoming and supportive environment, friendly atmosphere. There is of course hard work but there is a lot of team work.
    Next to Covent Garden, packed full of restaurants and shops
    Nice benefits scheme
    Support and development

    Cons

    No windows but you can always step outside for some fresh air
    Would love more fruit/food options
    Wifi for personal phones could be better

    Major Players Response

    Dec 6, 2017 – chairman

    Thanks for your comments. They reflect what we are trying to achieve so big tick there! Many people talk about trying to achieve a" family" feel to their businesses but that scares me! Families fight... More

  3. "Working at MP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great training and development, fantastic clients, and a working culture that is hard to beat. Forward thinking and open to change.

    Cons

    No options for flexible working at consultant level

    Major Players Response

    Nov 23, 2017 – chairman

    Great review thank you. MP is such a collaborative environment that flexible working is difficult to offer to everyone. We do however offer it on a case by case basis where we are supporting a... More


  4. "Big in the game"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The team are great to work with. Everyone at Major Players are very welcoming and supportive and help push people to reach their full potential. A very refreshing environment instead of the normal corporate one!

    Cons

    Very social environment. May not be to everybody's liking!

    Major Players Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – chairman

    Thanks for the feedback. I like it!
    Getting the right balance between being sociable and commercial is always a challenge but I would like to think that those who don't want to pull "all-nighters... More


  5. "Challenging but rewarding business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    A business that is built around autonomy and progression. Major Players have grown and gone through, as any business does, changes. However, this business is what you make it. You want to develop a desk, do it. You want to manage, do it. The concept of glass ceilings are quite frankly shattered within an organisation like this.
    The cultural is young and vibrant (which may not be to everyone's taste), however like all businesses we are built on being commercial and successful. We tend to reflect our clients and the social / cultural aspect of the business is testament to that.
    We are fortunate to have a wide range of backgrounds in the business from ex industry, different recruitment businesses to completely different industries all together which makes for a diverse working space.
    Strong senior and consistent leadership team too.

    Cons

    Long hours and hard work if you want to be successful, as this business is based around building something that is your own - shouldn't be a surprise in a sales environment though.
    Quite a young team - which some people may not want.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Major Players Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – chairman

    Great feedback thank you. A good reflection on what I feel we are about.
    Jx


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Major players"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time

    Pros

    Very well known agency, good reputation and as a result very much live clients/candidates. A head above the competition in terms of marketing and the extra support provided for consultants ie support staff

    Cons

    Very stats led, with fairly rigid daily structure which can feel slightly restricting. The monthly verses quarterly based targets can make it more stressful than other environments I've worked in.

    The windowless environment... An office move would be great!

    Advice to Management

    I'd really like to see it becoming more of a quaterly targeted environment verses monthly - I meant his regarding monetary stats not overall stats

    Major Players Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – chairman

    Thanks for your review, I think it was generally positive! I guess on the office front, the pay off of being in a fantastic Covent Garden location is that we don't have that much natural light. Our... More


  7. "Great levels of employee engagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Employee care, training and development, networking platforms, and structure.

    Working environment is very conducive to personal and professional growth and the senior management is invested in helping you attain your maximum potential.

    Very transparent work culture - every Friday, we get a good snapshot of the business and where the teams are at!

    Cons

    Some big characters out there in the business. Will not suit someone who is shy/introvert

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Major Players Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – chairman

    Great review, thanks for taking the time to post. I agree, introverts need not apply but we do have an incredibly diverse workforce who are all special in their own way.
    thanks
    jx

  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time

    Pros

    The people are what make Major Players, working here means you get to meet and work with some amazing characters. There is a great sense of community and everyone is willing to help you succeed. The guidance and expertise I have been lucky to encounter at Major players has helped shaped my career and I am extremely thankful for that.

    Cons

    Absolutely nothing I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep striving to be the best.

    Major Players Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – chairman

    Brilliant review, thanks for taking the time to post. It's our sense of community and career nurturing culture that I'm most proud of.
    Thanks
    Jx


  9. "Company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support
    Current Employee - Support
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Major Players full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great culture and a great team of people in which everyone is fully supportive of each other, from management and within the team. Opportunities to progress if you work hard and lots of benefits/perks available to staff.

    Cons

    Processes could still be better but have vastly improved over the last year.

    Major Players Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – chairman

    I'm really pleased that our investment in processes and systems is making a difference. We have further to go but we are getting there.
    thanks
    Jx


  10. "MP are still my second family nearly 2 years after having left."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Talent & Director in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Head of Talent & Director in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Major Players full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I've never joined a company and immediately felt a sense of belonging, friendship, community and collective push for success so quickly, and on a constant. Being at Major Players helped me develop professionally but find a second family, a group of mates I still see regularly, and I genuinely enjoyed going into work every day. I was also propelled into a place of unbelievable opportunity by the company, and that's priceless.

    Cons

    It is a high pressure environment at times, as is any recruitment space, although provided you can handle that workspace it's nothing (and I mean nothing) outside of the norm. I found it hard to switch off because I became slightly wedded to my desk and industry. It became a little bit too much like our competitors, which when I joined, it was miles away from (which was the appeal entirely for me and ultimately the reason I think I did OK). I feel like it lost a little of its uniqueness as it grew, though I'm sure this is an inevitable situation.

    Advice to Management

    Remember the reason people come on board and the reason you hired them. Why they are so special and crucial for your team. When staff aren't happy, they don't work like happy people work, and that ultimately impacts the experience of the candidates and the clients who whether we like it or not, we work for. Recruitment gems are hard to come by - do what you can to hold on to the ones you have.

    Major Players Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – chairman

    I'm so proud of this review. We understand that people don't stay in jobs for ever, it's business, but we always want people to leave with the same feelings as this reviewer.
    Thanks
    Jx... More


Showing 34 of 35 reviews
Reset Filters