Make-A-Wish Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

Make-A-Wish Foundation Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 206 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Make-A-Wish Foundation CEO Richard K. Davis
Richard K. Davis
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company to work for with a great mission(in 24 reviews)

  • "To top it off, everything we do comes back to our mission of granting life-changing wishes for children with critical illnesses(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Non-profit so interns dont get paid(in 29 reviews)

  • "I have no cons for this internship(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Mission, Wonderful Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fundraiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Make-A-Wish Foundation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture, people work here to make a difference in children's lives. I love the open environment where questions and new ideas are encouraged and feel very supported in my role (Development). Management makes a strong effort to be transparent.

    Cons

    Any workplace has hiccups but overall no major issues that I've experienced.

    Advice to Management

    Glad to be part of this rewarding family, thank you for continuing to put such hard work into strengthening our team!

    Make-A-Wish Foundation2018-12-05
  2. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Outreach Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Make-A-Wish Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team and people here were the best part. Everyone had a great relationship together.

    Cons

    None, would work here again

    Advice to Management

    none

    Make-A-Wish Foundation2019-08-08
  3. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 

    I worked at Make-A-Wish Foundation full-time

    Pros

    great purpose and fun projects

    Cons

    limited upward mobility and conflicts with global offices

    Make-A-Wish Foundation2019-09-13
  4. "Don't be fooled by the mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at Make-A-Wish Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Great mission, very poor management

    Cons

    Abusive behavior my some of management

    Advice to Management

    Clean house and try and undo the mistakes Dave Williams left you with.

    Make-A-Wish Foundation2019-10-05
  5. "OKI is a COMPLETE disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Make-A-Wish Foundation full-time

    Pros

    A good mission and a decent board

    Cons

    This place is a financial and organizational mess. The culture is toxic which creates a ridiculous amount of turnover. Senior leadership is to blame because they don't know how to lead - let alone fundraise, manage people or manage processes. The HR team has no real HR experience to help deal with these issues. Now that the CEO is gone, hopefully the board will be able to get this place back on track.

    Advice to Management

    Check your egos at the door.

    Make-A-Wish Foundation2019-09-12
  6. "Wonderful experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wish Granter in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Make-A-Wish Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet lots of people Knowledgeable staff

    Cons

    Communication Some employees don’t take responsibility

    Make-A-Wish Foundation2019-07-05
  7. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Events Intern 

    I worked at Make-A-Wish Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Great environment, great people, great cause. Loved my time here and was able to learn so much through hands-on experiences

    Cons

    Internships are unpaid (but there is a stipend at the end)

    Make-A-Wish Foundation2019-05-20
  8. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Internship 

    I worked at Make-A-Wish Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly and welcoming. It’s a great feeling getting to help.

    Cons

    It is all office work.

    Make-A-Wish Foundation2019-04-22
  9. "Salary is too low, even for a nonprofit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Development Coordinator in New Haven, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Make-A-Wish Foundation

    Pros

    Very recognizable brand/nonprofit Each chapter is run differently so the culture will depend on where you’re located Good resume builder because of the name

    Cons

    In the Orange County office: micro-managing is a problem, and extremely petty work environment. Even for a nonprofit the salary is extremely low. Very high turnover.

    Make-A-Wish Foundation2019-05-04
  10. "A place of impact and reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Director in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Make-A-Wish Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You have impact, You get to do amazing storytelling with passionate, in a caring environment, you can make a difference in a child's life, a family, community

    Cons

    work a lot of weekends

    Make-A-Wish Foundation2019-03-05
Found 206 reviews