MakeMusic Reviews | Glassdoor

MakeMusic Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
MakeMusic CEO Gear Fisher (no image)
Gear Fisher
8 Ratings
  1. "Amazing culture, people, and benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MakeMusic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    MakeMusic is an incredible company to work for. The culture is genuinely supportive, from my super cool teammates to management all the way up to the C Suite. This is the best manager and team I’ve ever had, which is saying a lot because I’ve had some cool teams over the years. :) People across the org are genuinely kind and want you to succeed. They believe in their products and their people. Everyone has a true... growth mindset, and is excited about new ideas and eager to make improvements with new data. Everyone makes the effort to follow and learn best practices to create the best experiences possible for our customers. MakeMusic has incredible benefits, 5% 401k match, and PTO benefits that encourage longevity by accruing more the longer you’re with the company. They also have insanely cool perks. I love being able to bring Bear and Moose into work with me, and doing yoga at lunch. It’s also been an amazing opportunity to grow as a designer. It’s been awesome being able to learn with the whole creative team that spans across all our companies. Our executive team cares about us so much that they are directly involved in advocating for us and actively participate in our growth. From becoming a mentor to growing designers, a book club with the CCO, executives advocating to purchase tools to help improve our methods and achieve greater results, weekly meetings with other designers to give each other feedback, to the genuine support and helpful and actionable feedback from my manager, I’ve grown more as a designer here than any other company I’ve been a part of. This is something that should be shared in a review. I’ve been with a lot of awesome companies over the years and I’ve never seen a place like this. Joining MakeMusic has been an amazing opportunity for my career. It is a truly amazing place to work and I am very grateful to be here.

    Show More

    Cons

    We are a relatively small company that is always working on improving our methods and processes. Since we’re trying so hard to continually improve and follow best practice, there can be growing pains, but I’d hardly consider that a con. I’ve been blown away by the true growth mindset everyone at this company possesses. With this kind of attitude, we are unstoppable.

    Advice to Management

    Please keep supporting us with all the great benefits and perks you provide like the 5% 401k match, affordable health benefits, fitness reimbursement, health/fitness opportunities, dog policy, professional growth opportunities, and PTO that accrues. These things really do make a difference for retention, and greatly contributed to attracting me to this role. Managers, Executives, C Suite—Thanks for being so good to... us. We do see your efforts and we sincerely appreciate them, and work harder for you because of it.

    Show More
    MakeMusic2019-09-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for and excellent benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MakeMusic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    BENEFITS: 401k, fitness reimbursement, medical/vision/dental, flexible work schedule, bonuses (yearly with discretion), PTO increases as you stay at the company. CULTURE: MakeMusic has a good work/life balance. They operate with a culture of trust and respect. This is great for easily managing other obligations that come your way. It can reduce a lot of stress to have this flexibility. Depending on the department..., there are scheduled work from home days or flexibility to work from home when needed. People form clubs based on interests within the company such as hiking, biking, reading books, and skiing. People genuinely like hanging out with colleagues at work and outside of work. They will help you move, jumpstart your car, and help promote/support your endeavors outside of the office such as attending music shows or races. I can’t say enough positive things about the teams and communities throughout the company. It is like a large family. TALENT: Co-workers are collaborative, talented, and work hard to execute goals together. Promotions, goals/achievements are celebrated. MANAGEMENT: I have worked in various departments within the company. Each manager has cheered me on and given me resources to move to the next position I was passionate about, as well as finding new challenges for me when I reached my goals. If you are willing to work hard and you are passionate about making progress, it is rewarded by management. They meet frequently with you to make sure you have what you need and to listen to any concerns. PRODUCTS: The products that they deliver are at the top level in the industry and well-known. They are a leader in this area. It is also a well established company that provides stability when the software industry can be so volatile. LOCATION: Beautiful Boulder!

    Show More

    Cons

    SALARY: In the past 8 months, upper management has been listening and taking some actions to address employee’s questions and concerns - a major one being salary. Though they do have some nice benefits, MakeMusic's total compensation package is underwhelming. I am glad they are listening to this concern and finding ways to address the salary issues. VISION/GOALS: It has been hard to get consensus on the... company’s long-term vision and goals from the top down. However, I know that they are also focused on addressing this so we can have a clearer strategy together.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to employees and find ways to address these cons because there is so much that is great and special about this company. Keep encouraging employees to grow their skills and continue providing them the resources to do so. Provide a clear vision for the company's success in the future and commit the resources to attract, develop and retain key talent.

    MakeMusic2019-08-14
  3. "Great work post college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Customer Success Representative in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MakeMusic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Thoughtful benefits for musicians, great work environment, supportive community. Started as a contractor for 6 months before becoming a full time employee with benefits. Access to partner company resources and software, training facilities and programs, etc.

    Cons

    Stationary job, lots of working at a desk and short lunch breaks.

    MakeMusic2019-04-10
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great company & a great team but stumbling on vision and products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MakeMusic full-time

    Pros

    Everybody I knew at MakeMusic is smart, driven, and productive. The culture is fun, and managers/executives take good care of their employees for the most part.

    Cons

    Products are old and struggle to keep up with modern competitors. Developers struggle with bloated, dated code. Marketers lack necessary data insights. Company and product strategy lacks a clear vision for improvement or growth, though there is opportunity if the company can adapt to take advantage of it.

    MakeMusic2018-06-28
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Great Benefits, laughable pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MakeMusic full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are absolutely phenomenal. There are free snacks, beer Fridays, profit sharing, and wonderful medical benefits. The benefits and work atmosphere cannot be praised enough.

    Cons

    Being required to have a Bachelor's in a field, especially in a technology company, normally requires a certain level of pay. This company not only does not care about living wage for the state it moved to, but ignores its employees best interests and wonder's why we may not care about its best interests.

    Advice to Management

    According to any hierarchy of needs, if I cannot find a way to put a roof over my head, I am less concerned about free snacks.

    MakeMusic2017-12-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MakeMusic full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful location, nice people, profit sharing.

    Cons

    Management issues and politics get in the way of company progression.

    Advice to Management

    Listen

    MakeMusic2017-08-23
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Parent company's inability to manage growth has lead to disfunction and confusion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MakeMusic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lower level employees (i.e. those doing the actual work) are very passionate, dedicated, and talented.

    Cons

    Management is creating a culture that lacks transparency and clarity in terms of company and product direction. The parent company, Peaksware, has grown a lot in recent years, but through acquisition rather than typical growth. As such they are acquiring brands/technologies that they do not understand as well, and they are trying to apply processes/techniques to domains/products that are different from what they... are used to without acknowledging and recognizing where there might need to be differences. Upper management seems to be trying to manage the company like when it was a much smaller company in that the small executive group are trying to manage the day to day operations of teams rather than empowering middle management and the teams themselves by providing business context and allowing them to work towards that. Not surprisingly the executives do not have the time for this micro-management, and so teams are left with unclear direction and middle management are left questioning their purpose/role since they have little authority and are left out of the loop in terms of where things are supposed to be headed. Pointing this out or questioning direction and lack of transparency is not looked favorably on by the tight knit upper management group, and even high level key stakeholders from the sub companies are excluded from strategy and planning sessions relating to their products. Additionally, the company takes advantage of the fact that employees are drawn to the company because of the product domain of each brand (musicians at MakeMusic, athletes at TrainingPeaks, etc.), and so compensation is below average, especially for junior level employees (interns and interns who are converted to full time employees are paid very little and there is very little effort to correct this as these employees demonstrate growth). This seems to be a conscious strategy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Transparency and open conversations with employees would be a place to start.

    MakeMusic2017-03-18

    MakeMusic Response

    March 22, 2017Chief Human Resources Officer

    As an organization we accept that in the case of this former employee, it was a failure on our part by promoting someone to a management position who lacked the basic people skills necessary to be an effective manager. We simply made a mistake by not recognizing a significant lack ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Merged & Moved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MakeMusic full-time

    Pros

    The culture was the best I've ever experienced.

    Cons

    Company moved out of state.

    MakeMusic2016-03-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MakeMusic full-time

    Pros

    Good product, good lower level employees

    Cons

    Not much mutual respect, moved company

    Advice to Management

    More clarity

    MakeMusic2016-03-02
  10. "Great atmosphere, great products, great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MakeMusic full-time

    Pros

    MakeMusic is a place where you can be yourself, be heard and have confidence that your opinion matters. Great supportive and visionary management team who are positive and open to new ideas and who will admit when they are wrong.

    Cons

    The company owner is an activist investor so big changes can occur.

    MakeMusic2015-08-21
Found 23 reviews