Makita U.S.A. Reviews | Glassdoor

Makita U.S.A. Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Hiroshi Okamoto
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "One of the best power tool companies, if not THE BEST, in the industry(in 4 reviews)

  • "The only pro is connecting with customers and discussing great products(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "So, because of how controlling marketing is the upper management team’s hands are tied and this is where the(in 11 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic Company in many ways!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Wilmer, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Makita U.S.A. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really good group of people in all locations who work together as a team; good management; opportunity for growth; excellent benefits; care about their employees.

    Cons

    I am hard put to come up with any cons. Everyone I have worked with at Makita has been exceptional and I've been here 7 years. GREAT group of people across the United States and Japan (that's all I've met although I know we are in a number of other countries, too.)

    Advice to Management

    Keep in mind that your greatest and strongest asset are your employees so keep developing that asset!

    Makita U.S.A.2018-09-07
  2. "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Makita U.S.A. full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Great Product. Best in class!!

    Cons

    Terrible upper level management. Not great training. Not honest. Run this company by intimidating staff. Time for a refresh in thinking loose 35% plus of sales team per year. Why do you think you have a job opportunity. Stay Away!!

    Advice to Management

    Build a team. Worst turnover in the industry.

    Makita U.S.A.2019-04-17
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Wasted Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in La Mirada, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Makita U.S.A. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quality products, excellent benefits, great reputation with customers

    Cons

    Management is toxic. No praise and it feels like management is working against you instead of with you. It feels like management tries to find or create negatives. Instead of building you up they put you down. Absolutely zero training when you start, then you get in trouble if you make a mistake. We've been told by management that they don't want to hear about a lack of training. And don't bother going to HR, that will...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Develop a standard operating procedure for new hires don't just throw people out there to sink or swim. Train your management team.

    Makita U.S.A.2019-03-05
  4. "Territory Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Makita U.S.A.

      Pros

      Great benefits, Top Shelf products made from high quality.

      Cons

      Manage from a posture of intimidation.

      Advice to Management

      Involve your subordinates more in decision making and don’t use the word “team” so flippantly.

      Makita U.S.A.2019-02-20
    • "Great product, questionable growth strategy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Detroit, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Makita U.S.A. full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      You are selling a great product, amazing innovativion by the product team. Employees are treated well-company vehicle is an added perk. Insurance and other benefits are top notch.

      Cons

      The company as a whole seems to have very little idea on how to grow and gain market share. Growth plans are short and the executive management team seems to content with being third or fourth in the market. Also, very limited opportunities to advance within th company.

      Advice to Management

      Get aggressive!!! The tools are the best in class!

      Makita U.S.A.2019-01-24
    • Helpful (4)

      "Depressing environment. No employee appreciation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marketing 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Makita U.S.A. full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Pay is decent, ok benefits.

      Cons

      Micromanagement! No employee appreciation. Upper management rules by fear not by true leadership. Building is always cold literally and metaphorically. There is a real sense of dread and sadness throughout the office. No one seems happy to be there.

      Advice to Management

      Let your employees do their jobs. Give them the freedom to be the professionals you hired! Provide the right tools to succeed. And show your employees that they are true assets to the success of the business.

      Makita U.S.A.2019-01-19
    • Helpful (2)

      "Too much office politics"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Data Analyst in La Mirada, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Makita U.S.A. (Less than a year)

      Pros

      - Friendly and nice people. - They manufacture cool stuff.

      Cons

      - Too much work politics. Everyone is connected with everyone. - No room to grow. - Doesn't care about the employee. If you are sick, they hardly want to give you days off. Plus it's unpaid.

      Advice to Management

      Hire people that are smart and invest in people. Employ more diverse group of people and challenge them with work.

      Makita U.S.A.2019-01-16
    • Helpful (3)

      "Extremely Dissapointing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Lawrenceville, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Makita U.S.A. full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Hours and pay are pretty decent.They are all for nothing though.

      Cons

      Worked here and thought it was impressive but i started working.I fully regret getting this job and wasting my time.I would work extremely hard and always doing what the supervisor told us to do.I did everything they wanted.I decided to leave as they let people go for not doing the job right?The people did everything they were supposed to do.They say your doing it right then they release you the next day?Many people quit...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please show some care and dont say they are doing there job and then turn on them the next day.You say this job will change your future but it does nothing but makes me dissapointed.If they could treat workers with value then the place would be way better.

      Makita U.S.A.2019-01-10
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Makita U.S.A. full-time

      Pros

      Great environment, and very interesting jobs/challenges

      Cons

      Lagging behind in innovatiotion and needs to invest for up to date resources

      Advice to Management

      Keep pushing for newer tech, software and other resoirces

      Makita U.S.A.2018-08-06
    • Helpful (2)

      "A small positive work environment that fosters growth, continuing education, and proud workmanship."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Service and Repair Technician in Portland, OR
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Makita U.S.A. full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The hours are great M-F 8-430. 12 paid holidays. Small, close knit work environment. Potential for $4000 yearly bonus based on successful completion of company goals outlined in rubric: Average of $1200-2000 yearly bonus accomplished.

      Cons

      Upward mobility is slow. My guess is that no service tech makes more than $20/hr even after decades of employment.

      Advice to Management

      Add pre-tax commuter benefit. Rethink wage tiers especially as minimum wage rises across the country. I make $15/hr and minimum wage here in Portland, Oregon is currently at $11.25 and scheduled to increase to $12.00 on July 1, 2018.

      Makita U.S.A.2018-06-24
    Found 70 reviews