Makosi Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Makosi CEO Darren Isaacs (no image)
Darren Isaacs
37 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons that I can think of(in 5 reviews)

  • "I would not consider the company to be the type of consulting firm you think it may be(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The experience was great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Makosi

    Pros

    Makosi provides a great opportunity to learn and grow in a short period of time. The secondment was a great experience.

    Cons

    None. The secondment was great!

    Makosi2019-03-20
  2. "Stay Away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Makosi full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros to mention.

    Cons

    Low pay, management has no clue what they are doing.

    Makosi2020-02-25

    Makosi Response

    April 9, 2020CEO

    This is strange. We haven’t had a concierge work at makosi for over 3 years. I’m quite sure you’re not a current or former employee. Either way, I’d be happy to chat to understand your experience with us.

  3. "Work Enviroment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Makosi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good if you have a good project

    Cons

    They won't support you when your project ends

    Makosi2019-06-07
  4. "Secondment with Makosi"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Temporary Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Makosi part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Makosi team is super friendly, helpful and considerate every step of the way. The secondment program is definitely something that everyone should consider post articles. Overall, I had a lovely experience being a part of the Makosi family!.

    Cons

    No cons. I had a good experience with the Company

    Makosi2019-03-13
  5. "The onboarding process was excellent. The team is very interactive and resolved an issue promptly."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Finance Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Makosi

    Pros

    Team interaction, support for me and my career goals, and including me in improving benefits etc for the team:)

    Cons

    There are none so far!

    Continue reading
    Makosi2019-02-21
  6. "INCREDIBLE company that fosters professional AND personal growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Makosi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. The company centers itself around 4 Core Values (Do Everything with Heart, Never Give Up, Always Improving, Get Your Hands Dirty) instead of greediness. One of the things I loved about Makosi from Day 1 is their team mentality. The staff is very close-knit, and every person in the company - no matter the job title - is treated with respect. I've never been part of a company where I felt truly valued and cared for. The company is selective about their employees because they only hire people who will benefit both the company both is terms of profit as well as company culture. To Makosi, if someone has a stellar business background, but lacks the company's Core Values (in other words, if a person is good for the company's profitability but not the Makosi team), then that person is not a good fit for Makosi. The people on the Makosi team encourage, motivate, push, and help each other. Having employees who all live-out their Core Values day in and day out truly makes all the difference in the world in team functionality, and thus company success. It was a privilege to work for Makosi. The only reason we parted ways was because the company presented me with an opportunity for a management level position with an affiliated company. I think this is a testament to Makosi's investment in the growth and success of their employees as well as their belief in promoting from within. The work life balance is superb. They respect the fact that employees have personal lives in addition to their professional ones. I cannot say enough good things about the company. When I was interviewing for a Recruiter position, I thought the company seemed too good to be true. However, I can say that they practice what they preach, and the company BEYOND exceeded my expectations.

    Cons

    The only reason I could foresee someone not enjoying working for Makosi would be if that person was looking for an easy 9-5 job and not career-driven. Recruitment is not for the faint of heart so even though Makosi is an incredible company, if you don't have a tenacious spirit and a drive/want to do well, then this business (not just Makosi) isn't a good fit.

    Continue reading
    Makosi2019-01-16
  7. "AVP"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in New York, NY
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Makosi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You can negotiate your daily rate - Someone else is searching for your next job but your next job is not guaranteed - Don't have to report to anyone except the client you are working for

    Cons

    - I would not consider the company to be the type of consulting firm you think it may be. You are basically and external contractor for the company that is considered to be your "client" - Not sure how serious they take your signed contract

    Continue reading
    Makosi2018-11-30
  8. "Great company culture and support from all levels of team."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Makosi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Makosi has made me feel at home and supported since day one. They really go above and beyond to check in with their employees to ensure we are happy and if they can do anything to make it better. It is nice to get one on one talks with the C-level management asking what they can do or your opinion on things.

    Cons

    Nothing that relates to the company.

    Continue reading
    Makosi2018-08-08
  9. "Keep up the good work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Finance 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Makosi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours are great and team is very supportive and goal oriented.

    Cons

    Greta leadership and treat it as if it's your own business is critical to work in a company you want to grow in and this company does just that so no cons.

    Makosi2018-08-08
  10. "Associate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Makosi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This has been the most supportive team I have ever had the opportunity to work with/for. The Owners have been very involved and incredibly helpful with my progress since Day One. There is an open forum to provide constant feedback and the emphasis that is placed on both personal And professional growth is refreshing. The ability to grow as a professional is the best I have experienced thus far in my professional career.

    Cons

    None to speak of at the moment.

    Continue reading
    Makosi2018-03-27
Found 49 reviews