Managed Health Care Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

Managed Health Care Associates Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
71%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Managed Health Care Associates President Michael J. Sicilian (no image)
Michael J. Sicilian
30 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They keep hiring new VP's to 'help the company grow' but the organization is already top heavy and they won't listen to new ideas anyway(in 8 reviews)

  • "Many employees come and go quite frequently, mostly because of the low pay and miniscule pay "raises"(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, a nice company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Business Intelligence Developer in Florham Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Managed Health Care Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, coworkers became quick friends, small enough company to make a difference, etc.

    Cons

    Top heavy management, pay wasn't very competitive while I was there

    Managed Health Care Associates2019-03-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to start your career, recent graduates most welcome, and if you want to work in relax environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Florham Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Managed Health Care Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No work pressure, relaxing environment, some technology they are working on are outdated, interview was not that complex.Remote flexibility for full time employees 1 day a week, flexible work hours, you can roam around during lunch breaks

    Cons

    Less pay, lack of opportunity to grow within an organization, average benefits, no bonus, very high turnover, people come and start gossiping about new opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Employees should be paid enough to reduce high turnaround ratio. Better employees should be given an opportunity Instead of letting them go.

    Managed Health Care Associates2019-07-26
  3. "Good stepping stone but need improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reconciliation Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Managed Health Care Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was there for almost 2 years and this is what I took away: Great steeping stone for recent grads. It’s a smaller company so you have a lot more exposure then you would at a bigger company especially starting off in your career which leads you being involved in a lot of projects/meetings. You can learn a lot in a short time about yourself and your interests. When the company is filled with young employees and... all they want is growth and better pay, its hard to improve the culture and boost morale when it’s a rotating door. But still, they’ve tried to implement some changes like summer hours and causal dress. Very much a 9-5 so if that’s what you want, this is the place.

    Show More

    Cons

    Extremely high turnover rate. Everyone is looking to leave. Everyone on a team of 8, all 8 left within 1.5 years. Very top heavy. Barely any bonus or raise Lateral growth is the only option unless you’re in sales Pay was terrible when I was there although I’ve heard this is slightly improved My advise: If you’re going to work there, make the best of it and absorb all the information and skills that you... can and move on to better places.

    Show More
    Managed Health Care Associates2019-03-20
  4. "Improvement needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Managed Health Care Associates

    Pros

    -the people I worked alongside -certain upper management is willing to try to help you succeed -good stepping stone right out of college

    Cons

    -not much room to grow -older technology -salary is much below what others make at the same level/position elsewhere

    Advice to Management

    As mentioned, this is a good company to work for right out of college. It’s an introduction to the “corporate world” but is a lax environment as well. My advice to management is to allow employees that’s are currently working at the company to grow. The “higher” level positions are taken my outside people. I understand that is needed at times however, why not allow for current employees to grow within the company... as well? I’ve seen it happen just a handful of times, where people have grown however, it really requires the employee to push for the growth, rather than management pushing for that employee to grow. It’ll also decrease the large turnover rate that MHA experiences.

    Show More
    Managed Health Care Associates2019-03-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Florham Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Managed Health Care Associates for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Outstanding organization and outstanding leadership

    Cons

    Occasionally should have greater clarity re: strategic projection

    Managed Health Care Associates2019-01-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Personal Account rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Par in Florham Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Managed Health Care Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are amazing. This is definitely a company that is great for a first job. You will definitely develope your career skills and learn as much you can.

    Cons

    Pay isn’t really that great

    Managed Health Care Associates2018-06-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Developing Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Florham Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Managed Health Care Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company has transformed substantially in the past 3 years since I started. Management has placed an emphasis on company perks such as Summer Hours, Year Round Casual Dress, and Management Training. Work life balance is great and not a culture where you are plugged in 24/7.

    Cons

    Technology improvements can be made to improve efficiency and productivity.

    Advice to Management

    You can never have too much training and overall communication.

    Managed Health Care Associates2018-05-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Absolutely fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Sparta, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Managed Health Care Associates full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great management. Great culture. Work hard and you will be rewarded. Plenty of opportunity to grow and be promoted within the organization if you prove yourself

    Cons

    Pay a little low but if you work hard you will be rewarded. Not too many cons to tell you the truth

    Advice to Management

    Pay everyone a little more

    Managed Health Care Associates2018-05-12
  9. "Company wants to grow but has ignores certain important thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Managed Health Care Associates full-time

    Pros

    nice people in management positions

    Cons

    communication could be better between departments

    Managed Health Care Associates2018-03-16
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Just checking in..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Managed Health Care Associates full-time

    Pros

    It's a stepping stone that will allow you to find other opportunities. That's honestly it.

    Cons

    Has a near 100% turnover rate since the end of 2016.. let me repeat that... nearly a ONE HUNDRED PERCENT TURNOVER RATE in the operations department.. if I had to guess, overall turnover is something around 30-40%). People quit left and right or simply talk constantly about quitting. -No real bonus structure.. how they even manage to get new employees is beyond me -Raises/median salary is a joke.. in the year or... so since I've left, I've nearly doubled my salary -No real benefits -The level of micromanagement is obscene.. talk about people who take themselves too seriously. You can be doing your work perfectly well yet still catch flack because you were seen using your cell phone or were at lunch too long. Um.. how old are we again? This kind of stuff doesn't happen at real companies. Trust your employees. If they're doing their work, leave them alone. You pay a crap salary with no benefits and treat your employees like children yet sit there befuddled over your extreme turnover rate -The best speech we ever got to address turnover was from a director of operations.. they let us know how "the grass isn't always greener on the other side." Golly, how encouraging! Management is out of touch since none of them have had real job experience outside of MHA.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Rip up your entire rule book and adopt a more progressive style of management. Don't baby and micromanage your employees because it will make them resent you and they will all quit as you continue to see time and time again.

    Managed Health Care Associates2017-11-16
Found 54 reviews