Management Development Institute of Singapore Reviews | Glassdoor

Management Development Institute of Singapore Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Management Development Institute of Singapore CEO Eric Kuan Choon Hock
Eric Kuan Choon Hock
9 Ratings
  1. "Most 4 or 5 ratings are fake!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Management Development Institute of Singapore full-time

    Pros

    Shuttle bus service from mrt station.

    Cons

    - Super bad company culture because of the super terrible management people. Management only communicate with people by scolding and shouting. - No respect to employee. The whole company listen to one person only. The top management people just do all the best to make that one person happy so they can survive. - Poor in problem solving. Management people only know how to push the ball around when facing problems....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hopeless. Close and reborn.

    Management Development Institute of Singapore2019-02-14
  2. "Alot paperwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Management Development Institute of Singapore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn to be a professional paperwork doer.

    Cons

    Backward and lengthy processes that slowdown efficiency.

    Management Development Institute of Singapore2019-01-04
  3. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Management Development Institute of Singapore full-time

    Pros

    It a good place for work

    Cons

    none if the employee works hard.

    Management Development Institute of Singapore2018-10-27
  4. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Management Development Institute of Singapore full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you know how to be part of family then you are in the right company but if you prefer to have your own pte ltd within department then this company will not suit you

    Cons

    Work as family and you will be fine

    Management Development Institute of Singapore2018-10-22
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away unless you're about to retire or getting started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Management Development Institute of Singapore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are friendly and helpful

    Cons

    Higher management have very little experience in other large educational institutes and as such unaware of how to grow the school with stability. No performance based bonuses creates revolving door of employees. Too many meetings and filing exercises.

    Advice to Management

    Management style needs to step into the 21st century.

    Management Development Institute of Singapore2018-11-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Pdm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PdM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Management Development Institute of Singapore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None to deserve even writing something

    Cons

    Full of insecure managers, esp the foreigner manager who thinks she is indispensable.

    Advice to Management

    Grow up

    Management Development Institute of Singapore2018-11-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Need changes in management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Management Development Institute of Singapore

    Pros

    Nothing much to say. Thank you

    Cons

    Need changes in senior management

    Advice to Management

    Nothing much to say

    Management Development Institute of Singapore2018-09-13
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Management Development Institute of Singapore full-time

    Pros

    some good people there but most are useless

    Cons

    micro-management unethical practices unprofessional behaviors full of gossips full of puppets council only listens to bootlickers

    Advice to Management

    Get professionals to manage the place and not run it like a brothel and eliminate corruptions by some unethical council members....they know who they are. One of them made S$7 million during his tenure. Another one is still there and making more than S$10 million

    Management Development Institute of Singapore2018-10-01
  9. "Part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anything Thats Related to Trade Like Sale Buy Exchange Bargain in Tashkent
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Management Development Institute of Singapore part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Since I started working there, I have been excelling my teaching skills and communication skills and As for me human psychology is of an interesting thing to learn so I always try to talk with my students about learning process and also apart from study

    Cons

    In my opinion if you speak you just repeat what you have already learnt but if you listen you may learn something new. And my job is all about explaining discussing different types of topics with students and I want to try something that requires more than this as I feel believe that my potential can do much more and I have not only worked as a teacher rather than I tried myself in different fields.

    Advice to Management

    Once I have worked as a manager of an education centre over a year what I learnt was not to manage people by rules that exist but set rules during the process looking into the situation as we are all human beings without perfection

    Management Development Institute of Singapore2018-08-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Dont do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Education 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Management Development Institute of Singapore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good wifi. Good colleagues, mostly.

    Cons

    Management is a mess. Staff overloaded and undervalued. They say we're like a family but they only say that to take advantage of us.

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff like human beings.

    Management Development Institute of Singapore2018-08-19
Found 79 reviews