Management Sciences for Health Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
63%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Management Sciences for Health President and CEO Marian Wentworth
Marian Wentworth
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "few opportunities for junior staff(in 11 reviews)

  • "No opportunity for growth for entry, junior- or mid-level staff(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good so far!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Management Sciences for Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good leave, great colleagues, meaningful work

    Cons

    pay is not the best, no continuing education opportunities, benefits are okay

    Management Sciences for Health2020-05-21
  2. "Benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Management Sciences for Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    MSH has very good medical and other benefits

    Cons

    Increasingly less and less friendliness among staff

    Continue reading
    Management Sciences for Health2020-01-14
  3. "Great place to work, accomplishing great things in a world that needs it"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Medford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Management Sciences for Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    An amazing place to work - full of incredible people

    Cons

    For a non-profit, salaries were decent and benefits were great.

    Continue reading
    Management Sciences for Health2019-11-24
  4. "Funding not stable"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Management Sciences for Health full-time

    Pros

    Office site and work environment is great.

    Cons

    Funding is not stable. Layoff is going on all the time.

    Continue reading
    Management Sciences for Health2019-09-29
  5. "It used to be a fun place to work, not anymore"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Medford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Management Sciences for Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Skilled people, committed and friendly

    Cons

    The new CEO that comes from the pharmaceutical sector and wants to change the NGO style and make it a profiteering business. Has reduced benefits and let many clever people go.

    Continue reading
    Management Sciences for Health2019-08-02
  6. "great place to work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - N/A 

    I worked at Management Sciences for Health full-time

    Pros

    great, supportive mgmt, cares about staff

    Cons

    slow career advancement mobility at times

    Management Sciences for Health2019-07-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Mostly great; lots of short sightedness/dinosaur thinking; misguided attempts at adapting"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Jamaica Plain, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Management Sciences for Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked here over 10 years! Escaped a toxic environment at a previous employer and found myself surrounded by brilliant folks from around the world. Deeply caring, eccentric, stimulating staff as a whole. Major pluses: decent pay and benefits encouragement for expanding beyond comfort zone diverse and amazing perspectives--inspiring group important, smart products makes a solid effort to bind together its grassroots/scrappy beginnings with its more mid-to-large sized NGO principled productive kind and friendly shockingly smart; thought leaders through and through jargon leaders too ;)

    Cons

    Everyone is overly busy, but rarely acknowledges how busy other people are and expect things handed to them without reciprocation; getting emails or phone calls replied to is like pulling teeth People are abysmally late with everything--meetings, deadlines, going home (I'd work til 9-10pm regularly to "catch up" and I was rarely alone) Overtaken by MBA-types in recent years, which has sapped a lot of the heart of the org out, while actually harming the financials Lots of fraud/legal infractions in recent years, they've lost a lot of contracts without really opening up any doors frequently gets into financial troubles and responds by laying off 99% of the middle staff, overly protecting the "old timers" who are sometimes making nearly $1k/day. This is great for young staff as once things get better they are often first in line to fill in those middling gaps, but is also most likely a reason for the fluctuating success/failure (the old guard has an iron grip on most decisions) An uncomfortable percentage of management and the board are older white men. Many of whom are great dudes! But, for a company 2/3+ women and more than half persons of color, it is troubling. Also, some of these folks are the biggest issues within the company's progression forward and decision making (many have left so things are improving it seems, but the consequences are only now harming the org in the last few years). Note: This is not directed at the previous CEOs at all, both of whom I respected a great deal and believe were inspiring and capable leaders doing their best. Honestly, I wish everyone current and passed I ever encountered within the org the best of the best in life.

    Continue reading
    Management Sciences for Health2019-04-18
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Your pessimism aside..."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Management Sciences for Health full-time

    Pros

    I don't think I've felt so connected to a company! I'm still young, only been working here some years, but I am optimistic. It has been a tough few years for the organization, but people are so humble and work hard at their jobs. Every day, I feel inspired by those who work at MSH because they are talented, ambitious, and strategic. As a junior staff, I feel valued and I look forward to contributing to MSH the way others have.

    Cons

    I think some staff members share my view and are critical in a good way, but some staff members are very critical and mope when they don't make the change they want to see. In that sense, the organizational culture needs improvement and communication to/from leadership could be better.

    Continue reading
    Management Sciences for Health2019-01-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "downward spiral"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Management Sciences for Health full-time

    Pros

    Good mission, some really nice and dedicated people, flexible schedules, no pressure most of the time, good career-builder place - if you have no skills or knowledge you can sit there and progress within 10 to 20 years to a nice position

    Cons

    Really inefficient, far from team environment, management does not care to remove the obviously unqualified personnel (among themselves too), tons of very low skilled, no experience, no knowledge, highly paid directors/managers who don't do much but the work is somewhat performed by low paid employees (who usually can't land a job anywhere else) between checking their fb and some apparel online :)

    Continue reading
    Management Sciences for Health2018-12-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Poor management from head to toe...the supply chain “savvy” NGO"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in West Medford, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Management Sciences for Health part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Long tradition in the field of global health

    Cons

    The Management team lacks capacity and vision

    Continue reading
    Management Sciences for Health2018-10-10
Viewing 1 - 10 of 208 Reviews