Manatee County Government Reviews | Glassdoor

Manatee County Government Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Ed Hunzeker
14 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Local Government Career Opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manatee County Government full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly/Helpful Co-Workers Incredible Paid Time Off Onsite Fitness Center Generous Paid Holidays Tuition Reimbursement Massages included in the health benefits package for only $25!

    Cons

    I don't have any Cons to add.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Manatee County Government2018-09-11
  2. "Great atmosphere, bad outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manatee County Government full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like my management, I like my job, benefits at Manatee are great.

    Cons

    Although benefits at the County are great (though not entirely free, you will have to pay a portion out of your paycheck), good benefits are really not enough to make me feel appreciated as an employee. Better pay would. Unfortunately, I can see all of my colleagues' salaries online, and many of these people have decades of experience in the field and are making about 10k more than me a year. We all should get about a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Show your employees you value them by going up to bat for better pay. $500 more a year in cost of living raises isn't going to cut it if you want to reduce turnover.

    Manatee County Government2018-11-08
  3. "A nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manatee County Government full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits. Culture can depend on what department you work in. I personally have enjoyed the culture and people that I work with... Generally speaking management and administration cares about their employees.

    Cons

    There can be localized fiefdoms throughout departments and divisions. This can cause difficulties when working on cross-departmental initiatives. It causes waste and inefficiencies.

    Advice to Management

    Be proactive whenever possible, invest time into employee reviews with specific ways employees can improve and the specific ways an employee is contributing to the organisation.

    Manatee County Government2018-01-25
  4. "Best Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Management in Manatee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manatee County Government full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co workers, excellent health care plan/options, great fitness center, very supportive to stay healthy, benefits are very good in general. Again, the people whom work there are the best. You can talk to anyone at any time. Best job so far I have had.

    Cons

    Can not think of any at the moment.

    Manatee County Government2018-01-20
  5. "Each Department is Different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manatee County Government full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great, you'll feel welcome among coworkers

    Cons

    Upper level management can be resistant to change and they don't always stand up for their staff, which can make work difficult.

    Manatee County Government2018-01-17
  6. "Information Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Bradenton, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manatee County Government full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are an ITIL shop that has a strong leader in place. Great medical benefits.

    Cons

    Very little opportunity for upward movement. Many positions are very limited in focus and responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    Cross-train your staff for more depth and invest in better training to advance skills and talent.

    Manatee County Government2018-01-16

    Manatee County Government Response

    January 19, 2018Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your 3 years of service! Providing cross-training, career ladders and leadership opportunities for all staff are a priority for 2018. We are preparing to launch a web-based learning management system that will enable us to provide more opportunities for staff. Again, ...

    Show More
  7. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bradenton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manatee County Government full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers and benefits along with great long term advancement opportunities. Great use of technology and willingness to change practices that reflect a good live work balance.

    Cons

    Lower starting pay and can imagine it might be difficult for new hires to acclimate into some departments/programs.

    Advice to Management

    Work from home options need to be an option to continue to be competitive in the marketplace.

    Manatee County Government2017-11-21
  8. "Manatee County Probation Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manatee County Government full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers are great, solid benefits especially medical

    Cons

    Very Low Pay, weak management, terrible work load distribution among employees, unprofessional work environment, very dead end job

    Advice to Management

    Need management clarity - not sure who is in charge, talk to all of your employees not just a few

    Manatee County Government2017-10-23
  9. "Community Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manatee County Government full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmoshphere and team. Benefits location and hours were great

    Cons

    Salary was low compared to neighboring county counterparts.

    Advice to Management

    Conduct a market salary analysis and increase salary based on findings.

    Manatee County Government2017-08-30

    Manatee County Government Response

    September 18, 2017HR Manager Employment Division

    Thank you for your feedback, we are always seeking ways to improve. Manatee County Government is in the process of reevaluating all positions compensation levels with Pay Scale, a nationally recognized leader in position compensation evaluations. Feel free to contact HR if you would ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director in Bradenton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manatee County Government full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, wonderful management, top of the line benefits, creative freedom, opportunity for advancement, all around wonderful place to work.

    Cons

    Heavy workload, low compensation

    Advice to Management

    If an employee is doing more than what their job entails or gets a higher certification they should be properly compensated. County employee salary is public information and it is disheartening to see where you fall on the pay scale when you are working harder than so many others.

    Manatee County Government2017-07-25

    Manatee County Government Response

    July 27, 2017HR Manager Employment Division

    Thank you for your response. Manatee County is actively reviewing compensation for all positions in an effort to become more competitive in the marketplace. We don’t currently offer incentive pay for educational achievements, however, we do invest in our employees by offering tuition ...

    Show More
Found 24 reviews