Manatee County School District Reviews | Glassdoor

Manatee County School District Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Manatee County School District CEO Diana Greene
Diana Greene
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Human Resources department (or lack thereof)(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing, supportive environment for teachers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Manatee County School District for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Staff and administration work together well and truly buy in to the mission of arts-infused education

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work!

      Manatee County School District2016-04-13
    • "Teaching vs Testing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher in Bradenton, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Manatee County School District full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Manatee County is my home.

      Cons

      Teachers and staff do not feel supported and the pay is just not enough. Testing is out of control, as are added demands on staff. The testing has put an undue amount on everyone. Some students are so stressed, while others have quit trying. Manatee County seems to jump into new programs without much research. I began my career in this district 33 years ago and it was a different district. Teachers were given the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Listen to the teachers. Listen to your staff. Listen to students and parents.

      Manatee County School District2019-05-15
    • "At one time before $70M went missing from the Y2K debacle the job was great."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Information Applications Coordinator in Bradenton, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Manatee County School District full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      State retirement and benefits along with holidays.

      Cons

      Administration is weak and feeble at best.

      Advice to Management

      Stop micro managing and moving people around to keep the truth from the staff.

      Manatee County School District2019-05-07
    • "Tough"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Manatee County School District full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Vacation time is a positive

      Cons

      Incompetence at the senior level

      Manatee County School District2019-04-22
    • "Control what you can control"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Manatee County School District full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      If you find the right fit, the environment is great and very supportive. However, the wrong fit could be discouraging

      Cons

      The payscale makes no sense. Constant issues at the top.

      Manatee County School District2019-04-22
    • "Manatee Schools"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Manatee County School District full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Same annual schedule as children

      Cons

      Benefits and pay are low

      Manatee County School District2019-03-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Corrupt, Deception, and Financial Mismanagement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher, Secondary School 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Manatee County School District full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The school I am at is great and most schools have a positive working relationship between the staff and administration, do your research on individual schools to ensure these relationships are accurate. My colleagues are supportive, friendly, and we are a working family.

      Cons

      The district office (the School Board and Superintendent's office) is entirely corrupt and incompetent. You will frequently see the extension of the implementation of your annual pay increase each year. Despite your contract indicating your next year's contract, you will not see this reflected until April of the following year. The human resources and payroll departments are not inclined to assist you in any regard quickly...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      To the school board and the upper tiers of the district administration: Resign.

      Manatee County School District2019-04-12
    • "Not a Good District to Work for Any More"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher in Bradenton, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Manatee County School District full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great location near beaches. Used to be respected and some people know if from those days. Pay is ok.

      Cons

      Very hard to advance if you want to. Even added a layer between teacher and assistant principal to weed out candidates. District values outside sources for recruitment rather than promoting from within.

      Manatee County School District2019-03-21
    • "Great school - terribly managed District"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Bradenton, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Manatee County School District full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Love my school and team.

      Cons

      District is very poorly managed

      Advice to Management

      Clean house.

      Manatee County School District2019-01-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Don't work here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Manatee County School District full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Time off to be with your children - about 18-20 extra days off per year

      Cons

      Executive Leadership is a joke School Board does not do what is best for the district or employees. Extremely low pay, no promotion from within potential. External employees will always be paid more than internals

      Manatee County School District2019-01-29
    Found 65 reviews