Manchester Airports Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Manchester Airports Group Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
54%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Manchester Airports Group Chief Executive Charlie Cornish (no image)
Charlie Cornish
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people who you can have a laugh with(in 10 reviews)

  • "Working with the public and my colleagues in a very stressful environment everybody pulls together and it's a good team working environment(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Mere geography is not enough to treat passengers poorly(in 10 reviews)

  • "long hours expected as there is a lot that needs to improve, the new system will help with that - the FD's rarely support though(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "HR Business Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Manchester Airports Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company believes in bringing out the best in its employees not just with their work but with their personal growth and work/life balance.

    Cons

    As a start-up, there will be some growing pains along the way.

    Manchester Airports Group2018-03-16
  2. "Head of Procurement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at Manchester Airports Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A company with real aspirations.

    Cons

    A need to address short comings. Mere geography is not enough to treat passengers poorly.

    Manchester Airports Group2018-10-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awful - Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative II in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Manchester Airports Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in customer service and made 50,000 which was amazing. Let me tell you, they will work you to death for every dollar of it.

    Cons

    Forced to work weekends even though I was told it would only be "now and then". It was every week. They give no vacation the first year. By the 5th year, you're lucky if you get two weeks of vacation. No sick days. Over worked Being micro managed. My boss wanted me to CC her on every email I ever sent. UGH. You had to take out your own trash. You had to purchase your own supplies and facial tissues. I had to sit in a chair that was falling apart and my boss never tried to replace it for me. No work/life balance High turnover rate means this place is awful and has no idea how to run itself except into the ground.

    Continue reading
    Manchester Airports Group2017-01-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "False Promises (USA)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manchester Airports Group full-time

    Pros

    They pay extremely well for very minimal work. They finally hired a great supervisor who actually listened to us and cared about the company.

    Cons

    They hire people who have no prior knowledge of customer service. Too many false promises to count. Anytime I had a marketing idea the manager would ignore it because she did not come up with it herself. The assistant general manager is the most immature manager I have ever worked with. She manipulates every situation and when she talks she says the same thing 20 different ways. Also, we were told we would take care of marketing and social media but that never happned. We were supposed to volunteer and that never happened. We were also supposed to be a part of the event team in the airport. Nothing ever happened. You CANNOT grow in this company.

    Continue reading
    Manchester Airports Group2016-11-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Lounge Agent - USA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manchester Airports Group full-time

    Pros

    Overall good coworkers that made the job enjoyable Beautiful work environment Great positive feedback from guests

    Cons

    Management wasn't proactive about under performing employees or issues Ideas and suggestions for improvement weren't listened to or embraced No room for growth

    Continue reading
    Manchester Airports Group2016-05-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England

    I have been working at Manchester Airports Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meeting new people and opportunities within the airport

    Cons

    Takes a long time to get 40 hrs plus

    Manchester Airports Group2020-01-08
  7. "One of the worst companies I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manchester Airports Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training given is ok for the role I was going to do

    Cons

    Shift changes without asking you. Managers are not trained to handle a team poor communication no guidance no support. Trying to get hold of people controlling shift patterns very difficult. Forced to wear there uniform which is poor quality and not fit for purpose.

    Continue reading
    Manchester Airports Group2020-02-15
  8. "An extremely toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manchester Airports Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were some staff benefits but the hype of these were overplayed as often even with the benefit the cost of the benefit would be cheaper if bought on the high street. Free parking at T1/3 Midstay if your employee grade was higher than a 4.

    Cons

    A toxic and lazy atmosphere to work in. Coming from a much larger organisation I was shocked to see how much micromanagement and condescending behaviour was in play at MAG. Management on the verge of bullying and pulling accusations from thin air. There is no leeway with management. Regularly expected to work many hours overtime daily to meet the demands of the workload. This is done instead of bolstering the resources with additional staff.

    Manchester Airports Group2020-02-09
  9. "We all need a pleasant and helpful Customer Service Reprentative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manchester Airports Group part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Helping people with their holiday or business travel

    Cons

    People may be stressed and anxious and need extra patience and care

    Continue reading
    Manchester Airports Group2019-12-16
  10. "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Manchester Airports Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Non as the company is terrible

    Cons

    Management are poor and treat staff like rubbish

    Continue reading
    Manchester Airports Group2020-01-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 138 reviews