Manchester Metropolitan University Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
84%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Manchester Metropolitan University Vice-Chancellor Professor Malcolm Press (no image)
Professor Malcolm Press
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "So far I' am enjoying my time and learning along the way whilst i' am working at MMU(in 10 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours around your studies(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "There were no cons, everything was excellent(in 6 reviews)

  • "office politics amongst the senior management team(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Academic position"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Manchester Metropolitan University

    Pros

    Great technical staff, can do attitude is appreciated and a well presented business case can help with getting projects moving.

    Cons

    Some staff like to maintain old ways which slows things down sometimes.

    Manchester Metropolitan University2016-05-23
  2. "Not bad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - KTP Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manchester Metropolitan University full-time

    Pros

    A lot of resources at disposal

    Cons

    Most staff don't know what a KTP is and think you're not part of the university University leaves everything to the industry partner to decide which can be unhelpful when it comes to workers protections

    Continue reading
    Manchester Metropolitan University2020-05-18
  3. "Excellent University"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Student in Manchester, England

    I have been working at Manchester Metropolitan University full-time

    Pros

    A lot of resources available for use.

    Cons

    Pricing for accommodation is expensive.

    Manchester Metropolitan University2020-05-10
  4. "Good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Student in Manchester, England

    I have been working at Manchester Metropolitan University full-time

    Pros

    I'm somewhat satisfied having studied here as an international student. Great facilities, lots of socialising opportunities both in and outside of the University. Great tutor/lecturer supports and satisfactory guidance throughout the time here.

    Cons

    As an experienced football player, the MMU football team lacks interest and enthusiasm during team try outs, I can say for a lot of friends that not everyone have had enough chances to prove and show their abilities and skills to their full potential. Too many people at each try outs with messy organisation of events, reducing game times for a lot of people. Sadly, my love for the game has been lessen.

    Manchester Metropolitan University2020-04-27
  5. "University work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manchester Metropolitan University full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers, pension, hours, salary, work-life balance, discounts, community

    Cons

    Difficult to progress as massive competition for vacancies and little chance to enhance skills or gain new ones, you are very much 'in your box' and can end up stagnating in your role.

    Continue reading
    Manchester Metropolitan University2020-04-29
  6. "Great infrastructure, poor direction"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - KTP Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manchester Metropolitan University full-time

    Pros

    Academics are lovely Industry links are good

    Cons

    Ktp projects more focused on quantity than quality

    Manchester Metropolitan University2020-04-29
  7. "Don't work there if you're an ethnic minority"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Worker in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Manchester Metropolitan University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and close to public transport

    Cons

    Everything. Be prepared to be constantly abused by your manager and their hierarchy if you're a person of colour. It is the most racist company I've work for in 10 years.

    Continue reading
    Manchester Metropolitan University2020-05-20
  8. "Love working here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manchester Metropolitan University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing place to work. Flexible working and finish at 4.30 everyday. Everyone is really friendly and helpful. Not micromanaged and given full reign of my desk. Everyone at all levels are approachable. Lots of opportunities to progress within the company. Great benefits and brilliant pension scheme. Favourite place to work by far.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Manchester Metropolitan University2020-04-08
  9. "Mmu"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at Manchester Metropolitan University full-time

    Pros

    Amazing university to study at

    Cons

    Travel into the city centre takes a long time

    Manchester Metropolitan University2020-03-25
  10. "Student ambassador"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Manchester Metropolitan University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible, friendly, choice of role

    Cons

    None. I enjoy every moment of working for University.

    Manchester Metropolitan University2020-03-06
Found 124 reviews