Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
61%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group Group Chief Executive James Riley
James Riley
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Interns may work long hours too(in 18 reviews)

  • "No work life balance, have to entertain them even on weekends or after working hours(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Mandarin Oriental Hotel is one of the best employer in Washington DC"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Turndown Attendant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, Competitive pay, Nice location,

    Cons

    Management doesn't give a damn about the housekeeping ladies. They really look down on the ladies.

    Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group2019-09-01
  2. "Solid Hospitality Company that Cares about its People"

    4.0
     

    I have been working at Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group

    Pros

    Great benefits, cares about workers (is furloughing employees during COVID-19 crisis and paying full medical benefits) good work/life balance, great bonus/incentive payouts for sales, invests in properties

    Cons

    Smaller company with few hotels in US, so more difficult to move around if that’s what you’re into.

    Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group2020-04-04
  3. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and you get to work with passionate hospitality professionals

    Cons

    Benefits and perks can be better

    Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group2020-01-24
  4. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 

    I have been working at Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and great environment

    Cons

    there is nothing to say

    Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group2019-12-26
  5. "Not the best company to work for"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -good training programme -easy onboarding process

    Cons

    -not a great work environment -long hours

    Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group2019-07-25
  6. "Server am"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Proffesional Enviorment Abilty to grow

    Cons

    Long hours Low pay Smaller hotel

    Continue reading
    Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group2019-07-03
  7. "Typical Big Corporation"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of any worth mentioning

    Cons

    Terrible pay, no concern for employees, overworked with no overtime, caters to the super rich

    Continue reading
    Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group2019-07-22
  8. "Amazing Corporate Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conference Concierge in Miami, FL
    Recommends

    I worked at Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MOHG truly values their associates, this is happy place to work for, everyone truly loves their job and you can feel it in the atmosphere.

    Cons

    Not the best pay rate but the benefits are pretty good

    Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group2019-06-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Alright"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeping Supervisor in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employees are diverse/upbeat/hard working

    Cons

    Management team at this property set unrealistic expectations, low budget, and they do not like negative feedback/are hard to connect with.

    Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group2019-06-24
  10. "Attn.: CEO"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits, lunch, having a job is always good, although challenging if you are trying to be on benefits at the same time.

    Cons

    I asked about a training opportunity advertised on the site. I was told it is not available in US. This is why i took the job in the first place, so besides being misleading and not providing the professional development they boast about every chance they get, it also felt like a bad joke. if i need to go to another continent to grow professionally, it means you suck, in plain English. Also, after leaving the company, after giving them the feedback on why i am leaving, i kept getting bad references which affected my employment opportunities. I had a newly promoted supervisor come to the office and discuss a very controversial racial issue with me, which made me feel very uncomfortable, as her opinions where against any common sense and very improper for anyone living in US, and also because i was a different race than hers. I honestly think people like that should be reported to the police, these are the ones that are the real danger. i had colleagues who were expressing out loud their disrespect towards American people and culture, being Hispanics (most of them not born in US). Literally like "all Americans are X and Y". Or if there was a holiday (not in my culture) and you'd wish the majority "happy holiday", there would be one coming to tell you they don't celebrate that and it is offensive - when you were trying to be nice. Overall, a nasty experience, not the 5 star one. Hospitality is not a well paid job. When it gets so nasty that its healthier to quit, you need to look into why some managers are there. A hotel where 4th of July was not celebrated. Where veterans day and memorial day are almost invisible. Id never pay to stay on a property like that, no matter how nice it would be and by the way, it is not that luxurious.

    Continue reading
    Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group2019-05-30
Found 285 reviews