Mandli Communications Data Pocessor Reviews | Glassdoor

Mandli Communications Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
23%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Mandli Communications CEO Ray Mandli (no image)
Ray Mandli
26 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Couldn't be happier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Fitchburg, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mandli Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great family owned company. If you've had a real jobs at big corporations you'll understand the value of working for a family owned company. You are treated like a person not a number. Anyone can approach Ray if they have a question or concern and he will address it for you. They give whatever tools you need to do your job and challenge you learn and grow. Seeing the bigger picture of where things are going is... important because this company is alway on the up and coming of technology's. If your a go getter, with good self management skills, good work ethic, then you'll thrive here! Truly works toward doing more for the employees: Small family owned- understanding 401k matching Best insurance "huge encouragement to personal health" Multiple Company events

    Show More

    Cons

    Hard to watch the people that take advantage of the family owned company atmosphere. Self management and motivation to help the company succeed in more of the employees would be nice to see.

    Advice to Management

    Managers that lead By example always seems to be the best and most successful.

    Mandli Communications2018-04-13
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Absolutely avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Processor in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They do provide health insurance

    Cons

    Completely worthless HR department, lack of professional engineers, no knowledge of industry standards. Honestly I worked here for almost a year and walked out one day because I felt like I had made a huge mistake working there. I have 10 years experience in Engineering, I needed a job after a contract ended overseas. I took this job because I needed something. Within about 1 week, I realized that I had been... decieved into thinking this company would accomplish anything. If you're a veteran, avoid this company. During my time here I interacted with people who are in charge, who know very little and have almost no professional engineering background. It was seriously disturbing to me. The work is not challenging. I made a serious effort to approach the owners to get them work. I had a contact with the General Electric Geospatial Department vice president. I knew him from my time working for the government. I called him and asked about work. I then approached senior management about the project. The project was overseas and was just up the alley of the work Roadview does except it would deal with pipeline work. I wrote a proposal and gave it to a management member that I thought would hear me out. The work itself was around 11 million in revenue. Which at the time, seemed like it could have desperately used. This management person laughed at me. I then gave him my aquaintance business card, explained I used to work for the federal government, etc. Would you like this work? I can get you the project information. The management leader said "we don't really do that, we do stuff with roads." A month later I interviewed for a project manager position. I felt that I would get the job. I have an enormous amount of experience with the government. They gave the job to a recent college graduate. It seriously upset me. Although I was confident I was still the top candidate, I was seriously frustrated. The following day, while sitting at my desk. I went outside to smoke, thought about my situation. 10 minutes later, I walked off the job. It was the best decision I have ever made. The company is a joke. They are not concerned with making money. A week later I got a new job as a senior designer at a real engineering company. After leaving I consulted an attorney because I very seriously felt lied too about the position I held. Weeks later, I let it go. But my greatest advice is absolutely do not work at this company. It has all the looks of a engineering company, but it's absolutely not in your benefit to work for this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What exactly are you trying to do with this company? That is really the biggest question? What are your goals because I don't see any vision for this company.

    Mandli Communications2019-10-22
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Low Value, short-term stepping stone. Veterans avoid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Specialist in Fitchburg, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Got to work with some really great, bright, and talented people. Average effort and work ethic with some attention to detail will put you well above most of your peers (although how much that matters to management is questionable). Those who are self-motivated and new to being in positions of team leadership can safely develop, experiment, and hone their leadership styles in a very low risk environment.

    Cons

    Weak and poor leadership. Deceitful management. Lack of professional development. Low pay. Minimal useful training and experience outside of propriety software - this is not what would be recognized in the industry as a GIS job. Rampant nepotism and favoritism. HR.

    Advice to Management

    I'm taking time to write this because there are so many people that work here that deserve much, much better and should be employed by a company worthy of them. This isn't mean spirited, angry or disgruntled. I want nothing but success and improvement for all those involved. Upon leaving I was nearly 6 months overdue for an annual performance review. Additionally, management was dragging its feet submitting... paperwork following a promotion for myself and others which resulted in a pay increase almost a month late (with no back pay). Everything said in previous reviews about micromanagement, "PIP", and watching over adults like school children in a professional employment setting are all true. However, they, along with mistrust and disrespect, are common manifestations in weak leaders. Without personnel changes these issues won't be solved. That said, although things like completing performance reviews and ensuring your people are properly compensated are very important, and does ultimately fall on the reduction manager, I don't entirely place the blame on them. They, like so many others, are a product of the culture of disfunction here. I do not believe that this company is either willing or able to properly take care of its people. For over three years I had heard the same lies and empty promises about the direction of the company, opportunities for employee growth and development, and the utilization of industry standard software. Nothing. A couple examples: First, you will not use industry wide utilized software thus you aren't actually gaining any valuable GIS experience that can be transferred anywhere. Second, the understanding and utilization of things like MySQL are key to DS work, yet there isn't any formal training on MySQL or the language. You must find time to teach yourself in order to perform essential job functions or continuously ask others for help. It's unclear exactly what the purpose of all the dishonesty is, but what is quite clear to everyone is reality. Production and profit are valued well above employee wellness. The HR department, yikes... Management will at times refer to specific company polices and will inappropriately coerce employees under the guise of said polices, like the forced usage of PTO for missed time at work. Besides HR not being available and willing to protect employees, issues like these are further confounded due to HR not making the employee handbook (with all of the company polices) available to anyone. It cannot be accessed or read by any employee. Again, personnel is the issue here and no HR professionals in the department with a mix of nepotism is creating serious issues. A quick word on exit interviews, actually do them. Unacceptable turnover and the inability to retain quality employees are probably issues you want solved. Having formal exit interviews, with standardized questions, and actually writing down what is discussed are probably good places to start. The exit interview was entirely unprofessional, but unfortunately on brand. Finally, there are a lot of really smart, hardworking, and fantastic individuals here. It is by far the best part about working here, but also one of the largest frustrations. The lack of development and advancement opportunity means that some people are flat out stuck. Their potential is not being tapped into at all and their abilities wasted. There are quite a few people who can right now step into leadership and management roles and have an immediate positive impact on the company and its employees. Unfortunately, at this company, they won't get the chance. I really hope they come to realize their potential and value and move on. They deserve success and recognition. *Veterans - This is coming from an E-6 and an 8+ year veteran, avoid this company. The lack of challenge, consequence, and accountability along with little to no development/advancement, weak leadership, and minimal professionalism will be a constant source of frustration. This is the culture here and will very likely not improve. Additionally, the skills, leadership, and experience you have earned through your service will be minimally valued (if at all). Veterans deserve and can obtain much, much better. Please avoid.

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2019-09-12
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Good but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Systems Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Time Off and Per Diem

    Cons

    Management, lackluster co-workers and layoffs

    Mandli Communications2019-07-07
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Out of Touch, Seriously Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Processor in Fitchburg, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Literally the only pro about this company was the health insurance.

    Cons

    Mandli Communications has no identity, structure, or idea what they are doing. They present themselves as a geospatial and engineering company, but companies with that title usually have some type of certified engineers or geospatial professionals. With the geospatial aspect, the companies cons perspective employees by throwing out trigger words like "GIS", "remote sensing", "GPS", "Lidar", and "mapping". In reality... any trained geospatial professional will be at a loss of words for the lack of any of these sciences being presented. All the software is proprietary so any educational or formal training that one might have be it in previous employment or schooling is moot. There have been instances where high school students have done the work and are paid similarly to those who have experience. As for the pay it is abysmally low starting out. Handfuls of employees have taken second jobs to cover living in an area with a higher than average cost of living. The management structure is so middle heavy that there are multiple levels of reporting hierarchy. This gives the perception of unnecessary weight. The middle managers have become so numerous and complacent that there is no way for anyone below them to advice. As for the reduction and production managers, they are always watching and critiquing work. Numerous employees have been placed on a performance improvement plan, the "PIP". This is causing more harm than good. They all talk to each other and it causes unnecessary stress. If you want your employees to move fast and not care about quality remove the QC process. Relating to the QC process, listen to that department. They actually care and are knowledgeable about the outcome of the product. The facility is subpar. The building is too small and the open office concept impacts performance negatively. There is a lack of ceilings and complete walls, so everyone can here confidential meetings and phone calls. The lower level of the building is freezing in the winter, big windows, who would have thought. People are wearing multiple layers to stay warm. The owner sent out an email telling people to actually wear multiple layers until the sun was able to shine into the building. That kind of doesn't work in the winter. As for the owner; the man is so unstable and immature that he has complained and moaned when someone tells him no. He is so out of touch with his employees. He gives routine speeches and says so many things that make everyone scratch their head. He never owns up to making a mistake, it's always out of his control according to him. It's just a big toy for him. I understand it's his company but maybe try and pin down what is your goal instead of being a "leader in the industry", what industry? No one has any clue what the industry is. He is all over the place and when the new shiny toy comes out he dumps his previous plans for that. I am at a total shock that this company has not folded. Employees are miserable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start to care about your work. You saw what happens when customers review the data and see you cutting corners. Realize that just getting by may have worked in the past, but times have changed. Talk to your managers about micromanaging. Multiple employees and former employees are sick and anxious about always being watched. Pay your employees more. The Madison area has such a high cost of living compared to rate of... pay at Mandli. Maybe get a new owner.

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2019-03-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Chill place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Data Processor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The workload is not heavy. People here are nice. Easy work and no physical strain.

    Cons

    If you are the night shift, it messes up your sleeping schedule. Not competitive

    Mandli Communications2019-01-22
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Managing issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time

    Pros

    Chance for lots of over time.

    Cons

    The management was not good.

    Mandli Communications2019-01-20
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Was one of my favorite jobs until.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Fitchburg, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Flexible Schedules. Depending on the department you're in(there's the kicker), it's always easy to make sure you meet your hours even during emergencies -Decent benefits -A LOT of the employees there are really nice down to earth people

    Cons

    -Nepotism runs rampant in this company. If you're friends with anyone from the executive level, you're set for life -Everything done in the company is done with the end goal of cutting as many corners as possible. I've even been told by engineers building our company vehicles to just look the other way for lower quality parts, broken parts etc. There isn't any inspiration to fix anything within the company -The... CEO wants you to believe he's on your side. He isn't. He's in it just for himself, I mean one of the first core company goals, is basically to entertain & challenge the CEO. Not to mention the 5 year long promises that are made each quarter about how most of our jobs will be pointless "soon" because it's all going to be automated -Knowledge Hoarding. The whole point of being a subject matter expert in any field, is to share your knowledge with people, to help build them up. Of the 150 or so employees, you'll be lucky to find 5-10 "experts" willing to share any knowledge with you, making any form of support and troubleshooting almost impossible without being at the mercy of what they want to do. -Management in this company is a joke. Half the managers want to just say yes to everything any executive says to them regardless of feasibility. The other half, the other half just want you to crank out as much work as you can possibly do without going insane. They also almost never tell you that you're doing a good job, without nitpicking several things first to make you feel like a bad employee.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Treat your employees better. Setting "goals" for a pizza party that are almost impossible to obtain doesn't boost morale, it just angers everyone when they know it's almost always going to be out of their reach. -Realize that you're a data factory. Regardless of what is said about the company, it's a factory. Processors sit for 8 hours a day doing nothing but processing routes. If you don't meet the "target"... rate, you'll be scolded. I've lived through that, and witnessed it dozens of times. -Don't fire someone because they're willing to say no to ideas. On 3 separate occasions, I've witnessed the CEO screaming at his executives and throwing/breaking items in the office such as laptops, phones etc. just because he wasn't getting his way. -Stop being afraid. Everyone in that company is afraid of the next step up from them and what could or would happen if they so much as stood up for themselves. Not a single managers temper tantrum means you're less of an employee. All of you there deserve thousands of times better than what you get day in and day out there. Stand up for yourself and realize you can do better

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2019-02-08
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Short term or avoid if you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Processor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mandli Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a starting job within the GIS field (sort of). Free bagels every other Tuesday. Health/Dental and 401k. Easy to get hired.

    Cons

    Very low pay. Lots of micro management. Essentially nothing more than a data mining facility. Interaction with your peers while working is frowned upon. Favoritism when it comes to promotions. Complete disconnect between processing team and middle/upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Decide what kind of company you want to be and hit that hard. Right now it seems the company is just stagnant and possibly even failing. There is no clear path or vision for the future and when one is stated it seemingly changes a month later. Treat the employees that do literally 90% of the data work for the company with some respect and like they are of some value. Start treating employees like adults and... professionals. Although having a manager slowly walk around looking over everyone’s shoulders making sure they are quiet and working really adds to the data mining sweatshop feel, so that’s a nice touch. Finally, make it clear and be honest about opportunities for enrichment, training, and advancement. Stop feeding people lies about them if they aren’t there and aren’t going to be offered. If people are stuck where they are they need to be aware of that and not be given falsehoods about advancement or additional training to broaden their skill set.

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2019-01-09
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Solid benefits - Field crew gets to travel the country

    Cons

    -Lousy pay for almost every position in the company -Nepotism is rampant. Advancement seems to be for friends and family only -Project deadlines are constantly missed. More projects lost every year -No one to challenge the owner. Company is filled with "yes men" -Management is constantly micromanaging -Very high employee turnover rate, even without the recent layoffs -Company direction at the whim of the owner... and it seems to change every 6 months I could go on and on. This is not a GIS/Geospatial job despite what they advertise. Almost all software is proprietary and the work is mind numbingly boring, and repetitive. Only suitable for college grads with no experience, but the pay is so lacking for the area you may have to get a second job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out a way to stop running off quality employees.

    Mandli Communications2019-02-01
Found 55 reviews