Mandli Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Mandli Communications Reviews

Updated 21 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
23%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Mandli Communications CEO Ray Mandli (no image)
Ray Mandli
26 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Doesn’t care about processing employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mandli Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free street parking near building Benefits are okay

    Cons

    Inadequate HR department Boiler plate performance reviews Micromanagement due to weak leadership Physically uncomfortable to work here

    Advice to Management

    Too much time on micromanagement “performance tasks and metrics” with other departments and not enough on your employees. We talk to each other so when we all receive extremely similar, and oft poorly fitting, performance reviews that are always late we know what’s going on. The HR department, excuse me, the “Employee Experience” department (lol) needs to stop treating people and issues like they are a hassle and... stop actively ignoring the employees of this company. It appears the focus of the department is on recruitment/hiring, training (poor), and getting new employee’s paperwork completed and what they are able or willing to provide beyond that seems to be very little. I was advised by peers when I started to ask around before going to HR for anything. I, like many others, have no confidence that HR could fairly or adequately handle any issue of a serious, personal or sensitive nature. The office is physically uncomfortable to work in due to being so cold. It’s unacceptable and despite dozens of complaints absolutely nothing has changed. Upper management apologizing over and over and literally doing nothing to fix it is ridiculous. The reduction department puts in a ton of hard work for this company. Those employees shouldn’t be treated like they are just another body filling a meaningless position by every other department and management personnel in the company.

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2019-01-30
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Just a terrible experience, Not a GIS job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good like dental, healthcare, and 401k Bagels

    Cons

    Pay is embarrassingly low. Better described as a geospatial data extraction job. You will not gain any relevant GIS experience here to move up in the field. Very low morale, everyone seems depressed and like they hate the job. Poor management, top to bottom. Literally no incentive to perform well and, on the flip side, no consequences for exceedingly low performance. They can’t seem to figure out how to set... the HVAC properly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The poor pay for the reduction department is an embarrassment. I understand that keeping the standards low, constant turnover, and hiring almost anyone who walks through the door allows you to do that, but it’s outright wrong. Be real about what kind of company you are. All of the software is proprietary and none of it is used throughout the GIS industry. Be up front about that. People come here expecting to get a... start in the GIS field only to put in a couple of years here just to start over in a proper GIS job somewhere else. Additionally, stop lying about potential training and skill enrichment opportunities. Particularly when it comes to industry standard stuff. If they aren’t there and won’t be offered, fine, just be honest to your employees. I agree with the other reviewers about how asinine it is to have a manager walk around checking on everyone like children. It’s disrespectful and conveys an atmosphere of distrust from management. Figure out the HVAC!! It is freezing in the building almost everyday. Is people wearing coats and hats in the office not enough of an indicator that there is an issue?

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2019-01-22
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (7)

    "So much promise, if only the owner would get out of the way."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications

    Pros

    Unique experience, cool tech, and good health insurance.

    Cons

    Management doesn't seem to have a clue what is going on. Owner of the company wastes his time approving flights and hotel rooms. Company is focused on the things that don't make them money instead of what actually pays the bills. Pay is horribly low.

    Advice to Management

    Let the people you hired to do a job do that job. Stop micro-managing.

    Mandli Communications2019-01-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Data Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time

    Pros

    Health Insurance fully paid for by company Flexible schedule for data processors

    Cons

    Work was mind very boring

    Mandli Communications2018-12-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Good for a Temporary Job, Bad The Long Term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Processor in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Work was not stressful -Spend most of my days listening to audio books -Liked co-workers and managers

    Cons

    -The work itself was uninteresting -No room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    I don't have much advice for how it could be better. The work is just plain boring and there isn't anything that management can to to make it interesting. You spend 95% of your day at the computer looking for pavement cracks or inventorying highway assets (guardrails, signs, etc.) It's fun for a while but it gets old rather fast. That being said, Mandli isn't a "bad" place to work. I liked the people I worked... with. You will receive a considerable amount of training and the job expectations are clear. I wouldn't discourage anyone from working here, but going in you be be aware that this isn't a place will want to settle down and make a career.

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2018-11-29
  7. Helpful (3)

    "A manger told me "We've all made mistakes and that's why we're here."; avoid if you can!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Processor in Fitchburg, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really good health insurance. Steady hours. Somewhat flexible schedule allows for Friday afternoons off. Ray really tries to be inspiring even when his upper level teams laugh behind his back at meetings. They never laid off while I worked there, though we did run out of work and waste time for weeks waiting for the next project. The managers give bagels once a week.

    Cons

    Poor pay and small raises. Constant construction of the building around you during the work day. No fans in the bathroom downstairs so they ventilate into the office. Managers are extremely fake, though they try really hard to pretend to like you When they moved to Fitchburg the processing room basically doubled the amount of computers in the same amount space. Due to this being a family company, promotions... can be based on who you know or your last name. Office is loud, offices don't have ceilings and you can overhear most meetings. Extremely boring at times, some of the processing is cool but some of it is just fixing software errors and fixing errors made by processors who are completely checked out. Rate based system rewards processing very poorly or not even trying.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees a living wage, Madison has the most expensive housing in the state and your starting employees only make $12hr Do construction when your staff isn't working, or provide proper protective gear to be around the odors and noise. One of the upper managers told us in a meeting in the middle of the construction, "We've all made mistakes and that's why we're here." Try to not punish your employees for... working for you.

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2018-11-19
  8. Helpful (8)

    "The worst job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mandli Communications full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits for health insurance

    Cons

    They make sure you are constantly processing the data and watch you frequently to make sure you are continuously clicking and processing

    Advice to Management

    Raise pay and stop watching people! Feel like back to middle school when taking a test, teachers walked around the classroom to make sure nobody is cheating.

    Mandli Communications2018-09-30
  9. "Data processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Processor in Fitchburg, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great insurance! Management tries hard to produce a more positive work environment. Owner is very ambitious and innovative. Nice facilities and friendly staff (for the most part).

    Cons

    Pay for the reduction team (most of the company employees) is way too low but makes sense with the crazy amount of growth they’ve been experiencing. Repetitive, boring work as a processor. About 25% of the company probably enjoy their job and are paid appropriately while the other 75% are paid like interns while doing monotonous, button pushing. If you’re looking for an exciting, decent paying job that will provide... career growth and opportunity this is probably not the job for you, but if you want to move to an awesome city and need an easy gig with bennies while you get your feet under you then go for it! Madison’s awesome! However, if you’re an experienced engineer, programmer, software developer, etc this would probably be a great place to work!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Even though you can get away with paying employees $25,000 a year, doesn’t mean you should. The job market for entry level graduates isn’t great but careful not to cross that line of taking advantage of that fact. These are intelligent graduates, many with Master’s degrees or working on one, and 12 bucks an hour is just way too low. I believe that’s the starting pay for high school graduates at Target. The effort to... engage processors/technicians/specialists improved and was much appreciated.

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2018-07-12
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Low pay, good travel opportunity, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Systems Operator in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel, lots of tech, gain experience

    Cons

    Long hours, little recognition, poor management.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to reduce turnover you need to pay people properly.

    Mandli Communications2018-07-12
  11. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time

    Pros

    They truly valued my work. I was always treated well and given the tools I needed to succeed.

    Cons

    Some people didn't seem to get the vision or culture of the business. Every job will have its pros and cons. It just seemed as if Mandli Communications had some employees that could never be made happy. Sometimes this would lead to negative energy amongst the staff.

    Advice to Management

    You always gave us the freedom to succeed if we would take initiative.

    Mandli Communications2018-03-23
Found 55 reviews