Mandli Communications "health insurance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Mandli Communications Employee Reviews about "health insurance"

Updated 21 de Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
32%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Mandli Communications CEO Ray Mandli (no image)
Ray Mandli
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Health Insurance fully paid for by company(in 7 reviews)

  • "Was given work that was actually meaningful, the team made me feel valued and appreciated, and very laid back team(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "Better described as a geospatial data extraction job(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "health insurance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "People are going overboard in these reviews."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Etc in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mandli Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a full-time job with health insurance, paid vacation, 401k matching to reward longer-term employees, Benefits like that can be seriously hard to find for college graduates nowadays. Can take vacation before you've earned the hours (company allows you to go up to 40 into the negative on those). Also as a data processor you will never have to take your work home with you, literally or figuratively.

    Cons

    There is a culture of negativity among the other processors - not everyone, but enough to make it feel oppressive. The blame for this is most easily placed on management, but after a good bit of time here, I'm really not sure. People do a lot of judgment of their peers, and those that get promoted are often subject to gossip about their unworthiness based on that. Yes it would help if company paid more per hour, but... the job market for recent grads sucks in Wisconsin and most other states, and they dont take the common route of limiting everyone to 32hrs so they don't have to pay health insurance. Management is opening to hearing you out if you feel you have something else to bring to the table at the company, that doesn't necessarily mean you'll get a promotion out of it, but some i never would have expected have been promoted. Fact is everyone is coming here with various levels of experience and skills and they don't all show just from doing the data processing. I think a lot of the negativity is because the company tends to promise everybody that with hard work theyll be promoted quickly, and that's objectively not the case. It takes more than that and i havent figured out the formula yet but i can say those that complain the most tend to be the ones that don't move up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Encourage more team-building stuff so people can get to know each other outside of just the day-to-day work on a group project or talking at lunch or whatever. Also there is a weird tension between first and second shift people even though they have to work on the same projects, there should be a focus on getting both groups together for fun stuff now and again. It helps when we feel more plugged in and aware of... what the company is doing beyond the data processing and collection we already know about. Sometimes we get to hear really cool stuff that sounds exciting but then we don't hear about it again for a while. Upper management & owner sometimes talk about these things but it feels like there's a separate operation we only hear about every few months and i know a lot of us are interested in what will change or what kind of jobs there will be down the line.

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2017-08-16
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Absolutely avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Processor in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They do provide health insurance

    Cons

    Completely worthless HR department, lack of professional engineers, no knowledge of industry standards. Honestly I worked here for almost a year and walked out one day because I felt like I had made a huge mistake working there. I have 10 years experience in Engineering, I needed a job after a contract ended overseas. I took this job because I needed something. Within about 1 week, I realized that I had been... decieved into thinking this company would accomplish anything. If you're a veteran, avoid this company. During my time here I interacted with people who are in charge, who know very little and have almost no professional engineering background. It was seriously disturbing to me. The work is not challenging. I made a serious effort to approach the owners to get them work. I had a contact with the General Electric Geospatial Department vice president. I knew him from my time working for the government. I called him and asked about work. I then approached senior management about the project. The project was overseas and was just up the alley of the work Roadview does except it would deal with pipeline work. I wrote a proposal and gave it to a management member that I thought would hear me out. The work itself was around 11 million in revenue. Which at the time, seemed like it could have desperately used. This management person laughed at me. I then gave him my aquaintance business card, explained I used to work for the federal government, etc. Would you like this work? I can get you the project information. The management leader said "we don't really do that, we do stuff with roads." A month later I interviewed for a project manager position. I felt that I would get the job. I have an enormous amount of experience with the government. They gave the job to a recent college graduate. It seriously upset me. Although I was confident I was still the top candidate, I was seriously frustrated. The following day, while sitting at my desk. I went outside to smoke, thought about my situation. 10 minutes later, I walked off the job. It was the best decision I have ever made. The company is a joke. They are not concerned with making money. A week later I got a new job as a senior designer at a real engineering company. After leaving I consulted an attorney because I very seriously felt lied too about the position I held. Weeks later, I let it go. But my greatest advice is absolutely do not work at this company. It has all the looks of a engineering company, but it's absolutely not in your benefit to work for this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What exactly are you trying to do with this company? That is really the biggest question? What are your goals because I don't see any vision for this company.

    Mandli Communications2019-10-22
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Out of Touch, Seriously Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Processor in Fitchburg, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Literally the only pro about this company was the health insurance.

    Cons

    Mandli Communications has no identity, structure, or idea what they are doing. They present themselves as a geospatial and engineering company, but companies with that title usually have some type of certified engineers or geospatial professionals. With the geospatial aspect, the companies cons perspective employees by throwing out trigger words like "GIS", "remote sensing", "GPS", "Lidar", and "mapping". In reality... any trained geospatial professional will be at a loss of words for the lack of any of these sciences being presented. All the software is proprietary so any educational or formal training that one might have be it in previous employment or schooling is moot. There have been instances where high school students have done the work and are paid similarly to those who have experience. As for the pay it is abysmally low starting out. Handfuls of employees have taken second jobs to cover living in an area with a higher than average cost of living. The management structure is so middle heavy that there are multiple levels of reporting hierarchy. This gives the perception of unnecessary weight. The middle managers have become so numerous and complacent that there is no way for anyone below them to advice. As for the reduction and production managers, they are always watching and critiquing work. Numerous employees have been placed on a performance improvement plan, the "PIP". This is causing more harm than good. They all talk to each other and it causes unnecessary stress. If you want your employees to move fast and not care about quality remove the QC process. Relating to the QC process, listen to that department. They actually care and are knowledgeable about the outcome of the product. The facility is subpar. The building is too small and the open office concept impacts performance negatively. There is a lack of ceilings and complete walls, so everyone can here confidential meetings and phone calls. The lower level of the building is freezing in the winter, big windows, who would have thought. People are wearing multiple layers to stay warm. The owner sent out an email telling people to actually wear multiple layers until the sun was able to shine into the building. That kind of doesn't work in the winter. As for the owner; the man is so unstable and immature that he has complained and moaned when someone tells him no. He is so out of touch with his employees. He gives routine speeches and says so many things that make everyone scratch their head. He never owns up to making a mistake, it's always out of his control according to him. It's just a big toy for him. I understand it's his company but maybe try and pin down what is your goal instead of being a "leader in the industry", what industry? No one has any clue what the industry is. He is all over the place and when the new shiny toy comes out he dumps his previous plans for that. I am at a total shock that this company has not folded. Employees are miserable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start to care about your work. You saw what happens when customers review the data and see you cutting corners. Realize that just getting by may have worked in the past, but times have changed. Talk to your managers about micromanaging. Multiple employees and former employees are sick and anxious about always being watched. Pay your employees more. The Madison area has such a high cost of living compared to rate of... pay at Mandli. Maybe get a new owner.

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2019-03-02
  4. Helpful (7)

    "So much promise, if only the owner would get out of the way."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications

    Pros

    Unique experience, cool tech, and good health insurance.

    Cons

    Management doesn't seem to have a clue what is going on. Owner of the company wastes his time approving flights and hotel rooms. Company is focused on the things that don't make them money instead of what actually pays the bills. Pay is horribly low.

    Advice to Management

    Let the people you hired to do a job do that job. Stop micro-managing.

    Mandli Communications2019-01-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Data Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time

    Pros

    Health Insurance fully paid for by company Flexible schedule for data processors

    Cons

    Work was mind very boring

    Mandli Communications2018-12-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A manger told me "We've all made mistakes and that's why we're here."; avoid if you can!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Processor in Fitchburg, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mandli Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really good health insurance. Steady hours. Somewhat flexible schedule allows for Friday afternoons off. Ray really tries to be inspiring even when his upper level teams laugh behind his back at meetings. They never laid off while I worked there, though we did run out of work and waste time for weeks waiting for the next project. The managers give bagels once a week.

    Cons

    Poor pay and small raises. Constant construction of the building around you during the work day. No fans in the bathroom downstairs so they ventilate into the office. Managers are extremely fake, though they try really hard to pretend to like you When they moved to Fitchburg the processing room basically doubled the amount of computers in the same amount space. Due to this being a family company, promotions... can be based on who you know or your last name. Office is loud, offices don't have ceilings and you can overhear most meetings. Extremely boring at times, some of the processing is cool but some of it is just fixing software errors and fixing errors made by processors who are completely checked out. Rate based system rewards processing very poorly or not even trying.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees a living wage, Madison has the most expensive housing in the state and your starting employees only make $12hr Do construction when your staff isn't working, or provide proper protective gear to be around the odors and noise. One of the upper managers told us in a meeting in the middle of the construction, "We've all made mistakes and that's why we're here." Try to not punish your employees for... working for you.

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2018-11-19
  7. Helpful (8)

    "The worst job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mandli Communications full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits for health insurance

    Cons

    They make sure you are constantly processing the data and watch you frequently to make sure you are continuously clicking and processing

    Advice to Management

    Raise pay and stop watching people! Feel like back to middle school when taking a test, teachers walked around the classroom to make sure nobody is cheating.

    Mandli Communications2018-09-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Seems okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Processor in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Mandli Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's an interesting company, family owned, generally nice people to work with, and they allow us to use headphones all day, so you can catch up on your podcasts.

    Cons

    This is an entry level position... Supposedly. But it's not your typical entry level data entry gig. You will be expected to learn a lot of stuff about roads and a suite of in house applications to do your job. Training is sub par. You mostly teach yourself based on documentation on the company wiki that is often obtuse and hard to understand. And the preparation for and execution of the work should merit more than... 12 an hour. Health insurance is good, though.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think it would help the morale of your data processing team if you would find more capable teachers, both to train on the processes themselves and write the documentation. While the system in place currently works okay, it seems like you are hiring talented people and then not placing them where they could make the organization more efficient. It's also hard to square the size of the contracts with various states... with the hourly wage. The data processors provide a huge segment of the final product and I don't believe 12 an hour is fair. It's close, but not quite there.

    Show More
    Mandli Communications2016-03-28
Found 8 reviews