Manifest Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Manifest Communications Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
Manifest Communications CEO Andrea Donlan (no image)
Andrea Donlan
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "I Manifestered Here So You Don't Have To. Let My Misfortune Be Your Warning."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copywriter in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Manifest Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are laughs to be had here. The kind of laughs you have when you realize if you don't laugh you'll start to cry.

    Cons

    Strange as it is to say, ego is a massive problem here. For a place that's never, in 38 years of operation, produced anything even remotely interesting, that seems like a strange thing to say, but it's true. The company's founder has insulated himself from reality by appointing a "CEO" who has never worked anywhere else but Manifest in her 20-something year long marketing career. What that amounts to is a strange... little Island of Misfit Egos, where the only joy seems to come from crushing the hopes of people who come to Manifest and want to do something interesting. The CEO was never any good at creating anything, so she takes pleasure in destroying the labour of those who have the audacity the display the talent she so utterly lacks. Looks like it's all winding down now, though. It's doubtful that this place will outlive its founder. It certainly doesn't deserve to. Don't come here to work unless you enjoy dishonesty, backbiting, bitterness, sycophancy, failure and unprofessionalism.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you really want to make the world a better place, start by making better advertising and communications. I know it's a lot to ask, because you hate creativity, but that, nonetheless, is my advice.

    Manifest Communications2019-07-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not recommended for creative people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Manifest Communications part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros. Maybe except for the free snacks.

    Cons

    - Minimum wage - A false sense of teamwork and positivity

    Manifest Communications2019-07-05
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid this place like the plague."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Manifest Communications

    Pros

    It's a job, I guess? Kinda?

    Cons

    The main problem, which leads to all the heartache, is this: Manifest isn't about creating great work that's effective and meaningful. It's about protecting the significant (and entirely justified) inferiority complex of the CEO. Jealousy, resentment, bitterness and failure are the engines that drive this rickety old money-burning bus.

    Advice to Management

    Find a line of work that better suits your interests. Because if there's one thing you're not remotely interested in, clearly it's manifesting social change.

    Manifest Communications2018-04-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Digital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Manifest Communications for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being able to do work for meaningful causes

    Cons

    small team. And lacking the corporate culture

    Manifest Communications2016-12-06
  5. "great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Manifest Communications

    Pros

    great people fun and dedicated

    Cons

    lots of projects at once sometimes a bit crazy

    Advice to Management

    stay cool

    Manifest Communications2016-07-30
  6. Helpful (6)

    "The worst..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Manifest Communications

    Pros

    None, truly to note here.

    Cons

    For a group that was all about change... the CEO of this place couldn't change the oil in her Lexus. Big talk, no guts. All around horrible. With no creative flair or understanding of ideas and what it takes to make great ones.

    Manifest Communications2016-06-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Creative services manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manifest Communications for more than a year

    Pros

    Good People. High standards for creative and production.

    Cons

    Nowhere is perfect. Manifest has it's ups and downs. Very few people would have anything bad to say about it.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for hiring me!

    Manifest Communications2015-07-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Manifest Communications for more than a year

    Pros

    Good clients, high standards, excellent work

    Cons

    Small client base, very specific direction.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Manifest Communications2012-11-12
Found 8 reviews