Manulife Reviews in Canada | Glassdoor

Manulife Canada Reviews

Updated June 20, 2017
345 reviews

Filter

Filter

Canada

3.6
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Manulife President and CEO Donald Guloien
Donald Guloien
168 Ratings

345 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Crazy hours no work life balance at all (in 17 reviews)

  • senior management not very transparent, never really get the full message (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Market leader with many cultures"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Depending on where you are can be excellent or time to move on
    Professional and loyal workforce that work hard when given the chance
    Powerful position in market and can turn things around quick with this team if management makes some good decisions
    Great international. Opportunities
    Can move jobs internal every year
    Good pension

    Cons

    No clear sharing of top 5 projects for each area so staff rarely know what is fighting for resources
    Low interest rates used as ongoing reason to keep costs down but employees have been hearing this for 8 years and it is wearing thin
    Project management needs to take courses and practice real pm work using agile teams. Year long waterfall is a joke and waste of money. Don't even use work breakdowns
    Need real training on process management using Sipoc and raci basics

    Advice to Management

    Little things make a big difference, invest in small morale boosters, including Staff associations
    Reward and don't only recognize loyalty beyond putting names on a slide, clapping at a meeting and a rare gift card

    Manulife Response

    Jun 22, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for offering suggestions for areas of improvement. We value the opinion of our employees and this information will help us deliver on our goals. If you wish ... More


  2. "Executive Assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent company with a great culture and friendly and professional employees.

    Cons

    Work life balance isn't the best.

    Manulife Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are excited to hear that you had a great experience with us! Employee experience is important to us, so thank you for this valuable feedback.

  3. "Project Coordinator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Project Coordinator in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Intern - Project Coordinator in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Working environment! Very friendly co-workers, in my role they were very friendly and helpful, and always there to ask questions.

    Cons

    None really. They were excellent, lots of amenities on campus, always available for feedback when required. Very good communication between offices.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! I had an excellent time working for Manulife Financial and I would strongly recommend them to anyone considering applying to Manulife.


  4. "Sales associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Coordinator in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Coordinator in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work from home is pretty cool

    Cons

    Limited access to other departements

    Advice to Management

    Don't squeeze out too much from your employees

    Manulife Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.


  5. "Subculture is a double-edge sword"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    In a good subculture led by great leaders (middle management), it's easy to find yourself enjoying the daily work. Great benefits. Good work-life balance.

    Cons

    The subculture is very susceptible to middle management changes and the environment/subculture you love can easily be disrupted as a result. That'd turn a dream job to hell rather quickly. All the common big-corp culture/management issues are present. Lack of a top-down visionary attitude towards technology and design.

    Advice to Management

    Pay extra attention to the middle management crisis. Continue the push for a design-affording culture.

    Manulife Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share this review! We appreciate this type of feedback from our employees.


  6. "Good Place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Nice People
    Good Salary
    International Company : opportunity to work in all continents.
    Good job 9 to 5, ability to work from home.

    Cons

    The company has a complicated structure. It is hard to understand the role of all every body in the org chart.

    Advice to Management

    Clean up the company structures. Clean up useless products and focus on new/existing products that will make the company successful.

    Manulife Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing this review. We constantly strive for the best employee experience, and we are happy to hear that’s what you are receiving.


  7. "Project Manager Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly and encouraging work culture, provides opportunities for individual growth, recognizes employee performance, and gives back to the community.

    Cons

    Technology can be improved and work may not be too exciting (dependent on team).

    Manulife Response

    May 15, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for offering suggestions for areas of improvement. We value the opinion of our employees and this information will help us deliver on our goals. If you wish ... More

  8. "Business system analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Positive and friendly working environment

    Cons

    Old technology and methodology

    Manulife Response

    May 15, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!


  9. "financial planner"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Financial Planner in Halifax, NS (Canada)
    Current Employee - Financial Planner in Halifax, NS (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    pretty good work life balance

    Cons

    long hours some days comission based

    Manulife Response

    May 22, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your positive feedback with us, as well as suggestions for areas of improvement. We are committed to top employee experience and this information will help us honor that ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place! BUT promote solely on paper and not character."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Benefits Customer Service Representative in Kitchener, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Group Benefits Customer Service Representative in Kitchener, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Decent pay, good benefits with the chance to select what's best for you, pride in company, etc.

    Despite the cons I loved the company, but not cheating on you stats won't get you very far.

    Cons

    Worked at the Group Benefits sector. Like any other big company decisions for promotions or special assignments are made by people who have never met you, so they end up hiring people who are putting up numbers, but not really looking into how they got there.

    For example: They have promoted people to Plan Administrator positions who show very fast Average Call Handling but don't bother to see why, lot of the current staff in that position obtained those numbers by rushing callers or transferring to another department where it wasn't needed.

    A Plan Administrator was recently promoted to that position in the last few months in the Kitchener office and no one could believe it, since she is always angry and upset and actually relays that to the members. Now everyone there thinks the company doesn't actually bother listening to calls or actually wonder if their attitude is a right fit, all they care about is who can show results on paper and stats.

    Because of the high volumes they expect out of people, the workload tends to be so high you need to work overtime constantly to keep up.

    Advice to Management

    I loved this company despite the fact all these, because the truth is, everything else the company thrived in.

    As far as your customer care roles PLEASE stop firing and letting go of amazing agents with great attitudes simply because they're late a few times, or because they aren't meeting Average Handle Times by 30 seconds, THOSE are the agents actually providing the top notch customer service.

    Your current practices tell people that you care more about being fast than being effective. 320 seconds is disgustingly low. Start showing you care about resolving problems, not volumes.

    Manulife Response

    May 1, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us. Thank you for also sharing suggestions for improvement. We welcome the opportunity to learn more ... More


Showing 345 of 825 reviews
Reset Filters