Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor

Manulife Reviews

Updated February 16, 2019
1,069 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy Gori
Roy Gori
139 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance is something the manager needs to consider" (in 28 reviews)

  • "uncertainty, long hours, tense environment" (in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Manulife Japan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Strong support team and ample intellectual resources.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity was key as women were not actively recruited to important positions.

    Advice to Management

    More equality in hiring women into important positions

    Manulife Response

    Oct 18, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.


  2. "Good place for work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Manager
    Former Employee - Risk Manager

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good coporate culture

    Cons

    There's not much growth opportunities

    Manulife Response

    Feb 6, 2019 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.

  3. "Good place to start your actuarial career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Actuarial Associate
    Former Employee - Senior Actuarial Associate

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Structured actuarial development program
    Lots of learning opportunities
    Able to build great network through connecting with actuarial colleagues globally
    Can work remotely for teams at other geographic locations

    Cons

    Many directors and senior managers are working remotely; less training opportunities for junior staff
    Harder to move around for managers and directors
    With expense cutting initiatives in progress, many teams are still struggling to get their work done coping with less staff but processes still not fully automated.

    Manulife Response

    Feb 6, 2019 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.


  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. I worked for eight years and I cannot think of many pros of working with manulife.

    Cons

    Cronyism. Politics. Incompetent senior management. Promotion based on you being part of the “club” or not.

    Manulife Response

    Feb 6, 2019 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  5. "/"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    No good thing about it

    Cons

    Everything is bad. Management is poor

    Advice to Management

    Learn yourself

    Manulife Response

    Feb 6, 2019 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Generous bonuses, beautiful office space

    Cons

    Unclear direction from senior management.

    Manulife Response

    Nov 23, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers , great benefits

    Cons

    Under resourced and overworked

    Manulife Response

    Oct 26, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Could be a great place to work, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Healthy work-life balance and ethical culture. Diverse work place. Encourage job rotations to different locations (secondment). Support continuing education in terms of applicable certifications.

    Cons

    Stock is diluted with almost 2Bn shares outstanding so they are trying all sorts of ways in which to make customers (and stockholders) happy which, in turn, is making employees' lives miserable. No upward mobility - they hire all management from the outside. Layoffs yearly.

    Advice to Management

    Stop with the rebranding and other expensive wastes of money and focus on improving results. Happy employees make happy customers.

    Manulife Response

    Oct 9, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are not having a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great People, Management get in their own way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of energetic people, who collaborate and focus on getting the job done and done well

    Cons

    Some management are out of their element, add little value and nepotism reins at the higher levels

    Advice to Management

    Foster growth opportunities for top performers and cut bait with weaker employees who add little to no value.

    Manulife Response

    Aug 30, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are not having a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Investment Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    - Flexible work environment - can work from home whenever
    - Health and retirement benefits are very good

    Cons

    - Not very well structured. They have not integrated John Hancock into the parent company.
    - Disorganized

    Manulife Response

    May 2, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate the time you took to share your review. If you would like to discuss your experience with us further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.