Manulife Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy  Gori
Roy Gori
543 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work life balance and good management(in 258 reviews)

  • "Full time work from home opportunities(in 206 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes, can be stressful(in 50 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance but pay could be stronger(in 43 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to work

      Jan 25, 2021 - Data Scientist in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people fun to work with

      Cons

      Big company tends to have red tape

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good Place gone bad

      Apr 17, 2021 - Director Expense Control in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Supportive coworkers who care about each other

      Cons

      - Senior Management can not make quick decisions or sometimes decisions at all. - Everything is Urgent -Finance organization is extremely cheap - expected to work 24/7

      2 people found this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback. We are sorry to hear your negative comments and are sharing these internally.

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Review for Manulife Investment Management (MIM) / Hancock Capital Mgmt (HCM) - a decent capital provider

      Feb 22, 2021 - Investment Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - MIM / HCM junior/senior debt platform is overall solid and has good potential. - Smart and talented professionals, some of which are very well connected.

      Cons

      - Cultural leadership is poor, mostly on the LOB-level. There are some not-so-nice individuals as managers who demonstrate bias and favoritism. - Development for junior associates is minimal - employee feedback/growth efforts are focused on fixing mistakes rather than strategic talent/skill development. - Weak support for career direction within firm; employees must be persistently proactive in seeking out career guidance.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback. We are sorry to hear your negative comments and are sharing these internally.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      manulife is your choice if you care about work life balance

      Mar 22, 2021 - Data Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pros: nice work life balance

      Cons

      cons: lack of digital transformation

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Company

      Mar 26, 2021 - Senior Analyst in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great benefits, good overall company culture

      Cons

      no major cons to note

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to work

      Feb 23, 2021 - Investment Operations Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They invested a lot of money to upgrade the operations infrastructure. The flexible work environment was great as long as your manager supported it, which most did.

      Cons

      Too much turn over at the senior management level. Created a sense of instability.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Financial Management

      Mar 11, 2021 - Legal Assistant/Paralegal in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I stay Busy with work

      Cons

      my Work is consistently changing

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Feb 13, 2021 - Class B CDL Delivery Driver in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None that stand out as a deal breaker

      Cons

      None that stand out as too bad

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice

      Feb 12, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice work environment. Nice employees

      Cons

      None I enjoyed my time there

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Technology Risk Manager

      Jan 28, 2021 - Information Technology Risk Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great colleagues to work with

      Cons

      With any large company, you have to work around red tape

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,906 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Manulife Job Seekers

    Investment Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Manulife? Share Your Experiences

    Manulife logo
    or