Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor

Manulife Reviews

Updated December 6, 2018
1,030 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy Gori
Roy Gori
122 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Manulife Japan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Strong support team and ample intellectual resources.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity was key as women were not actively recruited to important positions.

    Advice to Management

    More equality in hiring women into important positions

    Manulife Response

    Oct 18, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.


  2. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Generous bonuses, beautiful office space

    Cons

    Unclear direction from senior management.

    Manulife Response

    Nov 23, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review.

  3. "Administrative assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers , great benefits

    Cons

    Under resourced and overworked

    Manulife Response

    Oct 26, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review.


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Could be a great place to work, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Healthy work-life balance and ethical culture. Diverse work place. Encourage job rotations to different locations (secondment). Support continuing education in terms of applicable certifications.

    Cons

    Stock is diluted with almost 2Bn shares outstanding so they are trying all sorts of ways in which to make customers (and stockholders) happy which, in turn, is making employees' lives miserable. No upward mobility - they hire all management from the outside. Layoffs yearly.

    Advice to Management

    Stop with the rebranding and other expensive wastes of money and focus on improving results. Happy employees make happy customers.

    Manulife Response

    Oct 9, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are not having a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great People, Management get in their own way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of energetic people, who collaborate and focus on getting the job done and done well

    Cons

    Some management are out of their element, add little value and nepotism reins at the higher levels

    Advice to Management

    Foster growth opportunities for top performers and cut bait with weaker employees who add little to no value.

    Manulife Response

    Aug 30, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are not having a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Investment Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    - Flexible work environment - can work from home whenever
    - Health and retirement benefits are very good

    Cons

    - Not very well structured. They have not integrated John Hancock into the parent company.
    - Disorganized

    Manulife Response

    May 2, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate the time you took to share your review. If you would like to discuss your experience with us further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    If you like the world of Investments, funds etc. a good place to work.

    Cons

    Company does not pay well, not competitive with other companies.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more women!

    Manulife Response

    Feb 5, 2018 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible working arrangement, maternity/paternity leave, 401K, commuter benefits, great location in the Back Bay, strong leadership and management, tuition reimbursement, and community involvement. Potential opportunities in the long run depending on which group you are in.

    Cons

    Depending on which group and department you are in, you may really enjoy or hate your job, or feel neutral about it. The organization has been going through a lot of changes, especially in the IT/Technology space. This is a great initiative since they are now aligning their technological space with the current times. However, the changes may be difficult for some to handle or adjust to. Functional roles are being realigned or consolidated with other groups. This can be hard for those that have been here for 15+ years, that have been doing the same job over the past years and can't understand or adapt to changes, as opposed to those that are fairly new to the organization. The changes can be constant and is now considered as the "norm." I think it's a good place to be in, overall, since the benefits are great and you'll be able to meet some pretty amazing colleagues, but you'll have to adjust to the perspective that changes are inevitable, constant, and challenging.

    Advice to Management

    I think management is doing a good job with the transparency and communication on these changes. It would also be helpful to assign SME to specific projects that will have a direct impact to their team's roles/functions. It's not always a pretty picture to be told how changes will impact them, without allowing them to have a say or suggestion. Not all of the consultants that are hired will fully understand the job function, nuances, and challenges faced everyday. Keeping the lights on is also critical for the business.

    Manulife Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share detailed feedback as well as suggestions of improvements. We are happy to know that you are having a positive experience with us.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Great working environment. Surrounded by talented and hard working people.

    Cons

    Long working hours and days

    Manulife Response

    Sep 26, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. We agree that we have an organization comprised of talented individuals, and are happy to hear you are having a good... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Keep trying to change but still stuck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    good work life balance if you not in support

    Cons

    low pay and bonus comparing to industry

    Advice to Management

    give employees tools and training to drive the change

    Manulife Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for writing a review, we are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with us. If you wish to follow up with us, please reach out to us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.