Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor

Manulife Reviews

Updated September 22, 2017
776 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Manulife President and CEO Donald Guloien
Donald Guloien
330 Ratings

776 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance isn't the best (in 20 reviews)

  • Manual processes in silos; certain senior management members are aggressive and confrontational to lower ranking staffs (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Senior Investment Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Investment Analyst in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Investment Analyst in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, opportunities for movement laterally or vertically. Laid back atmosphere. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Repetitive tasks, can get boring at times.

    Manulife Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We value the opinion of our employees and this information will help us deliver on our goals.


  2. "Not As Collaborative As Could Be / LDP Underwhelms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Excellent vacation and maternity/paternity leave.
     - Corporate policy allows for working remotely at manager's discretion
     - Have a Leadership Development Program (LDP) as pipeline to upper management

    Cons

    - Salary is a little under market rate
     - Very siloed; difficult to get buy-in from anyone outside of own team
     - No incentives for consistent collaboration across business units or divisions
     - LDP is too unstructured, and provides too little support to help participants succeed

    Advice to Management

    Create real incentives for collaboration and breaking down silos.

    Manulife Response

    Jul 20, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing a review. As we constantly strive to improve and optimize our employee experience, we would welcome the opportunity to learn more from you at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.

  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    The culture is fantastic and the people are amazing. There is a flexible work schedule available and it is a welcoming environment.

    Cons

    Long hours and long days. The work can be repetitive and frustrating. Management could use some work as well.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire talented people and foster a positive work place environment and culture so that top talent can be attracted.

    Manulife Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for writing a review and offering areas of improvement, we value your feedback.


  4. "Great place to work at!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    The people are the some of the most intelligent and friendly colleagues I've ever had. The culture felt like a big family.

    Cons

    Long hours and tedious work at times, learning curve in the role is a little steep. Would have appreciated more open and direct communication and interaction with senior members.

    Advice to Management

    More open communication towards junior colleagues. Otherwise, management is doing a fantastic job, I could not have been happier with my experience.

    Manulife Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for offering suggestions for areas of improvement. This will only help us deliver on our goals.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture, global organization, lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The number one reason to work at the company is the people. Great, smart, passionate people across the organization. Workplace flexibility and opportunity for career growth are also other key reasons to work here.

    Cons

    An old stable organization which is changing its perceived culture to reflect innovation and collaboration. It takes time, but progress is being made.

    Manulife Response

    May 15, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are excited to hear that you are having a great experience with us! Candidate and employee experience is important to us, so thank you for this valuable feedback.


  6. "Good company for junior staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good training ground for junior staff

    Cons

    Below market pay for mid-senior staff

    Advice to Management

    Move investments downtown

    Manulife Response

    May 15, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you valued your experience with us.


  7. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Great learning experience
    -Good environment
    -Training opportunities are often provided
    -Top and middle management very efficient

    Cons

    -Not for you if you don't like customer service
    -Many positions are outsourced, salary is low compared to employees holding the same title, doing the same work and you don't get any benefits. You won't be eligible to have a pension account, manulife account because you're outsourced
    -It can be repetitive after a while

    Manulife Response

    May 8, 2017 – Campus Talent Acquisition & Social Media Specialist

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you had a positive experience with us!

  8. "Alpha male dominated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Most people are easy to get along with on a daily basis

    Cons

    Managing from top down, strong favortism towards a handful of male executives, if you don't have a potfolio, you're nothing

    Advice to Management

    Be inclusive, promote from within


  9. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Nice environment to work in

    Cons

    Very busy and can be tedious


  10. "Great company and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great training and benefit package

    Cons

    Need more opportunities for advancement


Showing 776 of 891 reviews
Reset Filters