Manulife Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy  Gori
Roy Gori
322 Ratings
Pros
  • "Manulife is great organization to work for with perfect work life balance(in 222 reviews)

  • "Good work environment, able to work from home, good pay(in 187 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes and transactions must be completed within the day(in 44 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance bad in certain departments (e(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer service for life insurance products."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment filled with friendly people!

    Cons

    The work is basic and repetitive.

    Continue reading
    Manulife2019-10-15

    Manulife Response

    October 18, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know you are having a positive experience.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Could be better..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Reporting Supervisor in Boston, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Facilities and location are decent.

    Cons

    Needs more diversity and less favoritism towards certain employees. Less opportunities for career growth.

    Continue reading
    Manulife2020-04-29
  3. "good benefits and flex work options"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good team, good benefits, work from home options

    Cons

    call centre environment is hard sometimes

    Manulife2020-03-14
  4. "Work environment"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Positive work environment after new office update

    Cons

    Could be a bit noisy when the office is too full

    Manulife2020-01-23
  5. "Can easily become a comfort zone environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Lead 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Not too stressful - Great incentives and benefits

    Cons

    - No holidays - limited room for career growth

    Manulife2020-01-21
  6. "It Depends"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AVP-Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is great. Work from home is promoted

    Cons

    Leaders don't know how to lead. Lots of reorgs.

    Continue reading
    Manulife2020-01-30
  7. Helpful (5)

    "No longer the Manulife of old"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers, work from home capabilities, socially aware culture.

    Cons

    Lack of forward thinking strategy outside of capitalizing on Asia growth, which will eventually plateau. Stock price continues to remain flat, as it has for most of the 2010's. Senior leadership within the technology stack is grossly dysfunctional and has destroyed employee morale. Many talented employees have left, those who remain are doing so to collect annual bonuses and wait out possible severance packages.

    Continue reading
    Manulife2019-12-05

    Manulife Response

    December 23, 2019Director, Employment Brand and Digital Recruitment

    We are disappointed to hear about your experience and would like to understand more. Please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Corporate office"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Strategy Director 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    - good team - company trajectory - leadership - competitive pay

    Cons

    - process heavy and bureaucratic - non-flexible WFH policies

    Manulife2019-10-22
  9. "Inv analyst position"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Salary not competitive enough vs competitors

    Manulife2019-10-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Things changed quickly"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open floor plans Updated work space & tech Diversity committee on point Company events

    Cons

    Team/projects will end and that means layoffs Luckily I was able to see the writing on the wall and leave prior to this stuff. However I did watch contractors and consultants get shown the door with no heads up. Simply because they weren't social enough, or because Manulife was simply done with them. This place can be very much incredible if you know the right people, but that is just not the case majority of the time. Specific demographic is put on the fast track to career growth, while others work extremely hard and are respected and loved by peers. Just not promoted or even offered to interview for a bigger role. Toxic environment can cause very tense issues in groups.

    Continue reading
    Manulife2019-09-10

    Manulife Response

    September 11, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.

Found 1406 reviews