Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor

Manulife Reviews

Updated October 18, 2017
109 reviews

Filter

Filter


109 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance isn't the best (in 21 reviews)

  • Manual processes in silos; certain senior management members are aggressive and confrontational to lower ranking staffs (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "imaging Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Easy job that allows you to work on your time management skills.

    Cons

    does not give a direct opportunity for growth and is very boring if you are looking to push yourself.

    Advice to Management

    Solid management considering.

    Manulife Response

    Sep 26, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not have the greatest experience with us and we would love to learn more. If you wish to... More


  2. "Don't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Very laid back hours
    - Great work-life balance

    Cons

    - Uninspiring work
    - Fellow employees think they're smarter than they are
    - Very corporate
    - Depressing

    Advice to Management

    80% of your employees don't do anything, fire them. Rebrand the company to be less corporate

    Manulife Response

    Sep 26, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not value your time with us, or have the best experience. We would love to learn more so... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Becoming worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    flexible work time; most people are nice

    Cons

    lots of political things;
    recently with the cost cut thing, they even start to watch how many pages you print and will warn you if you print too many pages - feels like someone is watching you, really creepy

    Manulife Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about your negative experience. We would welcome the opportunity to learn more, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Political quicksand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Charismatic new CEO, seems to understand the need for massive change.

    Cons

    Super political organisation, lots of talk about things like digitization and innovation but tough to get anything done without death by committee.

    Advice to Management

    Need to cut bureaucracy, too many layers, stop the politics and infighting.

    Manulife Response

    Jul 26, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing suggestions for areas of improvement. We are committed to top employee experience and this information will help us honor that commitment. If you wish to discuss anything... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Associate Actuary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Actuary in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Associate Actuary in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    You get to work on different roles and projects. You can make good friends. Can get help from them. Have been here for 7+ years.

    Cons

    Managers aren't always pleasant. Things can take negative turn if you don't do work in their style.

    Always have a feeling you can get fired because company has grown through lots of changes and they are cutting staff in all functional areas in other offices.

    Hard to get promoted and pay isn't the best in the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Don't just talk the talk but rather practice it. Have people in role of authority who can speak adequately to their staff and not just men of few words. It if hard to understand their style and impacts our work.

    Manulife Response

    Jul 20, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  6. "Clearance Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Mactan, Lapu-Lapu (Philippines)
    Former Employee - Administrative in Mactan, Lapu-Lapu (Philippines)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Benefit wise all compensated.

    Cons

    Structural management is Chaos

    Process: undefined
    Exit Clearance: Takes 2 months to process

    Manulife Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  7. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity to work in numerous different areas to really broaden your skillset; bonus structure was good; benefits were great!

    Cons

    Review process wasn't strong; very small group of people are groomed for upwards mobility; weak on diversity; executive-level have very similar profile (see earlier comment regarding diversity); work-life balance was not great; team structures are constantly changing

    Advice to Management

    Talking to numerous people who are still there, and drawing from my own experience, I'd say diversity and promoting to ensure a representative group of diverse leadership at the top is of utmost importance - not just for appearance, but primarily to ensure that there is a balanced view that guides good decision-making.

    Manulife Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Campus and Sourcing Coordinator

    Thank you for posting a review on your experience with us. As we strive towards a great employee experience for all, your feedback is just what we need to ensure this happens consistently.

  8. "Sales Support Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    worked with some fantastic people on a great team, learned a lot

    Cons

    team management changed, job became intolerable

    Manulife Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we value your feedback.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Poor leadership and investment in employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Director in Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
    Current Employee - Regional Director in Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Smart, talented and driven team members
    Collaboration with people and markets good

    Cons

    Some dishonest senior managers who will throw their staff under the bus to protect themselves.
    Serious lack of vision and execution on strategy.
    Diversity and development of talent not taken seriously. Employee engagement low.
    Most hires from outside with little internal promotion.
    Not rewarded on results but who you know.

    Advice to Management

    Serious re-evaluation of upper management required. Work on developing talent. Integrity starts within if you want to serve customers well.

    Manulife Response

    May 8, 2017 – Campus Talent Acquisition & Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and would like to understand more. Please contact us at talentacquisition@manulife.com.


  10. "Aaa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good with actuarial exam support

    Cons

    poor management, minimal support from above

    Manulife Response

    Apr 28, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com


Showing 109 of 942 reviews
Reset Filters