Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor

Manulife Reviews

Updated April 28, 2017
612 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

612 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • They don't try to work with the employees to assist with their work/life balance (in 15 reviews)

  • Manual processes in silos; certain senior management members are aggressive and confrontational to lower ranking staffs (in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "IT area"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Mostly great people to deal with, nice management, never micromanage, great work flexibility, a few exciting project, wonderful benefits, four weeks vacation to start. Paid training if you ask for it.

    Cons

    Published pay range is pathetic, base salary below market, ridiculous HR policy that either you get promoted or eventually dragged to mid of the range, an annual increase ~1% won't encourage your employee's moral. Watch out to not to trap into a failing project due to resource issue then got the blame for excuse to cut bonus. Need to remain high alert on what you say what you promise to safe guard yourself, extremely political when it comes to cross team initiatives. Make you think that it is better not to take a risky task for your own good.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employee better, your CEO is among the top 10 paid executives among the whole country, employee need to live a life too! Or you will get what you are paying for they will drag their feet!!

    Manulife Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for offering suggestions for areas of improvement. We value the opinion of our employees and this information will help us deliver on our goals. If you wish ... More


  2. "Aaa"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good with actuarial exam support

    Cons

    poor management, minimal support from above

    Manulife Response

    Apr 28, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com


  3. "SFA"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SFA
    Former Employee - SFA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    good company,beautiful office, professional coworkers

    Cons

    Crazy hours no work life balance at all

    Manulife Response

    Apr 28, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for offering suggestions for areas of improvement. We value the opinion of our employees and this information will help us deliver on our goals.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Company with great culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Bosses are good. No annoying office politic.

    Cons

    Work is not very challenging

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good culture

    Manulife Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.


  6. "Employee"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)

    I have been working at Manulife (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good Company Good Benefits. Good work place flexibility and good work life balance. Worked for along time and love the company.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Manulife Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!


  7. "Investment Operations"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company, good pay and benefits

    Cons

    work environment in department is a bit tense

    Advice to Management

    focus more on employee development

    Manulife Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your positive feedback with us, as well as suggestions for areas of improvement, thank you!


  8. "Actuarial Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good actuarial development program
    Competitive salary

    Cons

    Limited roles, constant organizational changes

    Manulife Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are constantly striving to improve and optimize the experience employees have with us and this feedback can only help us deliver on this commitment.


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Potential as a good employer but on thin ice"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There is a lot of work to be done in this company so there should be many openings available shortly.

    Cons

    Upper management takes advantage of good employees and rewards lesser deserving ones. Regrettably You do see the same trend in a lot of
    Major corporations. If you are lucky you will end with one of the more professional managers. If not, you will work unpaid overtime, be subjected to psychological games and increased amounts of stress and a loss of importance or purpose can be felt.

    Advice to Management

    Please treat your employees with more care. I will not name the department but I know the team has been and is still subjected to awful treatment resulting in many leaves of absence due to high stress and depression. As a corporation you may think your employees are just numbers and expendable but I have seen you lose some really good talent in the past six months alone which is unfortunate because I believe this could someday be a good company to form a career with.

    Manulife Response

    Apr 19, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience with us and would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience so we can look into ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "AVP"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Exposure to global capabilities and opportunities. Diversity is valued. Canadian recognition in corporate environment

    Cons

    Silos dominate organization and culture. Work life balance is poor. Constant head count reduction has placed unrealistic responsibilities on staff.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on future sources if growth especially wealth management. Divest old segments to improve balance sheet. Improve worklife balance and compensation.

    Manulife Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing a review on your experience. As we constantly strive to improve and optimize the candidate experience, we would welcome the opportunity to learn more from you at ... More


  11. "Training Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Progressive and allows for room for advancement

    Cons

    Business goals vs valuing people

    Advice to Management

    Focus on valuing people and they will work to support the business goals.

    Manulife Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review as well as areas of improvement. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!


Showing 612 of 700 reviews
Reset Filters