Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor

Manulife Reviews

Updated August 13, 2017
755 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

755 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance isn't the best (in 20 reviews)

  • Manual processes in silos; certain senior management members are aggressive and confrontational to lower ranking staffs (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good product, less office culture

    Cons

    Not efficient, turnover rate high

    Advice to Management

    Need to be more responsive to what the market is happening

    Manulife Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for offering suggestions for areas of improvement. We value the opinion of our employees and this information will help us deliver on our goals.


  2. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Cool place i must say indeed

    Cons

    Gets repetetive i must say

    Manulife Response

    Jul 26, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback, and are happy to hear you had a great experience with us!

  3. "Generous employer, competitive benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible hours
    Share purchase plan
    Work life balance

    Cons

    Base salary
    Little opportunities for advancement
    Routine job
    No room for creativity

    Advice to Management

    More leadership and promote continuous learning

    Manulife Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review! We're happy to hear you are having a positive experience with us.


  4. "My personal review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Lead in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Project Lead in Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    You get good benefits
    You get Good salary
    You have the option to have a lot Good trainings
    Working from home very easy

    Cons

    There is a very Complex structure: you can get lost!
    Too many IT changes at the same time
    Some people are working from Asia and are difficult to understand sometimes

    Manulife Response

    Jul 26, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your positive feedback with us, thank you!


  5. "Good company to work for but could be better...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Systems Analyst in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Senior Business Systems Analyst in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangement, work-life balance

    Cons

    Some leaders were there because of their connection(s) and not because of skills and experience

    Advice to Management

    Take a closer look and pay attention to real performers. Give attention to employees who can actually "walk the talk" and give value to employees who actually do the job and not just socialize and talk to everyone to appear smart.

    Manulife Response

    Jul 26, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!


  6. "Business Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in Waterloo, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Such a wide choice of career paths and opportunities, including international opportunities. Good management with great ideas.

    Cons

    seemingly constant organizational changes at multiple levels over the last 4 years.

    Advice to Management

    pay for digital and get over the cost

    Manulife Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback, thank you!


  7. "A Great Way to Start your Career in Pensions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    - Top notch training and support.
    - Great Culture
    - Great people

    Cons

    - Yearly raises could be higher

    Advice to Management

    - Allow continuous growth in all roles and this will keep employees longer.

    Manulife Response

    Jul 11, 2017 – Campus and Sourcing Coordinator

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Political quicksand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Charismatic new CEO, seems to understand the need for massive change.

    Cons

    Super political organisation, lots of talk about things like digitization and innovation but tough to get anything done without death by committee.

    Advice to Management

    Need to cut bureaucracy, too many layers, stop the politics and infighting.

    Manulife Response

    Jul 26, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing suggestions for areas of improvement. We are committed to top employee experience and this information will help us honor that commitment. If you wish to discuss anything... More


  9. "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Positive experience, Flexible, Working from home, Reasonable benefits

    Cons

    Career growth, No transparency from the senior management

    Manulife Response

    Jul 20, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback. We are sorry to hear your negative comments and are sharing these internally.


  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Financial Risk in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Director, Financial Risk in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great work life balance, allows part-time, flexibility to work from home etc. Good reputation and lot of smart people.

    Cons

    Hard work is not always rewarded, opportunities not created for those who look for them. Experience highly dependent on who the direct manager is.

    Advice to Management

    Make 360 reviews mandatory. Encourage movement/rotation among higher levels.

    Manulife Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for offering suggestions for areas of improvement. We value the opinion of our employees and this information will help us deliver on our goals. If you wish... More


Showing 755 of 864 reviews
Reset Filters