Manulife Reviews in Toronto, ON | Glassdoor

Manulife Toronto Reviews

Updated June 25, 2017
195 reviews

Filter

Filter

Toronto, ON, Canada Area (Canada)

3.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Manulife President and CEO Donald Guloien
Donald Guloien
99 Ratings

195 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance isn't the best (in 19 reviews)

  • Manual processes in silos; certain senior management members are aggressive and confrontational to lower ranking staffs (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great People!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Intern - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fantastic environment and understanding colleagues.

    Cons

    Work is inconsistent. Did not have much to do 20% of the time.


  2. "Executive Assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent company with a great culture and friendly and professional employees.

    Cons

    Work life balance isn't the best.

    Manulife Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are excited to hear that you had a great experience with us! Employee experience is important to us, so thank you for this valuable feedback.


  3. "Project Coordinator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Project Coordinator in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Intern - Project Coordinator in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Working environment! Very friendly co-workers, in my role they were very friendly and helpful, and always there to ask questions.

    Cons

    None really. They were excellent, lots of amenities on campus, always available for feedback when required. Very good communication between offices.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! I had an excellent time working for Manulife Financial and I would strongly recommend them to anyone considering applying to Manulife.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Subculture is a double-edge sword"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    In a good subculture led by great leaders (middle management), it's easy to find yourself enjoying the daily work. Great benefits. Good work-life balance.

    Cons

    The subculture is very susceptible to middle management changes and the environment/subculture you love can easily be disrupted as a result. That'd turn a dream job to hell rather quickly. All the common big-corp culture/management issues are present. Lack of a top-down visionary attitude towards technology and design.

    Advice to Management

    Pay extra attention to the middle management crisis. Continue the push for a design-affording culture.

    Manulife Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share this review! We appreciate this type of feedback from our employees.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly and encouraging work culture, provides opportunities for individual growth, recognizes employee performance, and gives back to the community.

    Cons

    Technology can be improved and work may not be too exciting (dependent on team).

    Manulife Response

    May 15, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for offering suggestions for areas of improvement. We value the opinion of our employees and this information will help us deliver on our goals. If you wish ... More


  6. "decent"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wealth Management in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Wealth Management in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife (Less than a year)

    Pros

    pretty chill place to work

    Cons

    kind of boring on a day to day basis

    Advice to Management

    there's a lot of fat to be trimmed

    Manulife Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback. We are sorry to hear your negative comments and would welcome the opportunity to learn more. If you wish to discuss further ... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Actuarial Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON (Canada)

    Pros

    Good Work life balance. Lots of training opportunities and good working environment

    Cons

    I haven't found much cons. Company politics and people always gossip.

    Manulife Response

    Apr 19, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you valued your experience with us.


  8. "Employee"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Toronto, ON (Canada)

    I have been working at Manulife (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good Company Good Benefits. Good work place flexibility and good work life balance. Worked for along time and love the company.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Manulife Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Far from honest, very cliquey"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easy access by TTC or car

    Cons

    You're either one of us or you don't fit

    Advice to Management

    Consider using those from outside your industry to help evolve it.

    Manulife Response

    Apr 14, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and would like to understand more. Please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  10. "Great people work at MAM"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I would have to say that the work from home availability and compensation and benefits would be the pros of working here.

    Cons

    senior management not very transparent, never really get the full message


Showing 195 of 831 reviews
Reset Filters