Manulife "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Manulife Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy  Gori
Roy Gori
336 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes and transactions must be completed within the day(in 43 reviews)

  • "Senior management come off as very fabricated people(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (9)

    "Great Place for Young Actuaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Actuarial Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big organization with a lot of Actuarial roles. Very nice Senior Management in Actuarial teams that can teach you a lot Work is visible and promotions can be quick and is becoming more merit-based. Nnice study days for exams, good work-life balance, and ability to work remotely later. Great place to train and become an experienced actuary.

    Cons

    Recent CEO change has brought a lot of re-organization, so you need to be adaptive. However, the focus of new management is good.

    Continue reading
    Manulife2019-02-24

    Manulife Response

    March 1, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance. hours are less tha industry average but so is the pay. Gym on sight.

    Cons

    pay is lower than industry average

    Manulife2017-02-06
  3. "Great work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Quantitative Researcher in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great work-life balance, ability to work remotely, great team

    Cons

    compensation lags competition, big company

    Continue reading
    Manulife2019-05-29

    Manulife Response

    May 31, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to know you're having a positive experience.

    Continue reading
  4. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - SFA 

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    work life balance, great compensation

    Cons

    demanding at times and management is not supportive

    Continue reading
    Manulife2019-04-03

    Manulife Response

    April 8, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you are having a positive experience.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I have been working at Manulife full-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior 
    Recommends

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/Life balance is great Great people and an easy going work environment

    Cons

    Stressful at times but overall fair

    Manulife2019-03-07

    Manulife Response

    March 8, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you had a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "Good place for work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Risk Manager 

    I worked at Manulife

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good coporate culture

    Cons

    There's not much growth opportunities

    Manulife2019-01-28

    Manulife Response

    February 6, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. I worked for eight years and I cannot think of many pros of working with manulife.

    Cons

    Cronyism. Politics. Incompetent senior management. Promotion based on you being part of the “club” or not.

    Manulife2019-02-02

    Manulife Response

    February 6, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Could be a great place to work, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Healthy work-life balance and ethical culture. Diverse work place. Encourage job rotations to different locations (secondment). Support continuing education in terms of applicable certifications.

    Cons

    Stock is diluted with almost 2Bn shares outstanding so they are trying all sorts of ways in which to make customers (and stockholders) happy which, in turn, is making employees' lives miserable. No upward mobility - they hire all management from the outside. Layoffs yearly.

    Continue reading
    Manulife2018-10-05

    Manulife Response

    October 9, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are not having a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Keep trying to change but still stuck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good work life balance if you not in support

    Cons

    low pay and bonus comparing to industry

    Continue reading
    Manulife2017-10-13

    Manulife Response

    October 17, 2017Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for writing a review, we are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with us. If you wish to follow up with us, please reach out to us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Manulife

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance is highly supported by management. Working from home is encouraged. 5% pension is rare in the industry and 4% 401K is industry standard

    Cons

    Little room for promotion. Higher 401K matching could make the company competitive

    Manulife2016-05-31
Found 242 reviews