KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MapMyFitness

Part of Under Armour
Is this your company?

MapMyFitness

Add a Review

MapMyFitness Reviews

Updated May 1, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 29 reviews

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
MapMyFitness Co-Founder and CEO at MapMyFitness Robin Thurston (no image)
Robin Thurston
15 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    If you're awesome, it's awesome

    Sep 16, 2015 - Management in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - mission driven company with a focus on improving human health through connected fitness - CEO and management team with incredible passion and vision for global digital/mobile leadership - incredible growth on every front, revenue, talent, brand profile, athletes, teams and assets - world class proven digital leadership and talent via acquisition of 3 of the top health/fitness category app leaders

    Cons

    - with rapid growth comes change, uncertainty, and a need to be able to "go with the flow" at times - working here will likely force you to grow your career, and growing generally happens outside our comfort zones: you will be uncomfortable at times. Just like fitness. Your teammates will pick you up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    great potential but...

    Aug 6, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and a company that encouraged people to use and be champions of their products. My personal work/life balance was outstanding and fitness was encouraged. Lots of smart, good people with great Denver and Austin office environments. Purchased by Under Armour which provided great discounts on products.

    Cons

    From my experience it was a very much "ME" environment with very little collaboration. There was very little "team" effort and where there was, it felt forced. Management was VERY hands off, which can be both good and bad- in this case it's bad. They didn't provide much help but were very quick to point fingers and place blame if things went sideways. Not much room for meaningful growth within the company and I saw cases of resentment when some tried to move around. Like another reviewer, I also did not receive an exit interview and fully agree with the comments about it being a "boy's club". Several of the Senior Managers and C-Level leaders I met were exceptionally arrogant- not confident, arrogant. I would not recommend a friend to work in the division I did, but can't say what the experience would be like elsewhere in the company.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Fascinating Company

    May 6, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Top 10 Health Apps in iTunes & Android - Big Data (4 workouts / seconds and 15M Users) - Fun (Tues Team Rides, Wed Runs, Arrested Development Fridays, Open space / indoor basketball court, xbox connect competitions, ping pong tables) - Neat Perks ($$ for Fitness Gear, Great Health & Dental, Flex Time, etc.) - Great team of people that love what they do because of their passions

    Cons

    Some people have a hard time adjusting when their passions don't align with health & fitness (running, cycling, etc.), helping others become happy and active, or solving great engineering and technical challenges (You don't have to love fitness -- you just have to really love your job and want to thrive). We're a 'Can-Do' work place and the people who end up leaving generally are those that can't don't fall in love with our environment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    UA is good resume fodder...that's about it.

    Sep 10, 2015 - Business Development in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From a brand marketing perspective, UA couldn't be hotter right now. Almost worth taking a job there for that reason alone. The Quantified Self movement is cool, fun and growing. The HQ office in Austin is awesome. Expense/travel budgets are decent.

    Cons

    -Zero, literally Zero, training and/or development. The 'Tribal Knowledge' factor is rampant. -Throwing people under the bus is common practice. If something goes wrong, it's somebody else's fault. It starts with the leadership team and trickles down to everyone else. -The only common theme is change. -Revenue is king, but there is no CRO and no new revenue ideas. They've been beating the marketing "Fitness Challenge" to death. -UA spent 3/4 of $1B to acquire MMF, MFP and Endomondo users. Only a matter of time before the ROI fails to meet expectations and heads begin rolling. -I doubt Mike and/or Albert Lee stay there for long. Losing them would hurt the business. Go look at the Glassdoor reviews for MyFitnessPal and compare them to MapMyFitness...you'll get the picture.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Mission, Amazing Potential but Unprofessional, Muddled & Weak Management

    Feb 17, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    UACF/MapMyFitness will continue to evolve from a powerhouse to a behemoth in the wearables and health and fitness data space. I am confident they will globally dominate with the latest acquisitions and the release of UA Record. The mission and vision is clear and innovative-Make the everyday athlete a better version of themselves and UACF is well on their way!

    Cons

    Management is very top heavy and very isolated from one another. Too many cooks in the kitchen that have been cobbled together from different acquisitions. They have their owns camps they want to protect their own key players, not always the house. Management style, for a certain faction, is rooted in unrealistic expectations, lingering threats, management inexperience, unprofessional discriminatory speech/behavior, and false sincerity for one’s professional success. Management finds this type of behavior acceptable as it's "Hardcore" "Intense" "Winning" and "Competitive" as one would be on a professional sports team. Team members' hard work, efforts, relationships and traction were not valued but were given to other “protected” and tenured underperformers as others were bullied out of the company.

    9 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Cool Product. But not the best company to work for. I've worked at better start ups.

    Dec 5, 2012 - Senior User Experience Designer in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Mobile and Web platform. Product is going in a good direction. Decent compensation.

    Cons

    Culture wasn't the greatest for a designer. Development driven company. Designers and UX Designers had a difficult time trying to communicate to the dev, product teams and stakeholders. So basically, no creative or collaboration with the designers. When I first started, the biggest turn over were the developers. Up until Mid 2012, the biggest turn over have been the designers. As a designer, there is no room for growth. I would suggest if you are a JR Designer, you have the opportunity to grow. Senior Level Designers, I would suggest looking elsewhere. The company did require 110% everyday (which is fine), but work/life balance was an issue at first when I started. That all changed when a new CEO was brought on board the summer of 2011. As of Sept 2012, that CEO has moved on. Overall, difficult place to work if you are a designer.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    One of the coolest little companies on the planet

    May 7, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    + Great team where everyone seems to be down for the mission + Company makes a product that actually makes the world a better place + If you are a runner or cyclist, you will not find a better fit... I promise. + Python! + Casual work environment + Weekly office runs and rides + On-site showers + $500 fitness credit each year + 100% company-paid insurance + Free parking downtown (killer office location at 6th and Rio Grande) + Free beer + Free snacks (including fresh fruit) + Insane amount of candy + Spontaneous ping pong tourneys

    Cons

    - Hours can sometimes be long around releases - Still a little start-up crazy... everyone wears multiple hats - You will go into culture shock for sure if you are coming from a large company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    An amazing company built by amazing people!

    Apr 5, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    $500 for fitness apparel/gym membership/ski pass/you pick. CEO is a true visionary and an amazing person - he really cares about his employees and I consider myself lucky to work alongside him. MapMyFitness (as a brand) is something that I personally believe in, and I'm grateful that I'm to work for a company where I can seamlessly marry my skill set and my passion for being active.

    Cons

    Still in a bit of a startup mode, everyone tends to wear a lot of hats. If you're someone who likes to take the ball and run with it, you'll do really well here! If you simply want to punch the clock, it's might not be the best fit.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun place to work, but has poor technical leadership.

    Jul 28, 2013 - Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits and pay is OK. Fairly relaxed environment for a small company. Feels good to work on a product you can use for yourself.

    Cons

    Missing strong technical leaders, so devs waste time wondering in the sticks. The communication barrier between the Denver and Austin offices is annoying.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    There is no better place on the planet to work if you want to help people around the world achieve their fitness goals

    May 12, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best team of people I've ever worked with on the most amazing product I've ever built. The list of benefits are too long to list them all but there are some good ones including $500 fitness reimbursement for anything fitness related per year.

    Cons

    Sometimes things are moving so fast that some details get missed but that is the tricky part about working for startups.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Work at MapMyFitness? Share Your Experiences

MapMyFitness logo
or