Marbles the brain store Reviews | Glassdoor

Marbles the brain store Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Girisha Chandraraj
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "you get to play games all day ( literally, since you are demoing a lot )(in 12 reviews)

  • "The people I have worked with are always great and a lot of fun(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company - Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL

      I worked at Marbles the brain store full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great people- smart and friendly

      Cons

      Company went out of business

      Marbles the brain store2019-04-09
    • "Fun while it lasted!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Marbles the brain store full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      I started as a Brain Coach on the East coast and eventually became a manager in San Francisco. It was a fun journey!

      Cons

      The pressure to SELL SELL SELL was pretty stressful.

      Marbles the brain store2018-04-04
    • "Fun Work Environment If You Like Kids and Games"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Marbles the brain store part-time

        Pros

        - Fun coworkers who are welcoming to new people - Great for people who enjoy board games and want to share with other people (kids especially) - Schedule is made ahead of time so everyone is in the loop on when their shifts are

        Cons

        - Was never told an end date ahead of time. Had to figure out on my own that my work there was done when I wasn't contacted again or given a shift.

        Marbles the brain store2018-04-17
      • "Fun store"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Marbles the brain store full-time

        Pros

        Very fun atmosphere to work in.

        Cons

        Higher management had its challenges

        Marbles the brain store2018-03-12
      • "Co manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Marbles the brain store full-time

        Pros

        Great work culture, schedule can be flexible to balance work and life

        Cons

        Company went out of business

        Marbles the brain store2017-12-05
      • "A Reason They Closed"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Store Manager in Troy, MI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Marbles the brain store full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Marbles, at the store level, attracted some of the most passionate talent I've had the pleasure to be a part of.

        Cons

        The company was run heavily top-down, with HQ making all decisions despite being woefully out of touch with what it's like in the field.

        Marbles the brain store2017-11-19
      • "Hindsight"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Store Manager in Freehold, NJ
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Marbles the brain store full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Great products Great concept Fun culture/environment Ever changing inventory

        Cons

        Labor demands versus labor budgets never realistic Support from HQ sparse

        Advice to Management

        Focus on brick and mortar

        Marbles the brain store2017-10-21
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Store Manager in Chicago, IL
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Marbles the brain store full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Interesting and fun product selection and smart customers

        Cons

        Difficult for the business to be competitive on price with some products found elsewhere.

        Marbles the brain store2017-08-02
      • "Review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Marbles the brain store

          Pros

          You get to work with fun people

          Cons

          You have to upsell a lot

          Marbles the brain store2017-08-14
        • "Sad its gone"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Marbles the brain store part-time for more than 6 years

          Pros

          Stimulating environment and varied customers.

          Cons

          Disorganized at corporate level. Lost its vision.

          Advice to Management

          Irrelevant as the company as we knew it is gone. Glassdoor wanted a review though.

          Marbles the brain store2017-07-14
        Found 72 reviews