Marbles the brain store Reviews | Glassdoor

Marbles the brain store Reviews

Updated Apr 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Girisha Chandraraj
13 Ratings
  1. "Bankrupt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marbles the brain store full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work Great opportunity to develop team leadership

    Cons

    Retail environment at its worst. Upper management were create achievable target sales goals.

    Advice to Management

    Visit your stores more than once a year.

    Marbles the brain store2017-07-21
  2. "Was okay while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Keyholder in Garden City, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marbles the brain store part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Small store -Nice customers -Lot of room to be independent

    Cons

    -Long hours -Unorganized store/ corporation as a whole

    Advice to Management

    Not much advice to give seeing as the company already closed down all brick an mortar stores

    Marbles the brain store2017-07-08
  3. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marbles the brain store

    Pros

    -Good breaks -Good if it's your first job -friendly staff

    Cons

    -Management issues -Alot of Theft -Alot of inventory problems

    Marbles the brain store2017-05-24
  4. "Shaky Executive Choices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Marbles the brain store full-time

      Pros

      Loved my coworkers and the creative, collaborative energy of the office.

      Cons

      Couldn't trust the executives. Supervisor did not make requirements clear. Opaque company policies and lack of HR professionalism.

      Advice to Management

      Since the company has since declared bankruptcy, I would advise them to learn from their mistakes.

      Marbles the brain store2017-06-01
    • "Disorganized company with poor management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in King of Prussia, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Marbles the brain store part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Startup culture, discounts on merchandise

      Cons

      Inexperienced management, limited room for advancement

      Marbles the brain store2017-06-01
    • "Fun"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Marbles the brain store part-time

        Pros

        Got to play games with coworkers and customers

        Cons

        Didn't receive that much benefits

        Marbles the brain store2017-04-26
      • "Fun People"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Negative Outlook

          I have been working at Marbles the brain store full-time

          Pros

          Fun, friendly place some of the staff are amazing!

          Cons

          They filed Chapter 11 so unsure

          Marbles the brain store2017-04-06
        • "Inventory Analyst"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Inventory Analyst in Chicago, IL
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at Marbles the brain store full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Business Cause within today's world to be admired. Flexibility to define yourself & create improvements. Games & Toys are your conversation; A Great Industry! Passionate individuals who go above and beyond. Many intangibles which may never be replicated; joyful.

            Cons

            In my time there; the amount of change among personnel at HQ & Growing Pains from 1 to 40 stores Macy's Popups + eCommerce got the better of the situation. Its origination & effort throughout was one to be admired.

            Advice to Management

            Best wishes & feel fortunate to have work with so many great people. Looking forward to see what becomes.

            Marbles the brain store2017-04-05
          • "Marbles TBS"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

              I have been working at Marbles the brain store full-time

              Pros

              Team environment. Positive. Friendly. Fun. Leading edge products.

              Cons

              Communication challenges. Excessive amount of work at home required.

              Marbles the brain store2017-03-05
            • "Using PLAY to Build Better Brains"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Current Employee - Store Manager in Seattle, WA
              Recommends
              Neutral Outlook
              Approves of CEO

              I have been working at Marbles the brain store full-time for more than a year

              Pros

              Able to develop selling skills in a fun environment.

              Cons

              Need more time to develop sales team.

              Advice to Management

              Higher wages for professionals with sales experience. Marbles is not typical retail.

              Marbles the brain store2017-01-17
            Found 72 reviews