Marcus Thomas Reviews | Glassdoor

Marcus Thomas Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Marcus Thomas CEO Jim Nash (no image)
Jim Nash
9 Ratings
  1. "Great Company that respects Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marcus Thomas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Marcus Thomas is very in tune as a company to the demanding schedules of parents who work full time. The flexibility is great and allows me to continue my career but also play a part in my child's everyday life at school

    Cons

    I honestly have no cons

    Marcus Thomas2019-06-03
  2. "Needs Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marcus Thomas full-time

    Pros

    Casual workplace, company events, you'll find some friendly and driven people.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, some employees like to gossip and talk negatively about other employees. Too much negativity directed at people you work with, it seemed too unprofessional. I agree with an earlier post, I felt used working here.

    Marcus Thomas2019-06-13
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great People, Little Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marcus Thomas full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Very casual enviornemnt Group events Modern building Great clients

    Cons

    Not enough work to fill the day Daily meetings Promises about unfulfilled things

    Advice to Management

    If you are hiring new employees be sure to have enough work to make them actually fill their days.

    Marcus Thomas2019-02-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Smart agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marcus Thomas

    Pros

    Co-workers are smart, hard working.

    Cons

    Creative leadership is one dimensional and arrogant.

    Advice to Management

    Realize what clients need to be successful not what creatives need to feel important.

    Marcus Thomas2018-12-21
  6. "PR/Social Assistant Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marcus Thomas full-time

    Pros

    Laid back atmosphere, plenty of opportunity to get involved

    Cons

    Low pay with little chance to move up, low entry level retention rate

    Marcus Thomas2018-11-07
  7. "Assistant Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marcus Thomas full-time

    Pros

    A lot of opportunity for growth, they invest a lot into their employees with workshops, classes , etc. A lot of fun team building events (happy hours, cookouts, staff outings). You will learn a lot.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity, salary could be higher

    Advice to Management

    Listen to entry-level employees feedback

    Marcus Thomas2018-10-11
  8. "Innovative, Creative and FUN place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marcus Thomas full-time

    Pros

    Smart staff - from partners to new hires Creative and innovative - always open to new ideas, brainstorming, doing the impossible, etc. Flexible schedules - really flexible - if you have kids, etc. flexibility is so important - a true flexible environment is hard to find Fun environment - dogs, kids are welcome; great kitchen/pub; games, patio, BBQs, events, etc. Learning & growth - if you want to continually... improve, grow and learn, this is the place for you Hard workers - we all work hard (and play hard!) Community involvement/service - giving and caring group

    Show More

    Cons

    Some tough/tight deadlines - but that's the business we're in, right?

    Marcus Thomas2017-02-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Inspiring agency. Amazing people. But I felt used."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marcus Thomas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Seriously inspiring people doing truly innovative work. There is no faking the passion that MT exudes and it has the ability to launch client revenues and employee careers if captured correctly. Creativity is everywhere and the agency isn't cliquey like many are, so the place feels like home and can be a great one. The family vibe can be great--from the dogs to cook outs and beer/wine in the fridge.

    Cons

    Like most agencies, the expectation to work long hours is prevalent. A manager will tell you not to work overtime, then sneer when you push back on workload. There also seems to be a hidden agenda at times, which translates into how the agency is managed. Knowing who is married to who and how family and friendships play into the picture makes navigating agency politics more like a soap opera than a business... professional endeavour.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat people equally and continue to do all the great things that make the agency a fantastic place for clients and coworkers. Be transparent and proactive about expectations around billable rates.

    Marcus Thomas2016-12-28
  10. "Wonderful Company with Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marcus Thomas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Managers and Partners have an "open door" policy and are willing to help all employee levels -High level employess invest in their counterparts and ensure there is a solid growth plan -Able to be a part of award winning work and handle large client's plans -Fast paced and able to continue to learn day in and day out -Casual dress and great culture: dogs at work, cookouts, team events, work/life balance

    Cons

    -Timelines can be compact but that is not always the case

    Marcus Thomas2016-08-22
  11. Helpful (7)

    "Great people, nice office, poor leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marcus Thomas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are SOME wonderful people here, and the culture is laid back. Hours and dress code are flexible, office space is cool, and peers are supportive.

    Cons

    Creative is not forward thinking, ideas are recycled, and clients don't want anything unexpected or innovative. More emphasis put on trying to win awards than trying to win consumers' attention. Little room for promotions that mean something, so it's easy to get stuck in a rut.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership needs to let younger employees take the reigns once in awhile - things might change for the better. Most managers really need better management skills before supervising people. Consider a new pitch team - the agency needs to shift our image.

    Marcus Thomas2015-06-29
Found 16 reviews