Maricopa Community Colleges "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Maricopa Community Colleges Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Nov 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
70%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Maricopa Community Colleges Chancellor Maria Harper-Marinick (no image)
Maria Harper-Marinick
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, great benefits, easy going environment(in 12 reviews)

  • "Access to professional growth funds after 6 months, paid time off, leadership training(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to get in a full-time permanent position(in 12 reviews)

  • "No benefits except the ability to attend training(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Time off can't be beat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grants 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maricopa Community Colleges full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers. Time off is extremely generous.

    Cons

    Hard to get in a full-time permanent position. It's higher ed, so it's slow & bureaucratic. Can take forever to get things done.

    Maricopa Community Colleges2019-11-05
  2. "Great environment to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maricopa Community Colleges part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Students are committed, staff is nice, you do have the support necessarily even as a part-timer.

    Cons

    very little changes to get higher full-time.

    Maricopa Community Colleges2019-09-13
  3. "Communications Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maricopa Community Colleges part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Holidays off (including a week for winter break), flexible, mostly friendly people, retirement, sick time

    Cons

    Marketing hire freeze, marketing reorganization, hard to get a full time position, pay isn't always great

    Maricopa Community Colleges2018-08-21
  4. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Coordinator in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maricopa Community Colleges full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice coworkers, great work life balance, opportunity to keep learning

    Cons

    hard to get full time positions

    Continue reading
    Maricopa Community Colleges2017-06-16
  5. "I work at Maricopa County Community College District at GCC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Adjunct Professor in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maricopa Community Colleges for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of support from full time staff and they are always willing to give you advice. The department head is great, and wants you to succeed.

    Cons

    Way to many emails coming in my inbox.

    Maricopa Community Colleges2017-01-27
  6. "Love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maricopa Community Colleges full-time

    Pros

    You have great benefits and paid time off! They really believe in treating employees with respect!

    Cons

    From applied to start time will be months. I don't know anyone here who waited less than 5 weeks to start. (Who is also full time). Part time employees get no benefits, and 20 hours a week. Hard to make ends meet with that. Great if you in college I guess.

    Maricopa Community Colleges2016-11-07
  7. "Adjunct Faculty Work Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maricopa Community Colleges

    Pros

    Part time instructors, aka adjunct faculty teach classes at the college level. It's pretty easy work for a few thousand extra dollars a year. Watching the students evolve is well worth the effort.

    Cons

    The major down side is if you want to apply for full time faculty, any interaction and networking you do is worthless. This is because, as a government entity, the applications and qualifications have to be reviewed blind, so the selection committee has no idea whose qualifications are under review. Not much they can do about it, just the nature of the beast.

    Continue reading
    Maricopa Community Colleges2016-09-15
  8. "Full-time work at part-time pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Glendale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Maricopa Community Colleges part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedule and classes. Great students.

    Cons

    Very difficult to obtain full-time faculty position. District is looking to downsize full-time positions; teacher pool goal is 60% part-time adjuncts to 40% full-time.

    Continue reading
    Maricopa Community Colleges2016-03-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Adjunct Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maricopa Community Colleges part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved teaching in these colleges, great students and really awesome to be able to teach interested college students. The per credit payment is also livable even in Phoenix, and is some of the highest pay for adjuncts in the country (I believe). Most of the colleges have beautiful campuses as well and using Canvas for teaching was very good.

    Cons

    Ok, so - you're "just an adjunct." The atmosphere is very clear that part-time instructors are not really valued and to be honest, it seems like anyone with a full-time job is more important than the instructor. This can create some very tense moments when you try and get your own work done without an office, without supplies and without any sort of support. You are not invited to department meetings or most events and in general you are expected to just come and go and not ask any questions and not ever ask for help. It seems very uncomfortable between adjuncts and residential faculty. Do it for the experience but be very careful. I had excellent reviews from students and faculty and was appreciated I am sure. I tried to be polite and professional but in the end it made me very unhappy to be treated so poorly and I left. Making maybe $20,000 (and no benefits) a year working hard when residential faculty make >$85,000 (+ generous benefits) a year for the same amount of work can really wear a person down very quickly.

    Continue reading
    Maricopa Community Colleges2016-03-06
  10. "Adjunct Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Adjunct Faculty in Maricopa, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maricopa Community Colleges for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Staff, great job if you love teaching. Can teach around your full time work schedule. Some online course opportunities. Decent pay, and education waiver if you want to attend some classes.

    Cons

    Work semester to semester and sometimes you may not have work. No PTO or benefits.

    Maricopa Community Colleges2016-01-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 14 reviews