Maricopa County (Arizona) Reviews | Glassdoor

Maricopa County (Arizona) Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 210 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Maricopa County (Arizona) CEO Joy Rich
Joy Rich
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "good benefits and you get holidays off(in 24 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, 4x10 schedule, great opportunities for promotion(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay for having bachelor's degree(in 17 reviews)

  • "no raises, no drive in most position to do well since it is hard to lose your job if you have been here for many years(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maricopa County (Arizona) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits; great transparency; lots of opportunity! Always innovating! Doing work that matters in the community!

    Cons

    There are no negatives

    Maricopa County (Arizona)2019-04-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Decline of awesome program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Management in Phoenix, AZ
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maricopa County (Arizona) for more than 20 years

    Pros

    SAIL Case Manager’s are AMAZING! Clients well served. Good benefits! Great support from co-workers and providers.

    Cons

    Bad leadership- did not understand history of program, what worked & what didn’t, and didn’t care. Director more concerned about numbers, not the client’s services. 1/3 of staff left program in last year.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on clients and numbers will follow, streamline paper/computer work, ask seasoned case managers what would help/work, let workers do their job, DON’T MICROMANAGE.

    Maricopa County (Arizona)2019-04-27
  3. "Case Manager SAIL (HSD)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Case Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Maricopa County (Arizona) full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Colleagues, clients, benefits and telework options.

    Cons

    Management is controlling, lacks integrity, micromanaged daily and thankful that the previous AD was terminated.

    Advice to Management

    Senior management avoids problems by pushing things under the carpet. They lack integrity and play the blame game.

    Maricopa County (Arizona)2019-04-30
  4. "West Mesa JC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Court Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maricopa County (Arizona) full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    busy, always different calendar. Emphasis on community litigants. Great working with Judge.

    Cons

    staff can be "clickish" and can discourage ones that want to be there to provide excellent customer service and eager to learn the aspects of court room daily calendar.

    Advice to Management

    Get a hold on those who discourage good attitudes and work ethic.

    Maricopa County (Arizona)2019-04-23
  5. "Excellent Benefits and Supervisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Judicial Clerk in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Maricopa County (Arizona) full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Benefits are excellent and the job is not overly stressful. If I ever wanted to be challenged more I could approach my supervisor and she would help with giving me more assignments or cross training me in something new. I had a very positive experience with Maricopa County and I would love to work for Maricopa again.

    Cons

    Pay and raises are the only cons. Not a lot of ability for raises.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice to give. My experience with Maricopa County Supervisors was incredible positive.

    Maricopa County (Arizona)2019-04-03
  6. "Stable and dependable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Maricopa County (Arizona) full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Stable employment, excellent benefits, work is not overly difficult.

    Cons

    Pay will always be less than the private sector.

    Maricopa County (Arizona)2019-04-03
  7. "Human Services Dept -Senior and Adult Services - SAIL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Maricopa County (Arizona) full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Affordable medical coverage with excellent coverage. Coworker support

    Cons

    The management is controlling and you will be micromanaged down to the minute . You will be required to keep your mouth shut and to praise the management. Whatever you do, do not speak up or make any suggestions for improvement. You must stay very small so that management team is not threatened by you. If this sounds like a fit, you will love it here.

    Advice to Management

    Clean out management and start fresh with a leader that actually cares about the senior citizens of Maricopa County.

    Maricopa County (Arizona)2019-05-07
  8. "Do not care about their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Juvenile Detention Shift Supervisor in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Maricopa County (Arizona) full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Pay is OK and the benefits are good

    Cons

    You are not important to this organization

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are your most valuable asset, stop blaming them for your poor leadership.

    Maricopa County (Arizona)2019-05-02
  9. "Probation Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Probation Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maricopa County (Arizona) full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexibility of time, extensive opportunities for experience

    Cons

    Work environment and low pay

    Maricopa County (Arizona)2019-03-30
  10. "Wic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DTR 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Maricopa County (Arizona) full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Teamwork and great supervisors. A great place to work.

    Cons

    Nutrition education is very mundane and repetitive.

    Maricopa County (Arizona)2019-03-14
Found 210 reviews