Marietta City Schools Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
68%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Marietta City Schools Superintendent Grant Rivera
Grant Rivera
4 Ratings
  1. "Fun place work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MARIETTA in Marietta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marietta City Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with kids is great. Fantastic co-workers

    Cons

    Some of the parents are difficult and don't appreciate our job

    Marietta City Schools2020-05-17
  2. "Working at Marietta City Schools"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Executive Director 

    I have been working at Marietta City Schools full-time

    Pros

    Great sense of community and history

    Cons

    Challenging work environment; little work/life balance

    Marietta City Schools2019-07-24
  3. "Good Place to Work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marietta City Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is great flexibility in work schedules and staff get lots of days off.

    Cons

    Staff and programs are not supported system-wide and there is very little internal communication at this time. Also, it is very hard to move up in the company as they tend to look outside the system to fill positions.

    Continue reading
    Marietta City Schools2019-02-01
  4. "CO"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marietta City Schools full-time

    Pros

    Small, friendly office environment and staff

    Cons

    No cons to share at this time

    Marietta City Schools2018-07-11
  5. "I've loved working at Marietta City Schools"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marietta City Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Family atmosphere -Parent engagement -Competitive pay -Upgrades to technology and building are pending -Collaborative environment

    Cons

    -Communication between departments is sometimes deficient. -Textbooks would be useful for a remediation resource -Student behavior -Gaps in student achievement

    Marietta City Schools2018-05-02
  6. "Great atmosphere Positive team spirit"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Marietta City Schools full-time

    Pros

    Vacation time Professional support Positive environment

    Cons

    Salary Is not the best... It could better.

    Marietta City Schools2017-10-11
  7. "Teacher"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marietta City Schools full-time

    Pros

    Colleagues are very supportive of each other Students Early school day Autonomy

    Cons

    Work balance Parents Administrators Growth Horrible HR department, they are not friendly and often are not responsive to the immediate needs of employees (present and past)

    Marietta City Schools2017-09-11
  8. "Teachers, keep looking!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Marietta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marietta City Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    amazing, dedicated teacher colleagues who devote their entire life to teaching and working here

    Cons

    MCS are IB schools, and so much extra work expectations from the teachers! This was the most stressful school system to be a part of, with its leadership constantly changing on the district and building levels. The teacher turnaround was horrible and freaked me out as I worked there my second and last year.

    Continue reading
    Marietta City Schools2017-09-25
  9. "Job description"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interpreter in Mableton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marietta City Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady pay, meaningful work, great values

    Cons

    Conflicting job duties - can't be both interpreter and paraprofessional.

    Continue reading
    Marietta City Schools2017-07-08
  10. "nice in general"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Marietta City Schools full-time

    Pros

    very good school and leader

    Cons

    not much to say about it

    Marietta City Schools2017-04-26
Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews