Marine Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Marine Bank Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
65%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Marine Bank CEO Chris R. Zettek (no image)
Chris R. Zettek
7 Ratings
  1. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Macomb, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marine Bank part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere. Friendly coworkers. Competent staff. Easy-going manager. Not stressful at all.

    Cons

    No upward mobility unless you want to move to another branch or into corporate.

    Marine Bank2019-07-23
  2. "not so bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in Springfield, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marine Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers and a nice 401 k

    Cons

    Pay isn’t that great.

    Continue reading
    Marine Bank2019-07-29
  3. "Personal Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marine Bank full-time

    Pros

    It’s a good bank that really cares about its customers.

    Cons

    Not many raises are offered.

    Marine Bank2018-10-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marine Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits werent that bad. @ weeks vacation, 2 personal days, 5 sick days a year.

    Cons

    The branch manager was awful. She belittled and insulted customers after they would leave the branch. She would gossip about employees with other employees. A bully. Also a different schedule every weeks. Also no room for advancement.

    Continue reading
    Marine Bank2017-07-31
  5. "Good job to have when you need one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marine Bank full-time

    Pros

    Cool coworkers, easy work, cool work culture

    Cons

    Pay, advancement opportunities, upper managment, and poor training

    Marine Bank2017-01-04
  6. "Old School in a Good Way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marine Bank full-time

    Pros

    Employees are like family, especially in times of need Company is extremely generous to charitable causes in the community Lots of opportunities to get involved with volunteer and social activities Company still hosts a fancy annual employee appreciation party

    Cons

    Professional dress code still requires pantyhose for six months out of every year. Where can you even buy pantyhose these days you ask? I don't. I wear tights instead.

    Continue reading
    Marine Bank2016-03-11
  7. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Marine Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with- very fun staff Lots of volunteer opportunities Promotes from within the company Lots of opportunities to make friends

    Cons

    Horrible pay Open all weekend Strict dress code (pay is bad yet they expect you to LOOK like you make money) always short staffed

    Continue reading
    Marine Bank2015-09-16
  8. "Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Springfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marine Bank part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with, good work atmosphere, nice team cooperation. Free lunch once a month. Wearing casual if working on a Sunday.

    Cons

    Bad pay,weekend hours, no career advancement.

    Continue reading
    Marine Bank2015-04-29
  9. "Couldn't care less about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marine Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My coworkers were about the same age and working Sundays was kind of fun. They provide free lunch once a month.

    Cons

    Poor pay Poor management (play favorites, favors young men, unprofessional) Will terminate you for anything (you sign a contract permitting this) Men make more money than women ($0.50 pay gap) Employees are seen as numbers and are easily replaced Dress code is strict and harsh

    Continue reading
    Marine Bank2015-01-26
  10. "Marine Bank Commercial Lending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marine Bank

    Pros

    Good team environment and location.

    Cons

    Corporation overall was weak financially. The Arizona office carried the other states in commercial lending.

    Marine Bank2014-10-20
Found 12 reviews